We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No frills” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vanderbilt YMCA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Vanderbilt YMCA
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“No frills”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

When I booked this hostel I had no idea what to expect. The reviews here at tripadvisor range from terrible to excelent. I will hereby try to explain what you can expect from the Y.

I picked this place for two reasons: the price; it was the cheapest option, and the location just in the middle of everything. In these aspects this hotel was great. We could walk to many great attractions, the neighbourhood is safe in the middle of the night. We payed about 570 usd for a week for two persons.

If you want to stay in a great location for this budget, you have to give in on other things. The rooms (2 persons, privates; no dorms) are very small and have bunkbeds. They feel old and worn out, but ofcourse they would not collapse, as other reviewers were afraid of. Some rooms are however more worn out than others, some have hard floors, some have carpet (dirty!!). We had a clean room, the shared bathroom was also somewhat wornout, but it was cleaned regularly.

You will not find any luxery or nice designed rooms. Just a bed and a warm shared shower, thats it. However, if you are traveling to New York, you wont spend much time in your hotel. We were out all day and night, and by choosing this budget option, we could spend more money on museums, fancy bars and good restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Evaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    479
    385
    139
    112
See reviews for
79
226
431
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Well, to start with, quality of rooms and facilities are poor when compared to the price ($89 per person in a single room). The entrance may be ok, as well as the gym which you can see from outside but once you get upstairs it is not better than a dorm, maybe worse (not seen good quality dorm rooms in my native country). The room is extremely small with ancient window panes and there is a huge desk and drawer which leaves no space for your luggage. There is a lot of noise from outside (I guess from fans or a/c) and the WC is miles away. I had to walk all the way from one end of the hallway to the other end to pee. On top of that there are only 2 WC stalls in ladies on a floor of what, 60+ rooms? Let's imagine all of the rooms are booked. Not possible to use the WC easily. There are 3 shower stalls in ladies showers... well not enough for the whole floor I am afraid. There is a fridge in the room but no shared kitchen or anything so I had to cut my pomegrenade in the WC and the place looked like a horror scene afterwards. There is also no proper lounge where people can sit and mingle and connect to internet, only a few chairs in the extremely cold lobby (yes too much A/C, American style). There is no internet connection in the rooms so you are being tortured by having to sit stiffly in the lobby in the cold to check your emails or do your stuff on the internet. Both security and check in staff are unfriendly, even rude at times. I complained about the poor internet service and they kept ignoring me. If you don't want to stay in the room and are on a tight budget, try renting a room or apartment through craigslist. Before staying at the YMCA I stayed at someone's room for cheaper/day ($60) and it was much much better than this...

Room Tip: take slippers and clothes to walk around in the hallway, in case you need to pee in the middle of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UplangeDesir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Leon, Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

this is a nice option if you want to enjoy NYC without spend a fortune.. It's a hostel you share bathroom but the rooms are for 2. the rooms are small but if your plan is explore the big apple and enjoy the city, that small room is all that you need..!!
the prices are acceptable and definitely this is a good option around christmas when everything getting expensive there...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PAOLACC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

I stayed here for three nights in May and it was very nice, comfortable, and clean. Instead of using the shower on my floor, I went to the downstairs locker room where I was not only able to shower without waiting, but I used the wonderful steam room and sauna. I could have used the gym for workouts, but time did not permit on this visit. The staff was friendly and helpful. I will always stay there when I visit or have business in Manhattan.

Room Tip: I would request a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank msaurelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

I stayed at YMCA Vanderbilt for 3 nights end of April 2012. I had a single room really small but was enough since I was the whole day out. I was a bit disappointed about it since it was pretty expensive. The window had a small part broken. In the first night was really cold, after I was lucky since the weather improved considerably. During the night it was some strange noise, like somebody knocking on the heaters in front the window (btw the heaters did not work). So I'd recommend YMCA only during summer (the AC was working). Anyways, I would not stay once more there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaUcsare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Bed was great! Perfect to rest, and that's it. Absolutely tiny, as much as I had to close and lift my both luggages, otherwise I couldn't move in the room (single bed). The shared bathroom wasn't bad either, but there were anyone on my floor sharing it with me, so it was very clean, not sure how it would be with full floor using it. The terrible part is that you have wifi access, but it doesn't work inside the rooms, so people sit on the corridors outside their room to use internet. Safe..people at front desk check if you have the key to get into the elevator, which I haven't seen in any other place I've stayed in.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms far from the bath...people slap doors all the time..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina_Novelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

I went with about 30 other students to the YMCA Vanderbilt, Jesus Christ, this place is worst then hell. The window had a gap in, which i thought it would ventilate the room, but no, it was the hottest room ever. The bunk bed didn't have a ladder, so i had to use the chair provided as a ladder. The metal under my top bunk was bent beyond belief, and every time i moved, the whole bed shook, and i often woke my friend up from just turning over. The showers where small and grotty, but that wasn't the worst part. In one of the rooms, there was a cockroach in the light.
So, if you really want to stay in Hell, be my guest.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Upper West Side
West Side YMCA
West Side YMCA
#27 of 166 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Harlem
The Harlem YMCA
The Harlem YMCA
#24 of 166 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#15 of 166 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vanderbilt YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vanderbilt YMCA

Property: The Vanderbilt YMCA
Address: 224 E 47th St, New York City, NY 10017-2102
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 166 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Vanderbilt YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Vanderbilt YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vanderbilt Ymca Hotel New York City
Ymca Vanderbilt
Ymca New York
New Vanderbilt Ymca York
Vanderbilt Ymca New York
Ymca Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing