We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“strongly discourage to go there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Vanderbilt YMCA
Poland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“strongly discourage to go there”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I spent in the hostel 2 days in the end of March. Due to several reasons I discourage you to go there. The The rooms are dirty and poorly equipped. There is only one bathroom and 3 showers in the floor - in the floor in which you have about 40 - 50 rooms all of them are damaged and very old.
There was terrible noise outside of the window all the night - each each couple of minutes something like an engine I couldn't sleep. I paid 90 dol per night and at this price even the cabin hotel is available or hotel outside of Manhatan.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    490
    394
    143
    116
See reviews for
82
234
439
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Spent 5 nights here. Travelling solo so wanted a safe, secure room at a very affordable price.
$80/night (money goes back into the Y's social programs)
Rooms are basic but tv/a/c/,small fridge, 6 sliding drawers under the single bed, 2 shelves and a coat rack with hangers, a full length mirror. Free WiFi in the room. You need to show your card before going up the elevator. Your room key(magnetic card) opens your door plus the washroom on your floor. There is a 3 digit code to enter the shower room. The washrooms are down the hall but they are cleaned hourly and were very hygienic. Guests are able to use the indoor pool (bathing cap required). Locker rooms at the pool have shower facilities also. There's a payphone on the floor, 2 elevators and water fountain. Rooms have a safety latch and secure lock. A safety deposit box is available at the front desk for no charge. Vending machines also. A grocery store is 5 min away - MortonWilliams, 908 2nd Avenue. 15 min walk to Times Square, 12 min walk to Grand Central Terminal. A McDonalds is on 47th St near Lexington. Taxi fare from LaGuardia Airport was $34. The Y is close to UN Bldgs. Street is safe at night. People are coming and going to the Y to exercise so it is a friendly place.

Room Tip: Rooms facing 47th Street hear garbage trucks nightly
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlondon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Street, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

When we first arrived at the Vanderbuilt YMCA (I went as part of a university group trip) the lobby gave us really high hopes of how the rooms/ facilities were going to be. We were EXTREMELY disappointed!
The rooms had very uncomfortable, not to mention gum-covered, bunk beds (complete with waterproof coverings on the paper thin mattresses). The first thing we noticed was how hot it was in the room and were surprised to see we weren't allowed to use the radiator and had to call someone up from reception to turn the heating down. We were given the option of opening the tiny window or putting on the very dry air-conditioning.
Next, the toilets. They were clean...just, but there were only two available at any time and one did not flush properly. There were three showers available (not really enough for 30+ girls every morning!) which were mouldy with poor water pressure and heating.
The staff were very friendly, if not always able to understand you. However, after our first day of 'room service' I was appalled to find the service had left dirty fingerprints all over my sheet. Also, when we arrived back at our room on the second day a medium-sized cockroach appeared under our door, followed by a second the next day.
We had a fridge in our room (also filthy), which was quite useful to stop souvenir chocolate melting in our furnace-like room. However, lots of our travelling companions had chests of drawers in their rooms whereas we had a fairy useless desk in ours.
I would definitely NEVER stay here again - the second insect visit brought tears to my eyes and I would have paid any money to be able to stay somewhere else. Our accommodation was the worst part of our trip and really lowered our spirits after spending such wonderful days in a fantastic city.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaisyLailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I stayed at the Vanderbilt in May 2012 for 4 nights. The location was good but it is not so near the metro. I had a single room and it was a bit expensive since i didnt make any reservation beforehand. The security at the vanderbilt is quite good they check your cards before you can go up to your rooms. There is also a fitness center which you can use. There wasnt any internet in my room so i had to go to the lobby to get internet. There isnt any breakfast as well but the location is good so its easy to find food (Theres a pret a manger nearby) Single room was relatively ok size and they change your towels each day. The bed was rather comfy but made a lot of noises though. The shared toilets are clean and rather spacious. If i were to come back to New york and im on a tight budget i will definitely come back here again given its location in manhattan.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MdFadhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I was visiting NYC for the first time in October 2012. As New York was only the first city for our holiday, we were on a budget, but still wanted to stay around mid-town Manhattan. After reading so many negative review, we've still decided to go ahead and booked a room with a bunk bad in this YMCA. As it turned out, it was one of the best decisions, we could have made!

The location of this hostel is absolutely superb! ~10 minutes walk from the Lexington Ave/ 53rd Street metro station, from where taking the E train till Jamaica Station and changing to the airtrain, you can get easily to JFK.

Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Empire State Building, UN, etc. are all within a walking distance from this hostel!

I agree, that the beds were not the most comfortable and the rooms were small, but if you are a traveller like me, who wanted to explore NY and not to spend his time in the hotel, then this place will be just fine!

The room was clean, though first admittedly looked a bit dirty, but it was just "worn-down". Nothing what a layer of paint couldn't fix. The room was cleaned every day, and our beds were made ever morning, too! (Which I definitely did NOT expect!). The room had a bunk bed, a table and a TV in it. The shared showeres looked clean, but as a pre-caution, I'd suggest to use flip-flops or slippers.

Everyone in the Y was kind and helpful, could ask petty much anything about NY landmarks, etc.

Free WI-FI (ask for access codes from the reception) was available around the reception area and some parts of the 10th floor corridors (maybe also on other floors, but as we stayed on the 10th, that is the one I know about).

Would definitely recommend this place to others - making it clear, that it is a simple place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Istvan_Mak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

It is clean, has a great localization, good bathrooms.

Staff is not friendly, wi-fi was not working in the bedrooms, there is no frigobar in the rooms, the bunk bed was not good.

Price is very good for NYC.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank aleksvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We brought 30 students from a school in England and it was perfect for this. Prices are good and the location is excellent - on East 47th just under a mile's walk from Grand Central Station and on the same street as Times Square, albeit quite a hike away - walkable in 20-30 mins.

Rooms are generally very small and basic with bunk beds, a table and a fridge. However, facilities are excellent. I used both the gym and the excellent swimming pool when up at a stupidly early hour due to jet-lag.

I'm not sure if I'd come to this hotel if visiting New York more independently as it is strictly no frills, but for the kids, who were out nearly all day, every day, this was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShieldsWeasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#230 of 468 in New York City
4,808 reviews
Midtown
Americana Inn
Americana Inn
#374 of 468 in New York City
715 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#438 of 468 in New York City
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
West Side YMCA
West Side YMCA
#27 of 162 in New York City
1,298 reviews
Harlem
The Harlem YMCA
The Harlem YMCA
#23 of 162 in New York City
193 reviews
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vanderbilt YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vanderbilt YMCA

Property: The Vanderbilt YMCA
Address: 224 E 47th St, New York City, NY 10017-2102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 162 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Vanderbilt YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Vanderbilt YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vanderbilt Ymca Hotel New York City
Ymca Vanderbilt
Ymca New York
New Vanderbilt Ymca York
Vanderbilt Ymca New York
Ymca Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing