We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as it's made out.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Vanderbilt YMCA
Reviewed 28 June 2013

It is a hostel so no one was expecting The Ritz. The rooms were basic but clean, the staff were on hand to help and it did have modern facilities. It is in a good location but to be honest for me any where in New York City would have been a good location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

363 - 369 of 1,362 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

Hostel owners: with a small effort you could make it great

I stayed there with my university students (architectural field-trip in NY) so the excellent location mattered.

So:
Location: Excellent!
Staff: Most of them very helpful
Rooms: Very small and basic, but ok..
Problem: Some of the rooms had bed bugs. Don't freak out - only a few of the rooms, and we were a big group - so the problem is not too spread.

Hostel owners/managers: Please get rid of the bed bugs and we may bring our students again.
Also: Please refurbish the shower rooms so that there a little bit more privacy.

Room Tip: - Check VERY carefully that there are no bed bugs in/on/under the mattress+pillows before you move y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nat k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Staying at Vanderbilt YMCA changed my idea about a "non profit" organization. I was hoping for a friendly and fun place, I got the opposite. Mainly foreigner students, staying monthly.
The staff made me feel horrible, like if they were doing me a favor just by talking to me. The building itself so as the location, were nice and exactly what you paid for. For the staff, I rather pay more than stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the 4th floor, same as the bathroom, but no internet signal working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melo_adriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This was the beginning stop for our trip around America. All we basically did was sleep and store our luggage in the room.

Room; very small but does come kitted out with a bunk bed, fridge, TV and air con. It was clean and tidy to an exceptable standard. You get fresh sheets and fresh towels each morning. Nothing got stolen. I would say security is very high, feels very safe. Very quiet.

Shared toilets and showers; was not sure about this before we went but they were always very clean. Advice I would take flip flops because it can be a little walk to the showers.

Reception; they are a gym reception aswell and they are not overly helpful to hostel guests. Check in was quick but try not to go down at peak gym times. Safety deposit boxes are available however you can really only store a passport and money in them as they are quiet small.

Location; great location, you could walk to most places however it is located about 3 blocks away from the nearest subway station which we got a 7 day pass for $30 and that gives you unlimited rides. I personally think this is the best and easiest way to get around NYC. It takes about 20 minutes to walk to Times Square.

We also used the laundry room which was very handy and cheap.

For NYC the cost could not be beaten. Hotels are very expensive and for the amount of time you will spend in them I didn't want to spend out that much.

So for the price and location great little place to stay just remember you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChuckCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights starting the 6th of June for the start of our Round The World Trip. We arrived late on the first day and were checked in quickly.
[The front desk staff we found to be quite rude and reluctant to help at times.]

The room was a basic bunk bed room which had a desk, tv, fridge and cupboard space.
We paid $100 a night to stay here. We didnt go here with high expectations and were pleasantly surprised with how clean the rooms and bathrooms were. Also the Aircon was great worked well and cooled the room down super fast. [Floor 5 room 505]
We were also so glad that it was a quiet hostel and found it very easy to sleep each night. We used the communal kitchen which had a basic hob pans and a microwave, it was clean what more can you ask for?
The location we found to be very good. We walked everywhere from Grand Central Station to times square and central park.

Overall as I said in the title you get what you pay for its a space to keep your luggage safe and rest your head in the evening.

Room Tip: Floor 5 room 505 Great clean bathrooms on the floor and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraCollins93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I've stayed in hostels before and all have been fine so I thought this would be great as it was in New York and didn't expect there to be really poor places to stay. Conceirge was helpful but as for the rest of the staff (particular front desk) they weren't friendly and a bit miserable (great first impression of NY). I had heard that the hostel was nice enough to stay in so I had good expectations but as I opened my door I was extremely disapointed. It was cold, dark and old. There was JUST enough room to open my suitcase and lay it on the ground. I lay on the bed for literally a few minutes where I was bitten and it was so awful I couldn't bare to have the sheets over me but instead covered myself up in warm clothes. There seemed to be only 2 working showers for women on the 5th floor and 2 toilets. They seemed clean enough but another had collapsed and was out of use. I disliked it to the point I nearly left but NY is not the cheapest of places to stay! Very disapointed I paid £69. I would have put up with it for about £35 knowing I had paid little money. There was one plug socket, I stayed in a single room on the 5th floor. You can store luggage for free before checking in if you're early but after it's $2 and the particular person who served me at the time gave me the impression it was a hassle for him to move from his chair the room to let me store my suitcase.

The location was pretty good however, 10 minute walk to Times Square/Rocafellar and 5 minutes or so from Grand Central. I wouldn't recommend unless you really, really don't care about where you stay as long as there is a roof over your head. This did let my NY experience down and if you haven't been before, it's probably worth paying extra money for a nice hotel.

Room Tip: I personally stayed on 5th floor in a single room and wouldn't recommend. Perhaps other floors a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hildref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

went on a school trip. bunked with another girl where two single beds had been piled on top of the other so that the bed moved when someone climbed to the top.
very damp and moist room.
served its purpose - purely a place to rest my head as all day and night i was out exploring.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DumbBlondes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#230 of 470 in New York City
5,016 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#413 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#384 of 470 in New York City
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Upper West Side
West Side YMCA
West Side YMCA
#23 of 163 in New York City
1,355 reviews
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#16 of 163 in New York City
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vanderbilt YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vanderbilt YMCA

Address: 224 E 47th St, New York City, NY 10017-2102
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range: £73 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Vanderbilt YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vanderbilt YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vanderbilt Ymca Hotel New York City
Ymca Vanderbilt
Ymca New York
New Vanderbilt Ymca York
Vanderbilt Ymca New York
Ymca Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing