We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes it's a hostel but it's a decent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Vanderbilt YMCA
Reviewed 16 October 2013

There are pros and cons to staying here. People asked me "do you recommend it" and i have to say i have mixed feelings. I am in my fifties and extremely unspoiled so it worked for me. I am not sure it's for everyone. for me - it was a bed to sleep in after sightseeing all day. the front desk people were amazingly nice and friendly and helpful. the security people were also very nice and seem to be doing their job perfectly.

there is a gym, pool, sauna and steam room that you can use while you are a guest. I used the pool.

On the PRO side:
*location is excellent. you are within walking distance to many tourist attractions, as well as great public transportation and great restaurants and pubs.
*it's extremely inexpensive - and ther are no added taxes as you get in other hotels. so the price quoted is the price you will pay.
*it's clean and functional
*price includes an amazing gym and a very nice, albeit small, swimming pool, there is a small kitchen for guests use, the rooms have a small fridge and tv. there is also a small desk and chair, and small hanging gadget. the bed has drawers underneath for storage.
*I was not interested in the "social" aspect of the place, but there is a lounge on each floor and i did see guests hanging out there.
*there is a laundry room - it costs money to use (I think it was $1.75per load) and there are machines that sell detergent. when i was using it, nobody else was there. not sure if it's ever crowded.

On the CON side:
*it's functional - not pretty, not "inviting", but very simple.
*rooms do not have en suite bathrooms/showers and you have to use the ones down the hall or in the gym. i was there for two nights and NEVER had to wait but then again i get up at crazy hours so i have no idea what it's like during busy times. I preferred using the shower in the gym even though it means going downstairs, because it was less crowded, it had great mirrors and some hair dryers.
*the bedroom is tiny (even taking into account NYC standards). There is *one* light overhead and the switch is not close to the bed so you have to get out of bed to switch it off. there is no reading lamp.
*the TV screen is also small and mounted on a wall so it's a tad hard to see.
*there is no night table (but the bed had drawers under it for storage so i used that as my night table).
*there is no food (except vending machines) and no coffee in the hotel. there is a small restaurant accross the street and loads of coffee shops down the block (on second or third ave).

Even with the cons, I think it's a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shira_K_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

349 - 355 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

The place is in mid town which is conveniate since you can go to up/down town easily. It is also close to central metro station in 42 St. They do not provide any meal but it is not problem since there are lots of fast food and restaurant around in a walking distance. The place is close to 5 Ave. for the people who love to shop.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vahid36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was a nice hostel to stay at - very clean, the staff were super friendly, the gym was accessible to guests, it was a fantastic location to get to everything (we only had to catch the subway perhaps 4 times) plus it was affordable. The only complaint that I would have would be the Wifi connection - I can understand that it is a large hostel, however this was quite frustrating not only to ourselves but to all other guests that we spoke with. Being in the Big Apple, you want to brag about it to all of your friends who aren't there of course!! The rooms too were very small, I'm not too fussed about this personally, but if you're someone who likes a little room, make sure you ask for a bigger room!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chloe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I am new to hostels but we stayed here in September 2013 as accommodation in New York City that's a good location is very expensive. The location is great as you can walk to most of the sights or get a taxi/sight seeing tour bus easily. The best thing about this hostel was the location and the price. There is wifi but it doesn't work on all the floors and sadly it didn't work in our room but it worked well in the shared areas and the lobby. The room was clean though the floor a little dirty and the bedding was very clean. The bathrooms where clean to but not immaculately clean so I would advise taking some flip flops for the shower but the water is lovely and hot. The noise level was fabulous as it was really quite at night so you got a good nights sleep which is really important when you are sight seeing. The staff were helpful and you can have a safety deposit box free of charge which is great and you can access it all the time if you wish. They will also look after your bags for you once you have checked out which is also very helpful. I would recommend people to stay here, but be prepared that the bedrooms are tiny!!! It certainly is all you need when you are out all day and only using the place to store your things, have a wash and get some sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hells1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

we stayed at YMCA in the summer of 2012. The location is great - a very short walk to Central Park, about a 10-15 minute walk to Columbus Square and about a 5 minute walk to 66st station. My husband did feel like a prisoner in the room, because they were really tiny, but I guess if you are on a budget there is no reason to complain. It had a tv, ac (a bit loud), closet space... Bathrooms are shared and not well maintained (6 out of 10)- make sure you bring slippers with you when you go take a shower...There is a small cafeteria downstairs where you can get some breakfast (coffee, muffins, bagels)... Another closest attraction - is the Strawberry fields and the house of John Lennon (72nd st and Central Park West)... it's worth seeing- for all you Lennon fans out there...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

New York is such an expensive city, it's so hard to find a decent place at an affordable price. That's where this hostel comes in handy. It's clean, very well located and very convenient. Rooms are quite small, but you won't spend much time there with New York just outside!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarianoPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the YMCA. It appears more like a halls of residence than your average hostel, with lots of small single rooms and just a tiny lounge and kitchen. When I arrived the check in staff were friendly. I stayed in a single room on the 4th floor. There was not too much noise from the building and the noise from the street I got used to pretty quickly. The room was clean enough and nice to be able to relax in there with your own TV. I was concerned about the one bathroom and one shower room for so many guest rooms although this did not prove to be a problem over the 5 days I stayed. The hostel is worth staying at for the location. The grand central station and Rockefeller Centre are close by and some good deli's around the corner so you can eat well on a budget. It was also pretty easy to get there from the airport using the AirTrain and Subway. One improvement would be to have more than one computer for guests in the reception area.

Room Tip: Kitchen is located on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#234 of 469 in New York City
4,983 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#411 of 469 in New York City
555 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#198 of 469 in New York City
3,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#384 of 469 in New York City
652 reviews
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Upper West Side
West Side YMCA
West Side YMCA
#24 of 163 in New York City
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vanderbilt YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vanderbilt YMCA

Address: 224 E 47th St, New York City, NY 10017-2102
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range: £77 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Vanderbilt YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Vanderbilt YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vanderbilt Ymca Hotel New York City
Ymca Vanderbilt
Ymca New York
New Vanderbilt Ymca York
Vanderbilt Ymca New York
Ymca Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing