We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Vanderbilt YMCA
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Looking for a few nights in Manhattan in New York with a limited budget, this accommodation will provide the basics, good location, safe and warm place to stay. The front desk staff was pleasant and helpful, the use of the gym and the pool is a bonus but the guest rooms are very basic, the bathroom facilities also very basic. It seemed that the guest rooms and bathrooms could do with a really deep clean. If you don't need much for your comfort, this property will do just fine for a budget price in an expensive city like New York.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L55_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,329)
There are newer reviews for The Vanderbilt YMCA
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 320 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

You get what you pay for. Cheap and tacky rooms.
Rooms are extremely small and no where near big enough for 2 people, beds are uncomfortable and dangerous in some instances but housekeeping clean rooms daily as long as you do not leave anything on the beds. Shared toilets and showers are not an issue as I thought they would. WiFi is usable and not an issue either, amazing gym and swimming facilities there but severely let down by the rooms. Location is ideal for those wanting to get out with 51st Street Subway station and Grand Central termnal a short walk away and Times Square being a short 10-15 minute walk away. No food provided there either. A major plus is the security of the hostel which demand you show your room card before entering the lift's to the rooms making the place secure. Would stay again if I was by myself but not for 2 or more people due to cramped rooms.

Room Tip: Don't come here.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aled F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

First time staying at a hostel. Husband and I already pre-judged the place and was actually surprised. We paid $113 a night as apposed to some sites who we're charging $87-$99. Why we went with the most expensive rate I have no idea. But I just didn't trust booking through a hostel website vs the YMCA site. We were able to use the Wifi unlike what the lady at the front desk said. I guess the wifi doesn't usually work on the sixth floor? Well it did for us which was a plus when uploading pictures and stuff from our days out on our laptop. This was also our first shared bathroom experience with a hotel. It wasn't as bad as we imagined women get their own covered stall and the men get their own room (I'm speaking only for the 6th floor) , just bring shower shoes and don't you dare think about using the loofas left by others. New towels are left by housekeeping every morning or there's a linen closet you could grab if needed. The room floors were pretty sketch and so we're the sheets but what do you expect, we stayed here knowing what we were gonna walk into but happy it was much better as expected. Rooms are small but alas, it's NYC. Short walk to multiple subway stations and some damn good street food. Can't vouch on the gym or other services provided.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I've stayed here twice in August 2012 and 2013.

In August 2012 the staff were very rude and didn't provide me with any information, did make you feel like you was harassing them.

Aug 2013, was completely different the lady at the reception provided me with lots of information and use of the gym, she was also very friendly. The location is great a few blocks away from Grand Central and you can gain access to anywhere in NYC easily. Also many shops and fast food places are near by if your in a rush or on a low budget.

I had a private room. The room is basic and cheap. But remember its NYC its expensive and you get what you pay for and you only need a place to sleep which the hostel is perfect for. When I go back to NYC I will stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cas_ox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Bit of a late review! Stayed her august. 2013
If your low budget traveller this is perfect. The location was good, easy enough to get around new York, we walked to most places. You could book sightseeing tours, transfers and other things down in the reception, the man was really helpful.
The rooms themselves, bunkbeds, In a tiny room probably not practical For everyone, but was fine for us. You had new towls and bedding each day and the room Itself Was clean. You did have shared bathrooms but not a major problem.
The hotel itself were stricked on security, you had to show your card everything you went up to your room, bit annoying but did make me feel really safe.
Would recommend this place for travellers, who explore the city there in and not luxuries of a hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank nicole23x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This was a great venue for a school trip. The facilite were basic, but you don't need any better when you are out most days and evenings. The location was great as Times Square was only a 15 minute walk away. There is a phamarcy, shop and plenty of eateries nearby.

The staff were a mixed bag. Gina, in particular, on reception was great. eally friendly and really helpful, which as a trip leader for the first time overseas, was really needed. She had a great attitude and gave us everything that we needed and asked for, even when she was very busy. However, some staff such as Ginette, weren't as helptful, especially when speaking to the pupils who were on the trip.

Nevertheless, I would recoomend the YMCA Vanderbilt for anyone planning a school trip to he Big Apple.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee_Haughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I'm fussy when it comes to hostels. I like them to be good value and most of all clean! The YMCA in Manhattan was this and more. It is in an amazing location near everything from Times Square, Grand Central Station, Madame Tussauds, good pubs and excellent restaurants. Considering New York is considered an expensive city to stay in, the YMCA was not. Its good value and has great facilities such as a brilliant gym and a swimming pool. It really is a top place to stay if your someone with a budget. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Just brilliant!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatrickO2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#222 of 468 in New York City
4,921 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#396 of 468 in New York City
541 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#197 of 468 in New York City
3,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#350 of 468 in New York City
18,885 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 468 in New York City
11,481 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 468 in New York City
7,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vanderbilt YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vanderbilt YMCA

Address: 224 E 47th St, New York City, NY 10017-2102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range: £79 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Vanderbilt YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vanderbilt YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vanderbilt Ymca Hotel New York City
Ymca Vanderbilt
Ymca New York
New Vanderbilt Ymca York
Vanderbilt Ymca New York
Ymca Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing