We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect if you are on a tight budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Vanderbilt YMCA
Montreal
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfect if you are on a tight budget”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The YMCA is perfect if you are looking for a clean and safe place to spend the night, yes, is nothing fancy but it serves its purpose and the rooms are small but they are clean, the staff is friendly and the price of the room includes access to all of their sporting facilities. The place is affordable for NY standards (got it for $99 per night single bed, shared bathroom) and its very well located.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a private shower and a double bed, book it way in advance as they have only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NessyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    486
    391
    143
    115
See reviews for
80
232
436
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We booked our room through booking.com and We were given a superb room - apparently they have a whole newly refurbished floor for this booking method. The staff were friendly, the security is good. Expensive for a hostel but it's not your everyday hostel with pool/gym facilities, and it is in NYC

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Augustuscalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I had never been to New York before so I don't really have anything to compare it to but for me it seemed okay. I really wasn't expecting that much and I was right not to do so. The rooms were tiny. Closets. But that was okay because we spent most of our time out and about and just needed a place to sleep. And if that's what you're after, this will be a good place for you too. At that time, it was the cheapest place we could find in a good location. The best thing about it was the location. Close to everything.
There were plenty of warnings about personal safety and keeping an eye on your items and they seemed to take safety really seriously.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen37_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I was there for three nights in April of this year with my 16 year old son. I wanted to show my son that he can experience NYC on a shoestring budget and still have fun. Well, here are good and bad in my experience:
Good: Cheap, Good location, Safe, Friendly staff
Bad: Small rooms, Noisy party at nights, separate shower, plastic mattress.

There was bunch of French and spanish speaking kids having a party in the hallway on two of the nights we stayed there. I had to get up 2am, go out to hallway and tell them we are trying to sleep. They seem to have no clue about other people staying there. Although you are not suppose to have alcohol, all the kids were drinking and rumbuncious. Reminded me of Fraternity house.

As for the room it was really tiny with bunk bed, desk, chair, broken TV. The mattress was made of plastic cover and it made squeaking noise when you moved. Bit annoying.

Shared Bathroom was down the hall from your room. I knew this upfront but it was lot more inconvenient then I imagined.

Bottom Line: NYC is expensive and if you are on a student budget it may be OK. I will not stay here again. For additional $50, we could have gotten a real room.

Room Tip: ASK for quiet floor with no parties at night. Have them enforce drinking rules.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spin001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Zipaquira, Colombia
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

It hostel has everything what you need to stay in New York, specially if you are looking for a central place. It has a great location, an excellent service, and also it's comfortable. I had a great time in there. If I come back to NYC I'll stay in there, no doubts.

Room Tip: Do the booking with enough time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Was great hostel our room was tiny but good value for money to be so centeral in manhattan is in a safe area and walking distance to grand centeral and longer walk to Times Square was very friendly staff great hostel :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Just finished a 5 day stay here last week. Great location for the price, a 5 minute walk to Grand Central Station. There's a huge gym on 3 levels which is really good if that's your thing. It's not really an out and out hostel, there's one bathroom for about 40 rooms, the rooms are tiny, the bunk beds are pretty dangerous, they can move on wheels and are about 2 metres above the ground... Without railing on the side, so you could easily roll off. All in all not perfect but you won't get anything in this price range/location as good in this extremely expensive city.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eliot P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Americana Inn
Americana Inn
#373 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,777 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
West Side YMCA
West Side YMCA
#28 of 163 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Harlem
The Harlem YMCA
The Harlem YMCA
#25 of 163 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vanderbilt YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vanderbilt YMCA

Property: The Vanderbilt YMCA
Address: 224 E 47th St, New York City, NY 10017-2102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Vanderbilt YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vanderbilt YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vanderbilt Ymca Hotel New York City
Ymca Vanderbilt
Ymca New York
New Vanderbilt Ymca York
Vanderbilt Ymca New York
Ymca Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing