We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cheap place to stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vanderbilt YMCA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Vanderbilt YMCA
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great cheap place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Good Location, Very Good Price- Perfect place if you're just looking for a place to sleep like we were. Rooms are small, bunk beds. We actually slept 4 per room although only 2 was allowed. Pretty much exactly what we were looking for with our tight budget.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    479
    386
    139
    112
See reviews for
79
226
431
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

If you really want to stay in midtown (which I personally think is the less interesting part of Manhattan with the UES) that's as cheap as you can find for a descent room. The room a small but with Tv and sometimes wifi. There are showers and a kitchen on each floor. But on top of that you have access to the gym and the swimming pool...so in the end this place in a pretty good deal, especially for a solo traveller.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The YMCA is perfect if you are looking for a clean and safe place to spend the night, yes, is nothing fancy but it serves its purpose and the rooms are small but they are clean, the staff is friendly and the price of the room includes access to all of their sporting facilities. The place is affordable for NY standards (got it for $99 per night single bed, shared bathroom) and its very well located.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a private shower and a double bed, book it way in advance as they have only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NessyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We booked our room through booking.com and We were given a superb room - apparently they have a whole newly refurbished floor for this booking method. The staff were friendly, the security is good. Expensive for a hostel but it's not your everyday hostel with pool/gym facilities, and it is in NYC

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Augustuscalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I had never been to New York before so I don't really have anything to compare it to but for me it seemed okay. I really wasn't expecting that much and I was right not to do so. The rooms were tiny. Closets. But that was okay because we spent most of our time out and about and just needed a place to sleep. And if that's what you're after, this will be a good place for you too. At that time, it was the cheapest place we could find in a good location. The best thing about it was the location. Close to everything.
There were plenty of warnings about personal safety and keeping an eye on your items and they seemed to take safety really seriously.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jen37_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I was there for three nights in April of this year with my 16 year old son. I wanted to show my son that he can experience NYC on a shoestring budget and still have fun. Well, here are good and bad in my experience:
Good: Cheap, Good location, Safe, Friendly staff
Bad: Small rooms, Noisy party at nights, separate shower, plastic mattress.

There was bunch of French and spanish speaking kids having a party in the hallway on two of the nights we stayed there. I had to get up 2am, go out to hallway and tell them we are trying to sleep. They seem to have no clue about other people staying there. Although you are not suppose to have alcohol, all the kids were drinking and rumbuncious. Reminded me of Fraternity house.

As for the room it was really tiny with bunk bed, desk, chair, broken TV. The mattress was made of plastic cover and it made squeaking noise when you moved. Bit annoying.

Shared Bathroom was down the hall from your room. I knew this upfront but it was lot more inconvenient then I imagined.

Bottom Line: NYC is expensive and if you are on a student budget it may be OK. I will not stay here again. For additional $50, we could have gotten a real room.

Room Tip: ASK for quiet floor with no parties at night. Have them enforce drinking rules.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spin001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Zipaquira, Colombia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

It hostel has everything what you need to stay in New York, specially if you are looking for a central place. It has a great location, an excellent service, and also it's comfortable. I had a great time in there. If I come back to NYC I'll stay in there, no doubts.

Room Tip: Do the booking with enough time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Omar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#215 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,652 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Upper West Side
West Side YMCA
West Side YMCA
#27 of 166 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Harlem
The Harlem YMCA
The Harlem YMCA
#24 of 166 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Midtown
Jazz on Columbus Circle
Jazz on Columbus Circle
#18 of 166 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vanderbilt YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vanderbilt YMCA

Property: The Vanderbilt YMCA
Address: 224 E 47th St, New York City, NY 10017-2102
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 166 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Vanderbilt YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your The Vanderbilt YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vanderbilt Ymca Hotel New York City
Ymca Vanderbilt
Ymca New York
New Vanderbilt Ymca York
Vanderbilt Ymca New York
Ymca Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing