We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect design, nice location, in a word great boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Morgans New York Hotel
Ranked #188 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Perfect design, nice location, in a word great boutique hotel”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed there 3 times. Friendly staff. Beautiful rooms ( Andrée Putman did a great job). No need to give more details, it's what you can expect from a Boutique hotel in NYC. Of course there is competition but you can find some good deals, so give it a try. Love it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picalexandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you - you said it all in a very concise way! Yes you are right that at many times of the year we offer very competitive rates so keep looking at the website!

Love your glasses by the way!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,077
    667
    180
    53
    29
See reviews for
297
955
150
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Overall, our stay at the Morgans was very good. The ratings above reflect my sentiment too that it's about a 4.5 out of 5. Location is hard to match as it is practically in the middle of Midtown.

Common Areas
The hotel's design is modern and totally unpretentious. The newly renovated lounge/dining area where breakfast is served was excellently designed and is actually nicer than the lobby. It is also equipped with several huge lounge-type restrooms at the lounge's loft for common use. I found it very convenient too as these restrooms gave me a space to freshen up from my 18+-hour flight from Asia because my flight arrived way ahead of check in time (10am). Food selection was limited (Continental style) but each available item (breads, yoghurt, fruit, coffee)were all good and of the best quality. Corridors leading to the rooms though need improvement as it was dark and more narrow than the usual. Maybe better lighting or lighter shades for walls may do.

Rooms
The look and feel is as shown on the website; modern with light gray and white hues. We stayed in a Queen Room and was, in my opinion, big enough for two people each with 1 mid-sized check-in and hand carry each. It had all the necessary amenities; safe, minibar, mini-ref, a closet and desk. Full-length mirror is conveniently placed behind the cabinet door of the minibar.

Bathrooms
I think this is where the Morgans needs improvement on. It was small; good enough for one-at-a-time use and is totally fine. What concerns me though is the layout. The door is placed in the middle of the Bath opening to the sink in front with the shower to the left and toilet bowl to the right. Being an Architect by profession, I think this layout would be great for a bigger bathroom which two can use at the same time, but not for this small one. The door location directly flanks the center of narrow walkspace of the adjacent room and is further narrowed by the bed. Since the bathroom door opens inside the bathroom it creates quite a jam if the person inside it wants to go out and the next person is already waiting in that narrow walkspace. It also prevents the hanging slim TV on that wall from being centered with respect to the bed. Maybe when it is time to renovate, it could be better if you switched the sink and the toilet bowl locations and moved the door accordingly. This would make the bathroom door go to the end near the minibar cabinet. It would then create unobstructed flow in that narrow walkspace, allow the TV to be centered to the bed and allow optimal use of the Bathroom for one person. (just my two cents worth) :) Lastly, the bathroom floors were finished with, if i'm not mistaken, elastomeric painted waterproofing over the bare concrete slab that adds to the modern industrial feel. However, I think it would be better if it were just tiled. :)

Service
Overall courtesy and efficiency was excellent. I believe this is the strongest area of the hotel. I just had a minor problem with my reservation as they filed it using my middle instead of my family name; but no big deal. Everyone from front desk to maintenance always greeted you with a smile, and are always willing and eager to be of help.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cj20028001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you so very much. I loved your review. It is so detailed and certainly, I will bring some of your ideas to our Design Team. The good news is that 3/4 of our bathroom floors have already been tiled and look great. We will continue with this project to complete all the floors in January.

I am happy that you found our staff to be efficient and courteous. This can truly make or break a hotel stay.

Hope to see you again and wish you a Happy and Healthy 2014!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
236 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I had an issue with the noisy housekeeping & maintenance. They had no volume control when they were in the hallways or in the process of cleaning an empty room. They would shout at eachother and argue in Mandarin. They did this at times when I would still be sleeping.And they were very curteous and friendly when I we came in contact, but for some reason were oblivious to the disturbance they were causing while doors were shut. They'd become quiet as mice the moment they see a guest but the coast seems clear they go at it again. That was my only complaint and when I spoke to the great people at the reception they handled it. In general, and aside from this isolated incident, the service at this hotel was awesome throughout!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uberfluss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you so much for your review! I am sorry about the disturbance but it is hard to track down the culprits one year later! So many things change in a year - hotels undergo renovations, staff changes etc. that I always feel it is important to review a property right after one's stayed. Do I sound like a school teacher? Sorry if I do!

I am happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay and would venture to say that the situation you mention has since been remedied.

Come back soon!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, Ca.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

A friend and I stayed at Morgans Hotel for five nights recently and were very pleased. Every aspect exceeded our expectations. Location, service, and decor were more than worth the cost. The staff was consistently pleasant and helpful and the breakfast, while simple, was ample, tasty and well presented. I look forward to staying at Morgans on my next visit to New York.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
And we look forward to having you return!

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes for a Happy and Healthy 2014!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel to stay. Very convenient for shopping and visiting Manhattan.
You can easily walk anywhere from here. Nice room , tiny bathroom , clean and peaceful. Pity The airconditioning is noisy. Good continental breakfast with fresh food! A nice start for The day.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MammAnta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Nowhere like New York City during this festive season! Everyone must experience it at least once in their lifetimes!

So happy to hear you enjoyed it and hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandria, virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed at Morgans for a few days this week and was generally very pleased. Loved the location, which is easy walking distance to many sights and has bus stops immediately outside the front door. The staff were great, especially the doormen, and the included breakfast was excellent. The room was as small as expected, but comfortable, other than some issues with the heating system which led to us having to have maintenance come at 10pm to turn off the blasting heat and open the windows. The only real drawback was the bathroom. It's tiny, which was not a surprise, but it was in very serious need of an update. It had a weird smell all the time, and the shower floor was cracked and peeling. I'm sure it was clean, but it was still unsettling.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jw9691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry about the heating system. Sometimes we have nights that are warmer even during winter and it is good to simply turn it off.

As far as our bathroom floors are concerned, we only have a few more to go. We are putting down a lovely tile floor that makes a world of difference.

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights late November 2013. When we arrived we were greeted by a suited front of house member of staff who carried our bags in for us. When we checked in unfortunately Virgin Holidays hadn't confirmed our booking with the hotel so our details couldn't be found on the booking system. However, Robert on reception was really helpful and checked us in to a bigger room for the inconvenience and assured us he would sort this before we left. As promised it was sorted with Virgin and no extra charges were incurred for our room upgrade. The hotel is really comfortable, it has everything you need. Location is perfect, 10 minute walk away from Times Square and Fifth Avenue where you will find lots of shops and the famous Rockefeller Centre. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New York. We would definitely come again! Thank you to all at Morgans for a lovely stay in NYC!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisyb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! I realize how difficult it is to get off a long flight and not have a reservation. I am so happy we were able to sort that out.

I agree with you that we have a prime location in this great city of ours. Hope you will return to try our new Lounge which will open in early 2014!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#248 of 467 in New York City
2,153 reviews
Midtown
Kitano New York
Kitano New York
#114 of 467 in New York City
1,118 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#133 of 467 in New York City
1,518 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#122 of 467 in New York City
4,651 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#246 of 467 in New York City
2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgans New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgans New York Hotel

Property: Morgans New York Hotel
Address: 237 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016-2818
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#106 Family Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
#135 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgans New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment it opened its doors on Madison Avenue in New York City, Morgans startled the world with a convention-shattering attitude and distinctive design sensibility, concocted by legendary designer Andree Putman. Again in 2008, Morgans unveiled Andree Putman's powerful reinterpretation of the first "boutique hotel" that propels Morgans' spirit forward without changing its unique character. Other features include a state of the art fitness center. Conveniently located in midtown Manhattan, Morgans is just steps to Grand Central Station, Macy's Herald Square, and The Morgan Library Museum. Morgans offers complimentary Continental breakfast and wireless internet access to every hotel guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morgans New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgans Hotel New York City
Morgans New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing