We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish hotel with a warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Morgans New York Hotel
Ranked #195 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Stylish hotel with a warm welcome”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed here on the recommendation of friends, and it did not disappoint. Our first problem though was finding it, as the taxi driver had never heard of it and the hotel has no sign outside. Once inside, we were upgraded and were immediately impressed by the warm welcome and the stylish decor (black and white predominate). Our room was quirky and very comfortable, with plenty of space, great free wifi, marvellous toiletries, great shower and peace and quiet. There was no alcohol in the mini bar and no coffee/tea making facilities, both of which were disappointing. Breakfast was unusual (or is this typical in NY?), being apples/pears/oranges to peel and eat, fresh juices, coffee, tea, huge sticky pastries, jams and bread. It was a surprise at first (no cooked food, no huge quantities, no queues), but then it grew on us and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is near the subway and well placed for getting anywhere in the city, the staff are very helpful and we will definitely stay here again - what better recommendation could I give it than this?

Room Tip: high up and at the back means peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steviecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
I lauged a bit when I read how the breakfast grew on you! Thank you for your review! Complimentary Continental Breakfast is very rare in New York. Also, American Continental is very different to European Continental. The Fruit was temporary - we had some delivery issues the week you stayed with us. We are back to our fresh cut fruit.

Just to clarify, we do have plain crossants, an array of bagels and other items of the non-sticky variety and everything is 'mini'. I guess 'mini' in the US tends to be large!

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and that once found, Morgans lived up to your expectations!

To all future travelers out there - it is true we do not have signs outside the property - if you think of it as the only building entrance on the East side of Madison between 37th and 38th next to the deli, you will find it!

Now that you know where we are located, I hope you will return!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,081
    675
    185
    53
    31
See reviews for
303
960
151
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My daughters and I stayed at Morgans for 3 nights this last weekend and all I can say is WOW! We can't say enough about the location, the kind, friendly and helpful staff, the clean comfortable rooms and the complimentary breakfast.

Thank you Morgans for an excellent weekend!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbow63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Morgans! I am especially pleased with your perceptions of our staff. I think they are truly special!

Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had traveled as a couple and it was our first time in NY and we wanted to stay in Manhattan and Morgan's just fitted our bill perfectly.

Hotel is located in a great location with all the major touristy spots at a walk able distance. Rooms are spacious and have all the amenities (e.g. iron / iron table in the room, a Euro adapter) you need for your stay. Internet worked really well and breakfast was also good.

Staff in the hotel are extremely helpful and will go out of way to make sure your stay is a great one.

Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amateur_trvaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
I am so happy that you stayed at Morgans for your first NY trip. That is wonderful! Thank you for your kind review and for mentioning our WIFI and Breakfast. I am especially pleased to read your comments with regard to our staff. I too think they are special and in turn make Morgans a special place to stay!

Hope you will make many more trips to New York and hope to see you again!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing location and excellent breakfast (apple turnovers and granola are heavenly good)! Good service too ! We however experienced wifi problem that took a little too long to be fixed. Room was little dark but with a nice view on the Empire State Building!
Great hotel!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank PaulCouve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much! Yes, the entire area was affected by a WIFI outage for a while - unfortunately not something we had much control over! Thankfully it has been resolved and we have a nice strong signal - complimentary too!

I am happy you enjoyed our location and our apple turnovers!

Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

What a great find in the big apple...the location is perfect. This location is quiet and the bedding is divine...you actually sleep in the city that never does! The staff is very helpful and friendly. The included breakfast is one of the better I've had in a long time...that in itself is a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. You have given other readers great insight into Morgans in one paragraph! Many travelers from overseas do not realize that a complimentary breakfast in New York is a rarity. We do not offer eggs, bacon or cheese but otherwise it is a pretty nice breakfast!

Hope you will return soon!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a one night quick weekend get away. The location is excellent. You are able to walk to much of central Manhattan including Broadway and down the High Line. We specifically booked a larger room and the room was exactly as it was represented on the website. The decor was slightly worn but nothing out of the ordinary. The bed was very comfortable and I appreciated having lots of plugs and storage space (including a walk in closet). The bathroom was adequate. I was amazed that there was a tub. Having said that, the shower was very small and there was not a lot of space for toiletries. From our room we could not access the free wifi and even though we called, the hotel did not send someone up to check it.

We were looking forward to trying the bar because of the drink dice but were surprised to learn that it is only open M-F. We are still not sure why. The breakfast was pretty basic so we actually went elsewhere. The valet service worked fine but make sure you plan 15 minutes or so which given that this is NY, is not surprising.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovetravelChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your thorough review! Location is important and I am very happy that the vast majority of our guests comment on this.

It sounds like you were booked in a Loft Suite. These Suites have large bathrooms with tubs and showers and some of them have walk-in closets.

The reason we do not open our Lounge during the summer is because there are so few patrons. In order for a venue to be successful, there has to be local traffic as well as guests. New Yorkers tend to leave the city in the summer. We will evaluate opening the Lounge on weekends in the future.

I do apologize for the WIFI issue. Actually there was an outage recently in the entire area and I think that is why you were affected. It is now up and running efficiently.

Hope you will return some day for another visit!

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Superb location, most helpful front desk staff,spacious comfortable rooms, decent breakfast and good Wi-Fi connection. I guess you are sorted here if you are there to explore NYC. Times Square, public library, empire state building, grand central station all are just 5 minute walk away! Dont think just book this one.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Namrata_Himanshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review and for mentioning all of the sites within walking distance! We have been having the most incredible summer with very little humidity - I do not recall another like this so it is perfect for walking around.

Hope you will return!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#247 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Midtown
Kitano New York
Kitano New York
#112 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#131 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#244 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#129 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgans New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgans New York Hotel

Property: Morgans New York Hotel
Address: 237 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016-2818
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#106 Family Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
#140 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgans New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment it opened its doors on Madison Avenue in New York City, Morgans startled the world with a convention-shattering attitude and distinctive design sensibility, concocted by legendary designer Andree Putman. Again in 2008, Morgans unveiled Andree Putman's powerful reinterpretation of the first "boutique hotel" that propels Morgans' spirit forward without changing its unique character. Other features include a state of the art fitness center. Conveniently located in midtown Manhattan, Morgans is just steps to Grand Central Station, Macy's Herald Square, and The Morgan Library Museum. Morgans offers complimentary Continental breakfast and wireless internet access to every hotel guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morgans New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgans Hotel New York City
Morgans New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing