We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marrakech Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Broadway Tower(New York City)
View Hotel
Morningside Inn(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Royal Park Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Newton(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Astor on the Park(New York City)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
The Grant Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Belnord Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Excelsior Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,680)
Filter reviews
1,681 results
Traveller rating
216
576
467
207
215
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
576
467
207
215
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssubway stationnew yorkbudget hotelcentral parktimes squarerooms are smallyour luggagecleaned every daybagelsfew blocksstarbucksbroadwaymanhattandinerbellman
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
603 - 608 of 1,681 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Just stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, staff friendly and helpful, comfy beds and pillows, laundry immaculate, changed daily, shower good, plenty of hot water, subway a stones throw away, bar that serves drinks and wine, used by locals as well as guests, good wi fi, furnishing tired, but hey ho. who goes to NY for hotel furnishings???

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This Hotel has had some very unfair reviews!. The staff are fantastic, helpful, cheerful and considerate. Bedding, towels etc spotless everyday. Rooms are not huge but for two have all you need to crash in. It's not top notch and a little worn around the edges but made a week in The Big Apple great

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newyork3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is a budget hotel and provided us with clean accommodation and shower facilities, which is just what we wanted as we didn't plan on spending much time in the hotel. The only fault I found was the wardrobe space. We booked a double room and only had a single wardrobe to share. Other than this the staff were friendly and helpful esp the bell men and maids we were always greeted with a smile morning, noon or night! The reception provided a city map and were more than happy to help with directions and questions.The rooms were made and cleaned daily. There was free wifi in the lobby area and we luckily could access this in our room as well as it was close to the reception area. There is a small bar area where you could get drinks and food from a small menu. There was also a subway stop close by which was very handy indeed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosieeManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed here with two friends over the thanksgiving period and found it to be a good hotel for a budget holiday.

Upon getting out of our taxi there was a hotel porter ready and waiting to take our bags up the stairs, the hotel staff were all very friendly and happy to help. The lobby was well decorated in the Marrakech theme and the hotel bar was warm and inviting and the Christmas tree looked lovely next to the fireplace.

Our room was on level 4, the lobby was on level 1 so it was only 3 flights up. Again, the staff offered to carry our bags up the stairs. The corridors leading to the rooms are very narrow and the hallways are a bit dated, but that wasn't a problem because it's not as though we planned to sleep in the corridor. The room was small and cosy with two double beds. The bathroom was quite small, but the shower was hot and powerful so again we were happy with our room.

The only issue we had while staying here, was that where the weather was so cold outside the hotel had the heating on constantly. While this was nice to come back to at first, it became so hot at night that we slept on top of the beds instead of in them and had to have the noisy air conditioning on from time to time, or open the door of the room on the latch for an hour or so during the night. I rang down to the front desk to ask for it to be turned down/off and they said unfortunately it was centrally controlled and they couldn't change it. It was quite frustrating at the beginning of the night, but we had spent so much time walking during the day and sight-seeing when we did get to sleep we were out like a light.

Other reviewers mention that they needed earplugs because the hotel was noisy, we didn't find this to be the case at all and from the amount of people we saw leaving the hotel the day before us it was pretty full. I think that this depends on the people in the rooms surrounding you though and if you are put on a room at the front or back of the hotel. We were on the back facing a block of apartments, but we chose the hotel for the price not the view so that didn't bother us.

The hotel is very close to a Subway and we found it very easy to get around. If you are planning to be out and about all day I would definitely recommend it. However if you are planning on doing a lot of shopping and may want to pop back to drop off bags and are likely to be to and fro-ing from the hotel you might want something a little closer to downtown so you can walk to the hotel, but again you can expect to pay extra for that.

On our last day the hotel kept our bags for us after check in and arranged a shuttle to the airport which was $21 each, and as we left they wished us Happy Holidays and again were all very friendly.

I think that what it comes down to is that you get what you pay for. If I was returning to New York on a budget I would stay here again, however, I would prefer to spend a bit more and stay closer to Times Square so that we could just walk most places. The only issue I could imagine with the hotel in itself is that the central heating is too hot and the air conditioning too loud. Aside from this we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed with a friend on a four-day trip to New York. If it's not your first time in the city, you'll appreciate the Upper West Side location of this hotel. The subway is a stone's throw from the hotel and it takes less than 30 minutes to get to Soho.

Pros
- Cheap ($150/night during high season)
- All the basics (toiletries, decent room service, ironing board on request)
- Close to good, cheap eats in a non-touristy part of town
- Subway station less than 2 minutes away

Cons
- Very small rooms
- Loud at night; the lobby appeared to transform into a night club after 9 p.m.
- Wifi was spotty in the room (much better in the lobby)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msgee39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews