We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marrakech Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marrakech Hotel
Ranked #385 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hotel is great value for money, we knew before we arrived that it wasn't going to be the Hilton. However it has everything you need with very helpful and friendly staff, rooms very clean & location made it very easy to get about New York as subway at door. There is a supermarket right next to hotel if you need to buy anything and a great Metro Diner which served a fantastic breakfast which was a few yards away. We could have booked something more opulent but we were hardly in hotel and gives you extra money to spend in New York shopping.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunSeeker004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hello SunSeeker004,

Thanks so much for your review. You definitely have the right idea there. Save money in accommodations to use for shopping! We are so glad our staff was friendly and accommodating. We hope to see you again in the future!

Thanks again,

Angely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    539
    420
    183
    197
See reviews for
273
615
111
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed here to celebrate New Year's Eve in New York. Room rates across the city were understandably even higher than usual so booked this hotel as it was the closest to Times Square we could afford that had a private bathroom!

Pro's
Cost!
Location, right outside 103rd St subway
Close to a few local bars, restaurants & above Starbucks, (Metro Diner on corner of 96th definitely worth at least one visit!)
Friendly, professional staff
No noise from other rooms / guests
Good sized room
Super comfy bed, duvet & pillows
Great view of Broadway

Cons
Shower temperature difficult to control
Furniture needs some repair, not much storage space, (no drawers, single unit wardrobe)
Traffic noise throughout night as windows not double glazed
Radiator banged
No safe in room
Room dusty - however this must be due to the building as items we unpacked quickly became covered


Summary
Great value for money, we would go back

Room Tip: I requested high floor with view but would ask for side / back room next time due to traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth_Huddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We recently visited and all I can say is we had an amazing time , the hotel staff were amazing we would visit again , the evening staff were especially nice , the boys were great with getting anything we needed or helping with bags or drinks , no lift but wasnt a problem ,

Room Tip: Go for a room at the bk if ur a light sleeper but we never had a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Compared to the price of other manhattan hotels, this was a bargain. It's on the upper west side close to Central Park, there is a subway literally outside the front, which takes you to times sq in 10mins. The area feels very safe and there are plenty of restuarants, supermarkets and other shops in the area.
The room was an adequate size, and although a bit dated, was perfectly fine. Small issues were heating is either all or nothing, and the pipework bangs occasionally. Also the shower is difficult to control, one minute red hot, the next minute colder. There is no lift but its not a big problem as its only a few floors.
All the staff in the hotel were friendly and if I return to NY I would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pppmacca43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Top of the list of advantages of this hotel is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff - there was always a great smile waiting for us at the top of the stairs when we arrived wearily back from our day or evening out! Nothing was too much trouble for the team, from carrying suitcases up and down the many flights of stairs to doing our online check-in. We knew there wasn't a lift before we arrived so it wasn't a problem and with all the food we ate during our stay, we needed to burn off calories. Maid service was much appreciated.
Although it seems a long way out of town on the map it takes very little time to get into the city with a subway station right outside. Starbucks on the ground floor was handy too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

This Hotel was great for the money, right near a Subway on Broadway.so it did not take as long to get to any place .My Son and I were there for three nights. New York was excellent lots of walking by the end of the day I was ready for bed.If you like breakfast go to grand central station just out side.. they cook 600 breakfasts every morning,We manage to see 9/11 was very moving, the Empire State Building went to the top lovely views... Statue of Liberty was on our list saw that,.got up to the middle of it then,on your last day, there was lot of stairs,but the view was great.On our last day went on the Intrepid aircraft carrier,at pier 86 there have Concord, Space shuttle Enterprise, and sub. Overall had a great time..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank truckstoptoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Great value for money and great location right next to a Subway. Near a supermarket and Starbucks! Room comfortable and very friendly staff.

Picky points would be no stairs, shower is difficult to control, heating in room difficult to control, blinds didn't work properly and small room. These things did not ruin our stay but to be completely correct for a review thought it was worth a mention.

Enjoyed our stay here but maybe next time would pay a few quid extra.

Perfect for budget travellers wanting a good location to go uptown/downtown given Subway is on the 1 line.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nickej82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#400 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#302 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#435 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#434 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#395 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marrakech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakech Hotel

Property: Marrakech Hotel
Address: 2688 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #385 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marrakech Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the pageantry, color, and welcoming allure of Morocco hotels - in one of New York Manhattan's trendiest emerging neighborhoods. Situated on the Upper West Side, the Marrakech Hotel boasts a chic design, NYC hotel accommodations, and a fantastic location in beautiful New York City, all at an attractive price. Walk up one flight into our vibrant NYC hotel lobby, filled with ceramic tiling, authentic Moroccan lamps, and colorful ottomans and tables - ideal for relaxing by yourself or hanging out with friends. Spread out in comfortable, exotically designed guest rooms. And once you've unpacked, explore the wonders of the Big Apple. The NYC subway is directly outside the hotel, just a short ride to New York downtown attractions such as New York City Times Square and NYC Fifth Avenue. Our hotel accommodations feature upscale amenities such as flat-screen TVs, plush, European bed linens, and CD clock radios. You can also enjoy high-speed Internet access, daily maid service, and a laundry valet service. You'll feel so pampered in our hotel that you'll forget you're traveling on a budget! Looking to refresh yourself after a day of sightseeing? Perhaps you're getting ready for a night on the town? Your hotel room bathroom is equipped with fine Ecco bath products, as well as a shower with a soothing massage head - creating a truly rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Marrakech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrakech Hotel New York City
Hotel Marrakech New York
Marrakech New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing