We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great affordable location”
Review of Marrakech Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marrakech Hotel
Ranked #393 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great affordable location”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Pros: This is a great place to stay for the price. Very welcoming and friendly staff. It is less than a minute walk to the Number 1 subway. It felt very safe staying there.

Cons: The room was hot and difficult to cool with AC. The pipes make a lot of noise. The rooms may feel a bit cramped if there is two of you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hello Ibstar,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy that our staff was welcoming and accommodating and that you enjoyed our neighborhood. I apologize if you felt the room was too hot we do have to switch our boiler system in the winter to keep all of our rooms warm! We do hope you stay with us again in the future contact us directly for great pricing at reservations@marrakechhotelnyc.com

Thanks again,

Angely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    554
    446
    192
    205
See reviews for
291
638
116
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I called the hotel directly and Maria was at the desk. She was amazing. So friendly, so helpful, so informative. She is the reason I made reservations for 3 rooms for my family. She is a wonderful representative of Hotel Marrakech. If everyone else at the hotel is as friendly and as helpful as Maria, then I know our stay will be great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patnorthcarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hey Patnorthcarolina!

It was a pleasure speaking with you yesterday regarding your future stay with us for yourself and your family. I am so happy to hear how wonderful Maria was; it is always great to hear these things about our staff! Please do not hesitate to contact us again if you need anything further we are all happy to assist you! See you soon.

Best,

Angely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

You will have a subway, duane, mc donalds, starbucks and radioshack, besides a subway station at your doorstep. Staff is very nice but the hotel does not have elevators, so becareful when reserving your room. Also the wifi is only available in the lobby and is not very good, but as an overall has a great cost/ benefit.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hello Barbara G,

Thank you for your recent review of our property. One of my favorite things about this area is how convenient everything is around us! You do not have to go far to get some great food, shop, and get any necessities needed. We are expanding the Wi-Fi to work in the entire building this month so that is something that will be a great benefit to our guests.

Thanks again and best wishes,

Angely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This was our third trip to NYC and this was by far the best hotel we have stayed in (the other 2 being near Times Square). The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the lack of lift is certainly not a problem, there is always someone offering to carry your cases/bags for you.

There is a lovely little bar in the hotel and loads of little amenities nearby such as a Starbucks down stairs and a Duane Reade across the road. Also if you want a great breakfast head across the road to the Metro Diner which had a great menu at a good price.

Transport links are really good, with 103 St subway stop right outside. We got the train from the airport and back with no problems.

The rooms are small and slightly dated, but the beds are really comfortable and the rooms have everything you could need. Also there was nowhere near as much noise as at the two hotels we stayed at near Times Square meaning you got a good nights sleep.

If you want a plush hotel then this is not going to be for you, but if you want a simple, comfortable base to explore the city, then it is great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hey Laura,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you found our hotel accommodating. I personally love this area because you are still so close to all of the NYC action but away from the hustle and bustle. You get to enjoy the city from different perspectives. We hope to see you again in the future please contact us directly for some great rates!

Best wishes,

Angely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hotel is great value for money, we knew before we arrived that it wasn't going to be the Hilton. However it has everything you need with very helpful and friendly staff, rooms very clean & location made it very easy to get about New York as subway at door. There is a supermarket right next to hotel if you need to buy anything and a great Metro Diner which served a fantastic breakfast which was a few yards away. We could have booked something more opulent but we were hardly in hotel and gives you extra money to spend in New York shopping.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunSeeker004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hello SunSeeker004,

Thanks so much for your review. You definitely have the right idea there. Save money in accommodations to use for shopping! We are so glad our staff was friendly and accommodating. We hope to see you again in the future!

Thanks again,

Angely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed here to celebrate New Year's Eve in New York. Room rates across the city were understandably even higher than usual so booked this hotel as it was the closest to Times Square we could afford that had a private bathroom!

Pro's
Cost!
Location, right outside 103rd St subway
Close to a few local bars, restaurants & above Starbucks, (Metro Diner on corner of 96th definitely worth at least one visit!)
Friendly, professional staff
No noise from other rooms / guests
Good sized room
Super comfy bed, duvet & pillows
Great view of Broadway

Cons
Shower temperature difficult to control
Furniture needs some repair, not much storage space, (no drawers, single unit wardrobe)
Traffic noise throughout night as windows not double glazed
Radiator banged
No safe in room
Room dusty - however this must be due to the building as items we unpacked quickly became covered


Summary
Great value for money, we would go back

Room Tip: I requested high floor with view but would ask for side / back room next time due to traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth_Huddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We recently visited and all I can say is we had an amazing time , the hotel staff were amazing we would visit again , the evening staff were especially nice , the boys were great with getting anything we needed or helping with bags or drinks , no lift but wasnt a problem ,

Room Tip: Go for a room at the bk if ur a light sleeper but we never had a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#388 of 467 in New York City
635 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#392 of 467 in New York City
1,514 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#319 of 467 in New York City
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#438 of 467 in New York City
843 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#300 of 467 in New York City
1,302 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#430 of 467 in New York City
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marrakech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakech Hotel

Property: Marrakech Hotel
Address: 2688 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025-4411
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #393 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marrakech Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the pageantry, color, and welcoming allure of Morocco hotels - in one of New York Manhattan's trendiest emerging neighborhoods. Situated on the Upper West Side, the Marrakech Hotel boasts a chic design, NYC hotel accommodations, and a fantastic location in beautiful New York City, all at an attractive price. Walk up one flight into our vibrant NYC hotel lobby, filled with ceramic tiling, authentic Moroccan lamps, and colorful ottomans and tables - ideal for relaxing by yourself or hanging out with friends. Spread out in comfortable, exotically designed guest rooms. And once you've unpacked, explore the wonders of the Big Apple. The NYC subway is directly outside the hotel, just a short ride to New York downtown attractions such as New York City Times Square and NYC Fifth Avenue. Our hotel accommodations feature upscale amenities such as flat-screen TVs, plush, European bed linens, and CD clock radios. You can also enjoy high-speed Internet access, daily maid service, and a laundry valet service. You'll feel so pampered in our hotel that you'll forget you're traveling on a budget! Looking to refresh yourself after a day of sightseeing? Perhaps you're getting ready for a night on the town? Your hotel room bathroom is equipped with fine Ecco bath products, as well as a shower with a soothing massage head - creating a truly rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Marrakech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrakech Hotel New York City
Hotel Marrakech New York
Marrakech New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing