We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marrakech Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Royalton Park Avenue(New York City)
US$364
US$265
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$282
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Grand Hyatt New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$267
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westin New York at Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$335
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$232
US$171
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$375
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$449
US$391
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
NYLO New York City(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$297
US$247
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Warwick New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$260
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,679)
Filter reviews
1,679 results
Traveller rating
216
574
467
207
215
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
574
467
207
215
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssubway stationnew yorkbudget hotelcentral parktimes squarerooms are smallyour luggagecleaned every daybagelsfew blocksstarbucksbroadwaymanhattandinerbellman
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
571 - 576 of 1,679 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights. We went in NYC for New Years Eve, but we've booked the hotel since July 2013. We were a little bit scared about the previous reviews that appeared meanwhile. The hotel is located on Broadway with 103 street, the fact that the subway staion was very close to the hotel was absolutely great.
We walked in Central Park, and also went a few times in City center by foot and I think, in my opinion, that the location is great. Also, you can get easy at AMNH.
The service was very good, I have only one complaint, they blocked 50$ on my card, I know is not much but now, after almost a month, the amount is still blocked, even they said that everything is ok when we checked out and that the money will be unlocked in 2-3 days working days.
There is no elevator and we stayed at fifth floor. Honesly, that was not a problem, even with the luggage. Also, if you want o store your baggages in the luggage room, there is a fee of 2 dolars per item. It is mentioned that they don't store laptops or tablets.
We got WIFI in our room, and the connection went very good, don't forget to ask at the reception the access code.
The stairs looked very dirty. The room is very small, with old furniture. The main drawback was the fact that was very noisy, if we didn't had ear plugs with us I don't know how we could possibly manage to sleep. Not to mention that in one night some drunk guys got into a fight, at 4:00 AM, in front of out door. Actually, on this one the staff managed this pretty good. It was silence after they inverviened. Our room was cleaned every day. In bathroom you can find a hair drier and toiletries.
For 7 night on holydays we paid 870£, and was very expensive but is New York and staying in Manhattan is great although expensive.
You can find a store at 50 meters to north, from where you can get water or some snacks. For breakfast and lunch we went a few times at Broadway Diner, is very close and also cheap compared with other places. We really liked the mexican restaurant that is located nearby, a dinner for two costs 40$ with approximation. Also, a great place to eat is close by 96 subway station, a few blocks away from the hotel, is called Longgrain, they have thai food.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ibormeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I have to admit after reading some of the reviews on here I was a bit concerned about a trip to the Marrkech. Luckily this was completely unfounded. What a lovely, professional hotel.

The hotel is definitely boutique and the rooms are smaller than most normal hotels however there is a real homely feel to it. And with everything the city has to offer anything fancier would be wasted when you are using it as a base.

The door staff and counter staff are so friendly and always ready to help (even when the query is something is outrageous as finding size 15 shoes!!!) The bar is lively but can't be heard in the rooms. The stairs aren't so bad, particularly if you are walking everywhere anyway in the city.

My husband and I found the bed really comfortable, the bathroom more than adequate for our needs and although there was no wardrobe there was plenty of place for our stuff. Housekeeping are spot on and the room was spotless every time we came back to our room after a long day out.

The ONLY thing that was a bit frustrating was the heating. As previous posters have said the radiators get red hot and can make it super uncomfortable, in addition they can be a little bit noisy too. This is less to do with the hotel and more to do with New York plumbing in general. These are the standard for buildings of this age and have been the same in other places I've stayed in NYC. We managed to switch ours off after the first day and even though it was snowing it was perfectly warm in the room all the time.

At the price we paid and the location to the subway, I would happily come back to the Marrakech in a heartbeat. Thank you for the wonderful trip guys!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EatingGlitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

A fabulous hotel, clean, friendly and a great location. Metro diner metres away for a fine breakfast, Subway metres away for the 1 train straight down town, great staff right on the doorstep, big deal you have to walk up some stairs, they help you....would go there again tomorrow and recommend to friends...barmaid could cheer up ;)

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Fi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Very poor hotel, very tatty, our room wasn't clean, no cupboard space to unpack, unpleasant smell to bedding the room was so noisy that we only managed one hours sleep, staff are amazing but this place needs a tidy up, checked out after one night!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amanda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Pros: This is a great place to stay for the price. Very welcoming and friendly staff. It is less than a minute walk to the Number 1 subway. It felt very safe staying there.

Cons: The room was hot and difficult to cool with AC. The pipes make a lot of noise. The rooms may feel a bit cramped if there is two of you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ibstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Hello Ibstar,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy that our staff was welcoming and accommodating and that you enjoyed our neighborhood. I apologize if you felt the room was too hot we do have to switch our boiler system in the winter to keep all of our rooms warm! We do hope you stay with us again in the future contact us directly for great pricing at reservations@marrakechhotelnyc.com

Thanks again,

Angely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews