We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marrakech Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marrakech Hotel
Ranked #385 of 467 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel was great value for money. The staff were incredibly helpful particularly with carrying your luggage. The hotel is right by the entrance to the tube so although you are slightly out of the centre it only takes about 15 minutes to get to Times Square. The rooms are slightly small but you have everything you need including a hair dryer. It can get quite noisy at night but as long as you wear ear plugs you will get a restful nights sleep. The beds are very comfy! The rooms were also very clean and warm. Wifi didn't reach our room on the 5th floor but the bar downstairs is a good location to access it. Also we needed to check in for our flight and print our boarding passes, you can do this for free on the computer in the lobby which was really fast and stress free. Smoke, the Jazz club 100 yards up the road was a must and also Metro diner did a great brunch. Starbucks below the hotel is great for breakfast but allow plenty of time as the queue is often quite long. I would definitely recommend this hotel to young couple or young travellers. Thank you Hotel Marrakech!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel_e_dunbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    540
    420
    184
    197
See reviews for
274
615
111
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

The hotel was slightly out of the way but only a short cab ride or subway away, the subway station was outside the hotel. Central park was ten minutes walk, at least 30 bars and restaraunts within the immediate area, Smoke is a must if you venture out around the hotel at night and the restaraunt Toast was fantastic. The hotel is small but the staff are great, polite and very helpful in most cases, you can spend more on a hotel but that only leaves you with less to spend whilst you are there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights. We went in NYC for New Years Eve, but we've booked the hotel since July 2013. We were a little bit scared about the previous reviews that appeared meanwhile. The hotel is located on Broadway with 103 street, the fact that the subway staion was very close to the hotel was absolutely great.
We walked in Central Park, and also went a few times in City center by foot and I think, in my opinion, that the location is great. Also, you can get easy at AMNH.
The service was very good, I have only one complaint, they blocked 50$ on my card, I know is not much but now, after almost a month, the amount is still blocked, even they said that everything is ok when we checked out and that the money will be unlocked in 2-3 days working days.
There is no elevator and we stayed at fifth floor. Honesly, that was not a problem, even with the luggage. Also, if you want o store your baggages in the luggage room, there is a fee of 2 dolars per item. It is mentioned that they don't store laptops or tablets.
We got WIFI in our room, and the connection went very good, don't forget to ask at the reception the access code.
The stairs looked very dirty. The room is very small, with old furniture. The main drawback was the fact that was very noisy, if we didn't had ear plugs with us I don't know how we could possibly manage to sleep. Not to mention that in one night some drunk guys got into a fight, at 4:00 AM, in front of out door. Actually, on this one the staff managed this pretty good. It was silence after they inverviened. Our room was cleaned every day. In bathroom you can find a hair drier and toiletries.
For 7 night on holydays we paid 870£, and was very expensive but is New York and staying in Manhattan is great although expensive.
You can find a store at 50 meters to north, from where you can get water or some snacks. For breakfast and lunch we went a few times at Broadway Diner, is very close and also cheap compared with other places. We really liked the mexican restaurant that is located nearby, a dinner for two costs 40$ with approximation. Also, a great place to eat is close by 96 subway station, a few blocks away from the hotel, is called Longgrain, they have thai food.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibormeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I have to admit after reading some of the reviews on here I was a bit concerned about a trip to the Marrkech. Luckily this was completely unfounded. What a lovely, professional hotel.

The hotel is definitely boutique and the rooms are smaller than most normal hotels however there is a real homely feel to it. And with everything the city has to offer anything fancier would be wasted when you are using it as a base.

The door staff and counter staff are so friendly and always ready to help (even when the query is something is outrageous as finding size 15 shoes!!!) The bar is lively but can't be heard in the rooms. The stairs aren't so bad, particularly if you are walking everywhere anyway in the city.

My husband and I found the bed really comfortable, the bathroom more than adequate for our needs and although there was no wardrobe there was plenty of place for our stuff. Housekeeping are spot on and the room was spotless every time we came back to our room after a long day out.

The ONLY thing that was a bit frustrating was the heating. As previous posters have said the radiators get red hot and can make it super uncomfortable, in addition they can be a little bit noisy too. This is less to do with the hotel and more to do with New York plumbing in general. These are the standard for buildings of this age and have been the same in other places I've stayed in NYC. We managed to switch ours off after the first day and even though it was snowing it was perfectly warm in the room all the time.

At the price we paid and the location to the subway, I would happily come back to the Marrakech in a heartbeat. Thank you for the wonderful trip guys!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EatingGlitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

A fabulous hotel, clean, friendly and a great location. Metro diner metres away for a fine breakfast, Subway metres away for the 1 train straight down town, great staff right on the doorstep, big deal you have to walk up some stairs, they help you....would go there again tomorrow and recommend to friends...barmaid could cheer up ;)

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Fi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Very poor hotel, very tatty, our room wasn't clean, no cupboard space to unpack, unpleasant smell to bedding the room was so noisy that we only managed one hours sleep, staff are amazing but this place needs a tidy up, checked out after one night!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amanda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Pros: This is a great place to stay for the price. Very welcoming and friendly staff. It is less than a minute walk to the Number 1 subway. It felt very safe staying there.

Cons: The room was hot and difficult to cool with AC. The pipes make a lot of noise. The rooms may feel a bit cramped if there is two of you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hello Ibstar,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy that our staff was welcoming and accommodating and that you enjoyed our neighborhood. I apologize if you felt the room was too hot we do have to switch our boiler system in the winter to keep all of our rooms warm! We do hope you stay with us again in the future contact us directly for great pricing at reservations@marrakechhotelnyc.com

Thanks again,

Angely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#400 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#303 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#435 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#396 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#434 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marrakech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakech Hotel

Property: Marrakech Hotel
Address: 2688 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #385 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marrakech Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the pageantry, color, and welcoming allure of Morocco hotels - in one of New York Manhattan's trendiest emerging neighborhoods. Situated on the Upper West Side, the Marrakech Hotel boasts a chic design, NYC hotel accommodations, and a fantastic location in beautiful New York City, all at an attractive price. Walk up one flight into our vibrant NYC hotel lobby, filled with ceramic tiling, authentic Moroccan lamps, and colorful ottomans and tables - ideal for relaxing by yourself or hanging out with friends. Spread out in comfortable, exotically designed guest rooms. And once you've unpacked, explore the wonders of the Big Apple. The NYC subway is directly outside the hotel, just a short ride to New York downtown attractions such as New York City Times Square and NYC Fifth Avenue. Our hotel accommodations feature upscale amenities such as flat-screen TVs, plush, European bed linens, and CD clock radios. You can also enjoy high-speed Internet access, daily maid service, and a laundry valet service. You'll feel so pampered in our hotel that you'll forget you're traveling on a budget! Looking to refresh yourself after a day of sightseeing? Perhaps you're getting ready for a night on the town? Your hotel room bathroom is equipped with fine Ecco bath products, as well as a shower with a soothing massage head - creating a truly rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Marrakech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrakech Hotel New York City
Hotel Marrakech New York
Marrakech New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing