We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and good base for a New York trip”
Review of Marrakech Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marrakech Hotel
Ranked #392 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location and good base for a New York trip”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Good comfortable base for a New York trip. Great service and overall good. However it wouldn't be for the light sleepers as you can hear everything around but that is New York for you! It didn't bother us too much.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hello Lauren T,

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the service provided by our staff. New York is the city that never sleeps. We do offer accommodations towards the back of the hotel for light sleepers where it is a bit quieter. We really appreciate your response and hope to see you again during your next visit to New York.

Best,
Angely Perez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    548
    438
    187
    202
See reviews for
284
632
113
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antalya, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Our first time in America couldn't have been better.
We searched for a room with private bathroom in Manhattan area and we came across this hotel, it was one of the cheapest we found, and looked good on the pictures, mixed reviews, but we were not planning to spend a lot time in the room/hotel anyway, so we gave it a try.

Long stairs at the entrance, but the friendly staff helped us with all our luggage, even tried to open the door each time we wanted to go out or came back, very good service.
Check in at the reception was done in a minute, we got to our room, yes small but enough to put our 2 suitcases and clothes, shoes etc.
Room was spotless, and that remained our whole stay of 2 weeks, every day housekeeping came and put new towels and cleaned the bed, and the bed was a big plus for us, so soft and comfortable, would have loved to take that one home.
Room was heated, bathroom was not, but after a 10 min hot shower the bathroom was not that cold anymore. Shower was great, good pressure.
Soap, towels, shampoo, everything was there and plenty.

Im not sure if its always busy in the hotel, but it sure was when we were there, okay the superbowl weekend was going on and a bit more tourists were in the city than normal, but even after that the hotel seemed always full. Maybe for some thats not ideal, but we felt a lot more safer knowing we were not staying alone. Plus it always brings a nice atmosphere at the bar in the hotel, which is open every night.

The free wifi of the hotel was so so, we stayed near the reception, so we were lucky to even have connection in our room, but it wasn't very fast, later we found out we were able to use starbucks wifi(free) as well(since our room was situated right above), that worked better.

Hotel is next door to starbucks, 99cents store, 24/7 pharmacy, 24/7 market, barbershop, pizza place, liquor store, subway sandwich shop, a subway station(which brings you to times square, even it can bring you till south ferry where you can book a trip to the statue of Liberty) and a few blocks from central park west.

We really enjoyed staying here, if we would come back to New York, I would definitely book this hotel again, don't need to look for anything else.

Thanks again to the staff!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hello Melissa B,

Thank you so much for your review. It’s great to hear that you had such a comfortable stay and that our staff was able to help you at all times. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed Super Bowl Weekend in New York! We really do hope you stay with us in the future. Please email me directly for our best rates: a.perez@marrakechhotelnyc.com

Best,
Angely Perez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights in the snow storms of mid February. The friendliness of the staff can't be overstated, there's always a "Have a great day" on your way out or a "welcome back guys" on your return. They ordered us a pizza when we just couldn't face going out one night :)

The room wasn't spectacular but was perfectly functional: decent size with wardrobe and drawers, and a comfortable double bed. Because of the weather the bathroom was c-o-l-d but there was a powerful upright fan heater which really helped - a few minutes with that blowing warmed the place up nicely.

We stayed on the same floor as the reception and bar so didn't have to carry out bags far (there is one flight of stairs up from street level, although the staff happily do the heavy lifting for you).

The location is great, just two blocks from central park and the 103rd Street subway is literally 10 seconds from the front door. Shops and restaurants aren't in short supply, and I'd agree with another reviewer about the Broadway Diner just down the road: we had breakfast there every morning (and is also a location for a scene in Meet Joe Black if you're interested).

If you're looking for a low cost hotel with super friendly service then I'd recommend Marrakech. It could do with a lick of paint here and there but that's just cosmetic, and I noticed they were renovating the room opposite ours so it looks like they're on the case anyway.

There's free wifi too, although I can't comment on how far it reaches. We could get it in our room but as I said earlier we weren't far from reception.

Would come back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hello DPJ66,

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay here and were able to enjoy New York pizza; it is one of our staff favorites! We have just updated the wifi throughout the building making it accessible in all rooms but are glad it wasn’t an issue for you. Most of all thank you for complimenting our staff; it is our top priority to make our guests feel at home.

Best,
Angely Perez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

If you want the friendliest people in New York, with a rustic hotel... This is it! It might not be fancy, but great location and incredible staff. I first had a room facing Broadway, but that was too noisy. The staff was great, and switched me to an interior room. No problem!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BaldAndHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hello BaldAndHappy,

Your review is really appreciated. We are really happy to hear that our staff was able to accommodate your needs. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Best wishes,
Angely Perez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire, uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

what a great little hotel. the staff are great, Saira is a total star.
Its 10 mins by subway (which is right outside the hotel) from times sq, which for us was a huge bonus to get away from all the hustle and bustle. its got shops galore around the hotel.... diners, restaurants, 99c stores, liquor stores, everything you need that you cant get in the heart of Manhattan.
Our room was fantastic, modern, roomy and spotless. we had done our research before we went, and read tripadvisors reviews on the Marrakech, and was worried before we went. we could not have been more impressed.
Well done Marrakech
and thanks again Saira for all your help

Room Tip: rooms are two types...front rooms face Broadway, so if you are a light sleeper you may here some tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dantheman156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Hey dantheman156,

Thanks for your great review! I’ll be sure to praise Saira for being such a great help to our guests. I also love having so many stores around where you can pretty much get anything you need without traveling downtown. It definitely feels like you are at home when you come to the quietness of the neighborhood! Thanks again for reaching out to us.

Best wishes,
Angely Perez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

After a long flight and horrible transfer we got dropped at the hotel , my first thought was my god what have we done..dirty stair carpets and loud music I thought wed been dropped at a cheap nightclub.. We checked in and were given a room four flights up but no lift, once we got in the room I opened the curtains to see a brick wall,we put the cases down and quickly realised no wardrobe or drawers and this was a delux room? I went to the bathroom and howled at the three foot bath I went along the hall to see what the shared bath was like and it was rotten and I'm not exaggerating .. I went to reception and was told no rooms have storage which I find odd. We decided to go out for tea and a look round we asked at reception and were told the sights where an hour away on foot and we'd need to use the train which I hate, we went to the subway and bought a pass and jumped on the train to Times Square and we were off, we didn't go out much at night because with no hanging space and no room to iron dressing from a case etc it just spoilt it.. On the plus side the staff were brilliant and answered any questions we had, we found a little diner called broadway dinner a few shops down and there was plenty shops for beer etc, we were both brought down with coughs and bad chests so the nearby chemist was handy, the metro diner was also quite good..

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank budapesttont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Hello budapesttont,

We appreciate your review and thank you for staying with us. We are glad that our staff was accommodating and helpful.

Best,

Angely Perez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights over New Year's. Found staff extremely friendly and helpful. Good location on the Upper West Side next to subway station so only minutes away from Times Square. Would recommend this hotel and stay here again! Love New York City!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorimcvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Hello Iorimcvie,

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay here and that you could make it here during New Years Eve! It is definitely something to cross off your bucket list. We are glad our staff was helpful at all times. We hope to see you again during your next visit to New York!

Best,
Angely Perez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#391 of 468 in New York City
628 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#315 of 468 in New York City
1,508 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#394 of 468 in New York City
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#302 of 468 in New York City
1,282 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#438 of 468 in New York City
835 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#431 of 468 in New York City
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marrakech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakech Hotel

Property: Marrakech Hotel
Address: 2688 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025-4411
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #392 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marrakech Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the pageantry, color, and welcoming allure of Morocco hotels - in one of New York Manhattan's trendiest emerging neighborhoods. Situated on the Upper West Side, the Marrakech Hotel boasts a chic design, NYC hotel accommodations, and a fantastic location in beautiful New York City, all at an attractive price. Walk up one flight into our vibrant NYC hotel lobby, filled with ceramic tiling, authentic Moroccan lamps, and colorful ottomans and tables - ideal for relaxing by yourself or hanging out with friends. Spread out in comfortable, exotically designed guest rooms. And once you've unpacked, explore the wonders of the Big Apple. The NYC subway is directly outside the hotel, just a short ride to New York downtown attractions such as New York City Times Square and NYC Fifth Avenue. Our hotel accommodations feature upscale amenities such as flat-screen TVs, plush, European bed linens, and CD clock radios. You can also enjoy high-speed Internet access, daily maid service, and a laundry valet service. You'll feel so pampered in our hotel that you'll forget you're traveling on a budget! Looking to refresh yourself after a day of sightseeing? Perhaps you're getting ready for a night on the town? Your hotel room bathroom is equipped with fine Ecco bath products, as well as a shower with a soothing massage head - creating a truly rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marrakech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrakech Hotel New York City
Hotel Marrakech New York
Marrakech New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing