We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marrakech Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marrakech Hotel
Ranked #385 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay away!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Don't even think about staying here!!! Steer clear! Small stinky rooms, literally size of a closet, small window which needed to be shut by blinds all the time because it was facing the next building windows at the distance of about 2 yards. Bathroom is so small that I had to keep the bathroom door open in order to be able to sit on the toilet. Room gets extremely hot very quickly so I had to run the window AC unit all the time and it was so noisy that I could barely hear the tv sound. They definetely created the third world country experience.
The last straw was at the end, when I checked out, they offered to call a taxi for me. I thought, well, that's a nice service. But man, I was wrong. They charged $58 for the ride to LaGuardia whereas the regular rate (as I found out later) is no more than $35-37. The driver tried to charge me $5 on top of this - there is definetely some kind of scam going on there. So just refuse if they offer to "call taxi" for you. Use Uber!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Andrey B,

Greetings from Marrakech hotel. I am extremely disappointed to hear of your experience; I am sad to hear that your time with us was not a good one. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you and re-assure you of our best attention and timely resolution at all times. I hope that you received my email as I did explain the steps we have taken to look into your issue. Thank you nonetheless for your review.

Best,

Angely P.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    540
    420
    184
    197
See reviews for
274
615
111
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I wasn't the one who booked this hotel. So when I went on line, I got very scared, worried while reading all the comments. Well, it's true, it's not the Plaza or George V or a 5 stars hotel.
For the price we paid, we got what we pay for. For my little knowledge it was fair for Manhattan. Bedding was nice and clean,...as the room and the rest.
Bus and subway was few yards from the front door.
The hall was not very welcoming because of the stairway...but it s an old building/ old construction ... I knew before booking it was no lift, so what!!! As tourist, we came to visit, walk all around town so few stairs wasn't the end if the world.
The team was nice, correct, and helpful with us.
While booking, we looked for a good location, a nice, clean cheap place to sleep, and we got what we paid for.
You can t have a cheap place for the same standing than a best hotel in town. We had a great time in NY
Thank you for your help.Will be back next shopping season.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riad V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hey there Riad V,

Thank you for the feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to NYC in the future!

Warm wishes,

Angely P.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Hotel could do with redecorating very dark on treatise ways and in the rooms.
Rooms adequate but if offered take a room higher than the reception as music and staff can get very loud.
Easy to get to metro or central park.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 139JanetC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hello 139JanetC,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We look forward to hearing what all of our guests thought of our staff and property and always consider it when looking to make things better. Warm wishes from the Marrakech staff.

Best,

Angely P.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend for a week in June 2014, it's located a few blocks walk from Central Park & is not too far from a nearby university, so there are plenty of restaurants & bars, also convenience stores, etc. There is a subway stop right outside too, so really handy for trips downtown. The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly & helpful. The room was on the small side (I am told this is the norm for moderately priced hotels in NYC) but as it's literally just a place to lay your head, this wasn't a problem! Decor is lovely & very clean. The only downside was there was no elevator & this can be challenging after a day of 12+ miles of walking in 30 degree sunshine! Overall I would highly recommend it if you're looking for a decent priced stay in this amazing city :-)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaQ43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hello EmmaQ43,

Thank you for your feedback and kind words. Your appreciation is very rewarding and always inspires us to continue creating great memories for our guests. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to NYC.

Best wishes,

Angely P.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilford, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The lobby of this hotel is on the second floor and there are no elevators. This is an old building that was likely grandfathered in years ago. However, there are several porters to take your luggage and our baby stroller.up the stairs. We were additionally on the fourth floor so another stair climb. Accommodations are very basic. It appeared some rooms may have a shared hallway bathroom. We had two double beds. The bathroom was quite small but functional. We had the windows open (mid April, Sat. evening) but did not find the the traffic outside a problem. Seemed to have a lot of international travelers. The lobby area has a distinct Morrocan vibe. Since we were travelling with an infant it was not as practical as we would have liked.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hey Rosemary S,

We appreciate your descriptive and constructive feedback. Having a property that dates back to the 1900's we were not able to install lifts but our bellman's are available to help 24hrs a day. We hope you had a memorable experience while visiting us and NYC and thank you again for sharing your views with us.

Best wishes,

Angely P.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel was great! The staff was extremly friendly and helpful! However keep in mind, there is no elevator and quite a few steep steps to go up to get to the first level. And the rooms and bathrooms are the smallest I have ever seen, but they were clean. All that being said, I would totally stay here again!! Location was perfect with the subway being right outside the door.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CRAZYNESS789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hello CRAZYNESS789,

Thank you for taking the time and providing us with your feedback. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and definitely would love to have you stay with us again! Please contact us directly and we will offer you the best rates available!

Best wishes,

Angely P.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Our room was a good size enough space for 3 people and our suitcases. The staff were very helpful with any enquiries we had for them. The hotel is in a great location. Subway station right outside the hotel. Supermarket on the right of the hotel as you are leaving about 5mins and one across the street. There is also a guy with a food cart outside the first supermarket great for a cheap snack/lunch/dinner. Good sized portions. Also try out The Halal Guys on 6th avenue 53rd street (they always have a line at their cart even at 9pm. In my opinion their food is worth the wait). I don't know why people are moaning the hotel is great for what I paid. You don't go to New York City to stay around in a hotel! If you need a place to just lay your head this is the place for you! You may also need to make sure the maid actually changes your sheets. (That was the only problem we had). Wifi worked fine. It cut out once but that didn't bother us. We just used it to call home (viber free call if other person also uses viber app and through wifi saves you a hefty phone bill when you get home) or finding directions. If you can go to Washington, D.C. For a day to see the White House and touch the moon rock at the Air and Space museum. Oh and if you are looking for dinosaurs at the natural history smithsonian does not have any. Stick to the one in New York City near the hotel they have a whole room full of dinosaurs! Also if you do go to the American natural history you DO NOT have to pay the $22 each. It is a suggested donation. You can pay whatever you like! We paid $1 dollar each. We learned this nifty fact from a New York tour guide! Hope this helps.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Huds12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hello Huds12,

It was a pleasure to have had you stay with us during your recent visit to NYC, and we cannot thank you enough for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your time in residence with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best,

Angely P.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#400 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#300 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#302 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#435 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#395 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#434 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marrakech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakech Hotel

Property: Marrakech Hotel
Address: 2688 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #385 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marrakech Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the pageantry, color, and welcoming allure of Morocco hotels - in one of New York Manhattan's trendiest emerging neighborhoods. Situated on the Upper West Side, the Marrakech Hotel boasts a chic design, NYC hotel accommodations, and a fantastic location in beautiful New York City, all at an attractive price. Walk up one flight into our vibrant NYC hotel lobby, filled with ceramic tiling, authentic Moroccan lamps, and colorful ottomans and tables - ideal for relaxing by yourself or hanging out with friends. Spread out in comfortable, exotically designed guest rooms. And once you've unpacked, explore the wonders of the Big Apple. The NYC subway is directly outside the hotel, just a short ride to New York downtown attractions such as New York City Times Square and NYC Fifth Avenue. Our hotel accommodations feature upscale amenities such as flat-screen TVs, plush, European bed linens, and CD clock radios. You can also enjoy high-speed Internet access, daily maid service, and a laundry valet service. You'll feel so pampered in our hotel that you'll forget you're traveling on a budget! Looking to refresh yourself after a day of sightseeing? Perhaps you're getting ready for a night on the town? Your hotel room bathroom is equipped with fine Ecco bath products, as well as a shower with a soothing massage head - creating a truly rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Marrakech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrakech Hotel New York City
Hotel Marrakech New York
Marrakech New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing