We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Ranked #261 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights in September 2011. Has all the usual features of a Holiday Inn Express being free continental breakfast and free wifi which works in the room. Bed was comfortable but I think the king is actually shorter than a normal king as my feet hung over the end (I'm 6ft). Close to the subway and Times Square. The only issue I had was that breakfast is quite busy and that elevators are slow. When we were one of the elevators was out of service so this made it worse but they did extend the breakfast timings. The sheets were not changed when requested with the sign on the pillow or every third day that they claim the change them regardless. Airconditioner was old and noisy, had to be used on auto versus low fan for any chance at sleep (so it cut in and out instead of continuous). Probably would try somewhere else next time. Was also woken at 0400 when the garbage was emptied on the street.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danieloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    887
    329
    76
    54
See reviews for
668
565
96
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

The title of Holiday Inn "Times Square", can be a bit misleading, as it is on the outer limits of that zone, but none the less it is a comfortable New York hotel with some good access points. Located on W 39 Street, it is about a 10 minute walk to Times Square proper, Penn Street station, and some of the river locations. Metro stations can be found nearby at 42nd Street or Penn Station, for wider access to New York attractions. It can take a little bit of getting used to the Metro, but is a good way of getting around, just remember that one hole in the ground may only give you access to one platform and not the other. You learn after your first mistake.

The hotel is a typical Holiday Inn Express. It has six rooms on each floor, and whilst they are compact, they are comfortable, and provide most amenities. A fridge was not in our room, and you may not be able to get one, but ice machines are available on certain floors to keep drinks cool. The rooms are air-conditioned with a floor unit. I froze while at the desk doing some work, but other than that it was fine.

Free wi-fi works a treat, and certainly that is a boon when you can use skype in video mode to save on your phone bills.

Breakfast is included and is taken in the breakfast room. The food is standard fast food service type, the hot option having a "manufactured" feel about it, but still quite tasty. In summary there is plenty to eat and drink.

Would I stay again? Yes. We had a special rate at an average of $300 night, so it is not cheap, but in New York, you can pay a lot more and get a lot less, just to be a few metres closer to Times Square.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the walking to get you to places, after eating New York food, you will need th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ty_of_perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

This is a very nice hotel. The rooms were quiet (couldn't hear elevator noise, hallway noise, street noise). It was very clean. Breakfast was always stocked well. It is a very "tight" hotel meaning compact. But that is NYC.

Room Tip: Get a "CITY VIEW" because they are higher up and the street noise doesn't come up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank serenitytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Richland, WA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

We needed a one post-cruise day in Manhattan, and with our credit card points, this one was convenient and very afforable for us. The staff was excellent. The location was terrific in that it was within a few block from Times Square, but if you walked around the immediate corner in the oposite direction it was a bit scary at the edge of "Hell's Kitchen". We are big HIE fans but didn't get to enjoy (nor rate) the free breakfast as we had to catch a ride to EWR @ 4:45A. Internet access was fine. The tiny rooms, though, did not have a fridge or microwave, things we've come to expect from a Holiday Inn Express. We would stay there again, depending on the available rates and Priority Club discounts, but at rack retail, too pricey.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Applejacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Dimas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

I had no expecations when my wife and I arrived at the hotel. We were met by a very nice staff member and were checked in very quickly. When the elevator door opened I saw how small each floor was. We stayed on the 17th floor which had a vending and ice machine. I could literally insert the dollar from the elevator and then get my drink without ever leaving the elevator. When entering the room I saw the same exact room that I have seen everytime that I stay at the Holiday Inn Express. The only difference was that it was much smaller. I was shocked to see that on each floor that there are only 6 rooms, 3 rooms on a side!

Since this was the first time that we had been in New York the room was the least of our worries. The room was clean and the internet worked and the flat screen tv was great. The room was cleaned every time we got back each day.

The breakfast was the same as every other exspress hotel. The staff changed food out quickly and if you could not find a table in the breakfast area, you just take it to your room or eat in the lobby.

I was worred about the elevators because there are only 2 for 38 plus floors. Only a few times did I have to wait for an extended period of time.

It was a little loud because of building across the street. I was amazed to see that in the 6 days that we were in New York, the workers added 3 stories to the building.

The staff was extremely helpful and courteous.

My wife and I went to 5 plays, plus letterman in the 6 days that we were there and the location was perfect. We took the subway to see War Horse but we walked to Phantom, Book of Mormon, How to succeed in Business and Avenue Q.

We were advised to take the on and off bus which costs $48 per person but good for 48 hrs plus an hour and a half boat ride. It perfect for seeing all of New York! We paid the $29 for the Subway for a week. The subway was just up the street and we went to Yankee Stadium, Coney Island, Central Park and also to Hoboken to see Carlos' bakery. When we were in Central Park we took a Pedi-cab. Cost $70 for an hour. Great deal! We would have had to pedal a bike for $30. We learned alot about the Park and had 3 stops on the way.

If you are a middle income person this is the hotel for you. It is clean, it was built 3 years ago, and close most things that you would want to see. We would definitely go back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: May not want the floors with the vending machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank refone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed here mid september 2011 for 4 nights as a family. We had 2 rooms on the 5th floor, both quite small but adequate for our needs which were basically sleep and shower. We wasn't expecting huge rooms for the price in NYC and you shouldn't either, but they're not needed. Bathroom facilities were fine, bath and shower all we needed really. The breakfast here is nice, good selection of teas coffees and juices, pancakes, fruit, yoghurt, bagels and different hot breakfast foods, filled us up nicely. Breakfast room is quite small but we always got a table at 7-7.30am, it started to get busy at 8am. There's only 2 lifts so can be a problem if there's lots of people using them but it's just a case of being patient! Free wifi was great in this hotel, good speed and no problems. Good location, about 5-10mins from Times Square and more importantly about 10mins walking from Macys ;) All in all a good hotel in a good location, and we got what we paid for.

Room Tip: Rooms lower down to help with lift issues, rooms higher up for city views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmab72002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Spent four nights in this hotel close to Times Square. Tiny rooms are clean but without space for suitcases. Elevators are a HUGE problem at this hotel so try to ask for the lower floors since you will be using the stairs a lot. They only have two very small elevators covering a tall building and in the days we spent there one of the elevators was out of service. Breakfast area is small, food is OK but don't expect much variety; disponsable plates are someting that does not help much either. This hotel is completely overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xelaju007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#191 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#165 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#206 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#233 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,385 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#332 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Address: 343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#169 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#207 Business Hotel in New York City
#234 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City hotel offers location close to Times Square. Located in the middle of Manhattan, the Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square offers comfortable accommodations near New York s biggest attractions. With LaGuardia (LGA) and JFK International (JFK) both less than 15 minutes away, you'll find it easy getting to and from your destinations. Within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel, you can find a wealth of attractions. Just a block from our New York City hotel is Times Square and Broadway theatres. Other well known New York attractions such as the Empire State Building, Broadway and Central Park are within a few blocks of our hotel in Manhattan. Located near 42nd Street, our hotel is close to the main subway lines so you can get around the city easily. For the business traveler, there are many major New York business attractions located near our hotel in New York City. Major headquarters including Merrill Lynch, Legg Mason and Ernst & Young are all within walking distance of our New York City accommodations. With our convenient Manhattan location, you can make it on time to all your New York City meetings. Consider starting your day with one of our famous cinnamon rolls from the hot breakfast bar. Additionally, you can stay connected throughout your entire stay at our New York City hotel with free high-speed Internet access. Book your New York City room reservations now at our Manhattan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing