We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Holiday inn Express, a little older”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Ranked #289 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average Holiday inn Express, a little older”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

older hotel, small, but not closet type rooms, some room updates....

Not the nicest area in town, but not far from time square and 9th street around the corner has a good selection of food.

Room Tip: High up!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetdriver11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    914
    350
    82
    61
See reviews for
697
585
98
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Staff very nice and helpful. Friendly! Room was standard NYC small but very well appointed. Comfortable bed with new linens, good pillows and great mattress after a long day of walking. Everything seemed very well thought out. It was modern without overdoing it. Nice toiletries, good towels, etc. Colors of the room were inviting, warm and clean. I'm a health eater so I passed on the breakfast but it was a more than your standard bagels, fruit and cereal so for those who partook, i'm sure they enjoyed it. Free coffee all day. This was exactly what I was looking for and I'm glad to have found it. Per night was about $335 with all charges.

Note: the neighborhood is on the edge of Hell's Kitchen (Clinton) and while that area isn't as bad as it once was, there is still an element present. There are three hotels on the block so, there are more tourists than in the past but still, I wouldn't walk to/from the hotel with kids or if I were a woman alone. they do have a doorman to hail a cab.

Room Tip: I booked the cheapest room they had available, which was a handicap accessible room. When I checked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vokar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Stayed here for the weekend for the comic con and the place was packed. The room was clean, beds comfortable with reliable wifi service. Service was excellent all throughout. They guided me VERY well on where to go and told me the best place to eat when they found out I was alone. Breakfast was basic but fulfilling. Everything suited my needs perfectly EXCEPT for the noise! It seemed to penetrate everywhere! Location great because it's near times square and near West 46th and 9th avenue where the restaurant row is. It was also a very close walk to the Javits Convention Center where the event I was attending was located.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shelob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2011

The Holiday Inn Times Square provided us with great and efficient service. Alex, who checked us in at the front desk was a delight and it was so nice to be greeted so well upon arrival. He also took care of a couple of requests we had quickly. Thank you to all of the staff at the hotel for making our stay enjoyable. We appreciate the excellent service that was provided!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My partner and a group of friends stayed here in three different rooms in September 2011. Our room was a good size, considering we were only there to sleep and shower etc.

The breakfast is all processed food, but definitely filled us up for the day ahead. On the first morning we got there at 6.30 and there was no problem with finding a table. The other mornings we were there between 8.30 & 9.30 and we had to wait for a table. There were people milling around everywhere although as another person mentioned we could have always loaded up a plate and gone back to our room.

The rooms were cleaned daily and the housekeeping and other staff we experienced were polite and helpful.

On our third night the water in the room was barely warm and this was the same the next morning. We spoke to reception about it and they sent maintenance up to our room to check it out. When we checked with them when we got back from our day out, they said it had all been fixed.

There are only two elevators services 36 floors so around busy times be prepared for a bit of a wait and to get up close and personal with your fellow guests!

One thing you must do while in NYC is go to the Loeb Boathouse in Central Park! The food and the location are perfect. We had our best meal in NYC there!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timeforanotherbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

LIsten, I travel a lot! I've stayed at $30 hotels, I've stayed at $500 a night hotels, this was the worst hotel I've stayed at for the price I paid ($230+).

Charlene, the receptionist was horribly rude. Twice my room card did not work and twice when I went down to correct this she gave me an attitude. I guarantee you she was not trained in the hospitality business. It appears to me many of their staff were picked off the street, with no experience in the hotel business. Twice the housekeeper bothered to take her tips I left her but forgot to leave me shampoos. When I called the front desk twice to get some shampoo, it took them an hour and 2 phone calls to get what they missed.

Terrible service. BUSINESS TRAVELERS: Stay away from this place,seriously worst place ever!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

The efforts of some of the staff were good - but they lack enough power to persuade me to return and thus why it received a "poor" instead of a "terrible"

The Staff:
"Hunter" the manager - was great (sadly we had to get to know him through complaints) - a true professional, and provided exactly what I expected from a hotel manager.

"The maintenance guys"(he had brades) - an honest, down to earth person - good service.

The breakfast - is good and better than what I expected and was happy about that

"The breakfast staff" was friendly and no complaints.

“The front desk staff” – the ‘very happy guy’ at the front desk was the saviour of the reception staff – the rest were less than impressive.

The cleaning staff is as rude as you can get - especially the ones that don’t speak English - they have very aggressive tones, the ones that can speak English are very argumentative.


The Location:
The location of the hotel was good - since this was my first trip to NYC it’s hard to be definite on this - the one thing that is awesome, is that its around the corner from a dollar pizza shop (@ the exit of the hotel, turn right and then right again at the lights and its on the next corner - go past the dry cleaning shop)

The Rooms:
Room 1:
Blood drops on the floor that had been dripped from the bed to the bathroom.

Room 1 and Room 2 - had 2 double beds - "ledge walking" is the preferred method of movement because the rooms are that small.

Room 2 bath sink hole was so clogged with hair and no-one had cleaned it and the poor maintenance guy had to clean it with pliers and plungers.

I can honestly say, the elevator is half the size of the bedroom.

Room Tip: I only stayed in the front side room, but as a rule the lights from the sign - lit up the side of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abyssau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#188 of 468 in New York City
560 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#182 of 468 in New York City
1,136 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#216 of 468 in New York City
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#239 of 468 in New York City
2,355 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#273 of 468 in New York City
1,985 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#133 of 468 in New York City
5,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Address: 343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#168 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#206 Business Hotel in New York City
#233 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City hotel offers location close to Times Square. Located in the middle of Manhattan, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square offers comfortable accommodations near New York s biggest attractions. With LaGuardia (LGA) and JFK International (JFK) both less than 15 minutes away, you'll find it easy getting to and from your destinations. Within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel, you can find a wealth of attractions. Just a block from our New York City hotel is Times Square and Broadway theatres. Other well known New York attractions such as the Empire State Building, Broadway and Central Park are within a few blocks of our hotel in Manhattan. Located near 42nd Street, our hotel is close to the main subway lines so you can get around the city easily. For the business traveler, there are many major New York business attractions located near our hotel in New York City. Major headquarters including Merrill Lynch, Legg Mason and Ernst & Young are all within walking distance of our New York City accommodations. With our convenient Manhattan location, you can make it on time to all your New York City meetings. Consider starting your day with one of our famous cinnamon rolls from the hot breakfast bar. Additionally, you can stay connected throughout your entire stay at our New York City hotel with free high-speed Internet access. Book your New York City room reservations now at our Manhattan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing