We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Ranked #290 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 23 October 2011

My friend and I switched to this hotel a day before we left for NYC because we got such a good deal - some nights for $199 and some for $239. Such a great price for the location I worried that there would be issues. We had none! We checked in a little early and accepted a room on the 7th floor. I figured that if it were too loud we could move. Neither noise nor lights were a problem. I heard a lot of street noise - even late :) - but still went to sleep easily because we had done so much during the day!

The location is great! Near Times Square but not directly on it. We avoided a lot of noise and traffic this way. I would suggest walking up and down 9th Ave instead of 8th. There is a bus terminal between 41 and 42 on 8th which brings in a ton of people. 9th Ave has more of a neighborhood feel. I felt more comfortable with two women walking by themselves on 9th. We took subways and walked without any problems or worries about safety.

The room was small but it is New York. We had two double beds for two people and there was plenty of room for bags and stuff. Not big empty spaces for doing yoga, etc but I didn't expect there to be! The bathroom doesn't have much counter space so I just brought my toiletries in each day. I thought the shower curtain had a mildewy/sour smell but my friend did not notice it. The room was always cleaned and we had plenty of towels. The bed was very comfortable but I was very tired! We walked a lot . . . . . a whole lot!

The breakfast is good but not extravagant. It is usually crowded. We shared a table with some interesting people! Didn't have to wait on elevators much - only once. There are 32 floors with 6 rooms on each floor. Very compact. We accepted the 7th floor room in part because it's not that many flights if we had to take the stairs.

We decided to take their shuttle to the airport. This was a bit misleading. It is not the hotel's shuttle but a service they use. The concierge did not tell us - if she knew, that the driver was also picking up two other riders - the last one was an hour after our time. This left us concerned about making our flight. We didn't have any problems making the plane but we just felt we weren't given all the information.

We would stay here again! Very good value!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,421 - 1,427 of 2,188 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2011

older hotel, small, but not closet type rooms, some room updates....

Not the nicest area in town, but not far from time square and 9th street around the corner has a good selection of food.

Room Tip: High up!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetdriver11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Staff very nice and helpful. Friendly! Room was standard NYC small but very well appointed. Comfortable bed with new linens, good pillows and great mattress after a long day of walking. Everything seemed very well thought out. It was modern without overdoing it. Nice toiletries, good towels, etc. Colors of the room were inviting, warm and clean. I'm a health eater so I passed on the breakfast but it was a more than your standard bagels, fruit and cereal so for those who partook, i'm sure they enjoyed it. Free coffee all day. This was exactly what I was looking for and I'm glad to have found it. Per night was about $335 with all charges.

Note: the neighborhood is on the edge of Hell's Kitchen (Clinton) and while that area isn't as bad as it once was, there is still an element present. There are three hotels on the block so, there are more tourists than in the past but still, I wouldn't walk to/from the hotel with kids or if I were a woman alone. they do have a doorman to hail a cab.

Room Tip: I booked the cheapest room they had available, which was a handicap accessible room. When I checked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vokar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Stayed here for the weekend for the comic con and the place was packed. The room was clean, beds comfortable with reliable wifi service. Service was excellent all throughout. They guided me VERY well on where to go and told me the best place to eat when they found out I was alone. Breakfast was basic but fulfilling. Everything suited my needs perfectly EXCEPT for the noise! It seemed to penetrate everywhere! Location great because it's near times square and near West 46th and 9th avenue where the restaurant row is. It was also a very close walk to the Javits Convention Center where the event I was attending was located.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shelob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

The Holiday Inn Times Square provided us with great and efficient service. Alex, who checked us in at the front desk was a delight and it was so nice to be greeted so well upon arrival. He also took care of a couple of requests we had quickly. Thank you to all of the staff at the hotel for making our stay enjoyable. We appreciate the excellent service that was provided!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My partner and a group of friends stayed here in three different rooms in September 2011. Our room was a good size, considering we were only there to sleep and shower etc.

The breakfast is all processed food, but definitely filled us up for the day ahead. On the first morning we got there at 6.30 and there was no problem with finding a table. The other mornings we were there between 8.30 & 9.30 and we had to wait for a table. There were people milling around everywhere although as another person mentioned we could have always loaded up a plate and gone back to our room.

The rooms were cleaned daily and the housekeeping and other staff we experienced were polite and helpful.

On our third night the water in the room was barely warm and this was the same the next morning. We spoke to reception about it and they sent maintenance up to our room to check it out. When we checked with them when we got back from our day out, they said it had all been fixed.

There are only two elevators services 36 floors so around busy times be prepared for a bit of a wait and to get up close and personal with your fellow guests!

One thing you must do while in NYC is go to the Loeb Boathouse in Central Park! The food and the location are perfect. We had our best meal in NYC there!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timeforanotherbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

LIsten, I travel a lot! I've stayed at $30 hotels, I've stayed at $500 a night hotels, this was the worst hotel I've stayed at for the price I paid ($230+).

Charlene, the receptionist was horribly rude. Twice my room card did not work and twice when I went down to correct this she gave me an attitude. I guarantee you she was not trained in the hospitality business. It appears to me many of their staff were picked off the street, with no experience in the hotel business. Twice the housekeeper bothered to take her tips I left her but forgot to leave me shampoos. When I called the front desk twice to get some shampoo, it took them an hour and 2 phone calls to get what they missed.

Terrible service. BUSINESS TRAVELERS: Stay away from this place,seriously worst place ever!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank a b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#261 of 469 in New York City
2,067 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#192 of 469 in New York City
1,207 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#191 of 469 in New York City
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#235 of 469 in New York City
1,885 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#246 of 469 in New York City
2,479 reviews
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#301 of 469 in New York City
4,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Address: 343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#202 Business Hotel in New York City
#228 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £101 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City hotel offers location close to Times Square. Located in the middle of Manhattan, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square offers comfortable accommodations near New York s biggest attractions. With LaGuardia (LGA) and JFK International (JFK) both less than 15 minutes away, you'll find it easy getting to and from your destinations. Within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel, you can find a wealth of attractions. Just a block from our New York City hotel is Times Square and Broadway theatres. Other well known New York attractions such as the Empire State Building, Broadway and Central Park are within a few blocks of our hotel in Manhattan. Located near 42nd Street, our hotel is close to the main subway lines so you can get around the city easily. For the business traveler, there are many major New York business attractions located near our hotel in New York City. Major headquarters including Merrill Lynch, Legg Mason and Ernst & Young are all within walking distance of our New York City accommodations. With our convenient Manhattan location, you can make it on time to all your New York City meetings. Consider starting your day with one of our famous cinnamon rolls from the hot breakfast bar. Additionally, you can stay connected throughout your entire stay at our New York City hotel with free high-speed Internet access. Book your New York City room reservations now at our Manhattan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing