We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Ranked #266 of 467 Hotels in New York City
stafford
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a week over new year. We had paid a bit more for a city view and I'm glad we did as we had a view of the empire state and the new Yorker hotel, and we could also see the river.
The hotel room was very comfortable, the bed was huge! The room was actually bigger than I was expecting from the reviews I had read, and was plenty big enough for two of us. The room had air con and very quickly heated the room, although it was a bit noisy when on at night. The bathroom was also spacious and the whole room very clean. The house keeping came every day and did a great job. The lifts worked well, and although the hotel was full, we only waited a few minutes if at all, with the exception of one morning when one of the lifts broke, but the staff took over and got us all up and down much quicker.
The breakfast room was small and very busy. The best thing to do is get up just a bit earlier. It got busy about 8.20 onwards so just get there about 8 and you should beat the queues. You can also take it back to your room, but if it's busy, you will have a bit of a wait at the lifts as other people will have the same idea.
Breakfast was a great positive to this hotel. Not only did it come included in the price but there was loads of choice, in fact one of the best breakfasts in all the hotels I have stopped in. There was yogurts, fruit,pancakes, juice, tea, coffe, bacon, sausage, muffins, bread, bagels, omelettes and more so something for everyone.
The lobby has two computers and a free printer, and everyday there was to apple cider and tea and coffee that you could help yourself to - perfect after a day out in freezing new York!
The staff were super friendly and helpful. Reception staff provided us with take out menus and their recommendations - we'd highly recommend the pizza place and Chinese they have menus for - very very cheap and fast service straight to your room. Also they had someone to advise you and help you book tours and theatre tickets.
The hotel's location was ideal. It was five mins to times square, five mins to 34th street with macy's and Madison square garden and if you wanted to walk to central park, about half an hour. We found that we could walk to the majority of the tourist attractions.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kitkat_chunky6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Dear kitkat_chunky6,

Thanks to you and your partner for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to NYC! We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your stay and hope you both had a memorable experience. We really enjoyed reading your comments and are delighted to see we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. We hope to be your hotel of choicer for future lodging needs. Thanks again for staying with us and we wish you safe travels and a Happy New Year!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    887
    331
    77
    56
See reviews for
670
565
96
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

This hotel is ideally located for Times Square, Central Park, Fifth Avenue shopping etc.

On arrival was a little dissapointed with small reception area and our room was not ready for over an hour, so we were not sure what to expect from our room. However, we were pleasantly surprised. The room while not large was big enough and very clean. It suited our needs perfectly.

The complimentary breakfast was good and saved us a lot of money. Go down early though as it gets very busy and is part of the reception area.

Overall, we were more than happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: Try the deli across the road. Great pizzas and sandwiches
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank csilvlewls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hotel! We really appreciate your kind feedback and hope you had a wonderful time here in NYC. We apologize for failing to meet your expectations with our reception area and for the delayed check in. Although we cannot change the size of our building, we definitely strive for continued improvement with our check in process. We sincerely appreciate your patience and understanding. We hope to be your hotel of choice for future visits to NYC and wish you safe travels and a Happy New Year!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Like a lot of people I only feel compelled to write a review if something is (usually) very bad and occasionally very good. I was so impressed with this hotel that this definitely falls in to the catagory of the latter.
I'll start with my on slight point of any negativity in that this is actually isn't on Times Square. I know New York pretty well from previous trips so knew exactly where I was staying but to first time visitors I guess you could be a little disppointed if you were expecting to be bang in the middle of it. Having said that, it's less than a 5 minute walk so i'm not going to mark this down on that basis, particularly as it says as much on their website.
That aside I couldn't pick a single fault. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful from the moment we checked in to the moment we needed to leave our bags somewhere on check out and have a taxi arranged to the airport.
The only other time we encountered staff was at breakfast and again they were friendly and helpful. Although we didn't come across the cleaners, the room was perfectly clean throughout our stay and the towels sheets etc changed before we got back in the afternoon each day.
The main reason for writing this is that i'd read reviews before travelling and there seemed to be some negativity around the queues etc for breakfast and for the lifts. The hotel was busy during our stay as it was full of runners for the marathon (like me). We never waited more than 30 seconds for a lift (which are very quick!), nor did we have any issues getting seated or queueing for breakfast. The hotel even provided trays for people to take breakfast back to their rooms if they wished which I noticed a lot of people were doing. I would say from reading previous reviews that this was a slight concern of ours before arrival but if like me this has put you off in any way, don't let it. It's really not that bad unless you are terminally impatient and/or expect 7 star service from an affordable hotel.
I'm going to NY again in November to give the marathon another go and I have already booked the HI Express Times Square again. I've stayed in many other NY midtown hotels but would never look past this one again from now on.

Room Tip: Didn't specify a room but heard you can get 'city views' for an additional fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisDearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear Mr. Dearing,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! We really enjoyed reading your review and are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope your visit encouraged you to choose our property for future trips to NYC as we would be honored to be your hotel of choice. Thank you again for your kind feedback and we look forward to having you as our guest again. We wish you safe travels and a Happy New Year!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

Stayed with my adult daughter and one of her college friends. Room was extremely small but all we did was sleep there. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Concierge was very good too. Very close to Times Square, Bryant park and subway entry. If you are there for a few days use a pass and take the subway to the more distant attractions. (Statue and Ellis are still closed). Overall a good place to stay

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biotea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear biotea,

Thank you all for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Times Square for your recent trip to NYC! We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your stay and share your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. We hope you all had a fantastic and memorable experience and were encouraged to visit again. We would love to have you as our guest again and look forward to your return. Thanks again for the kind words and we wish you safe travels and a Happy New Year!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed here with our kids and grandkids the week after Thanksgiving. We had no problems with the elevators, sometimes a short wait, but no longer than in other hotels. The staff was great. Check-in and out was a breeze. We had asked for two rooms with two beds and were on different floors for the first night. They called us early the next morning to say that one of us was being moved to the same floor. Remember that there are only two rooms on each floor with two beds and only six rooms on each floor. Ask for a room on a floor where there is no vending and ice machine, maybe one of two floors away. Rooms are small, but very clean and decor was great. Breakfast could be crowded, but you can take a tray to your room. The computers were crowded and don't know how you would do it, but there needs to be some way to "encourage" other guests to limit their time on the computers, this is a problem on almost all hotel computers, not a fault of the hotel. Location was great. Walk to the corner, either way for a cab as you can get caught in traffic if you grab one right in front of the hotel. Again, the staff was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grammy&grumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Dear grammy&grumpy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are excited to see you enjoyed your stay and time here in NYC. We’re sure your comments will benefit future guests, so we truly appreciate your feedback. We hope you and your family were able to take home some happy memories and that you were encouraged to stay with us again. Thanks again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Times Square and we wish you a safe and Happy New Year!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

My brother and I just checked in to this hotel and couldn't be happier. The staff were courteous and happy to accommodate a bed change request, the front manager assisted us with our baggage and the travel guide at the front desk was warm too.

The room although small as to be expected in NY, was perfectly clean with ample stock.

The location is great for a first timer to NYC, as nothing is too far away. The rooms also include excellent hi speed Internet for free which is rare.

If you're looking for great accommodation at a very reasonable price, I highly recommend Holiday Inn Express at Times Square.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissyc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Dear Chrissyc24,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to NYC! We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our location and amenities. We are honored by your recommendation and hope other travelers will benefit from your comments. Thanks again for sharing your feedback with us and we would be delighted to have you as our guest again in the future. Safe travels and a Happy New Year!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed there at the start of december for a week. found the hotel to be clean and the staff very helpful.
People have said about the lifts being slow, we thought they were ok. there was the odd time we had to wait but the wait was no longer then 2 minutes anyways.
Breakfest was good for being included in your say, if you get there between 7-730 you will always get a table and there is ample food to keep everyone happy.
the hotel is only 2 blocks walk to times square and a 10 minute walk to maceys and maddision square garden.
most days we were out of the room at 8 and didnt get back to 4 out exploreing nyc, we found most places you can walk to, and why not walk it keeps you warm in winter and you get to see a lot more then you do i a cab.
eat at dallas texas bbq around the cornor from the hotel, cheap and massive plates of food and good food
if you need a car to get back to the airport book it with the front counter staff not at the customer desk it will be cheaper with the counter staff.
Ice machine is on the 17th floor and very noisy, 1 would think its better placed on the round level ner the dinning room.
overall it was a nice clean hotl, friendly staff in a greaqt location, i would stay here angaina dn reccommand it to my friends or anyone visting NYC

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2oztravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We truly appreciate you choosing our hotel for your recent trip to NYC! We hope you had a lovely time here and were able to take home some happy memories. We are honored that you took the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community and that you thought highly enough of us to write such a generous review. We sincerely hope to have you stay with us again for future visits to New York. Until next time, we wish you the absolute best in your travels and a Happy New Year!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#190 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#168 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#209 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,394 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#332 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Address: 343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#169 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#207 Business Hotel in New York City
#234 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City hotel offers location close to Times Square. Located in the middle of Manhattan, the Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square offers comfortable accommodations near New York s biggest attractions. With LaGuardia (LGA) and JFK International (JFK) both less than 15 minutes away, you'll find it easy getting to and from your destinations. Within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel, you can find a wealth of attractions. Just a block from our New York City hotel is Times Square and Broadway theatres. Other well known New York attractions such as the Empire State Building, Broadway and Central Park are within a few blocks of our hotel in Manhattan. Located near 42nd Street, our hotel is close to the main subway lines so you can get around the city easily. For the business traveler, there are many major New York business attractions located near our hotel in New York City. Major headquarters including Merrill Lynch, Legg Mason and Ernst & Young are all within walking distance of our New York City accommodations. With our convenient Manhattan location, you can make it on time to all your New York City meetings. Consider starting your day with one of our famous cinnamon rolls from the hot breakfast bar. Additionally, you can stay connected throughout your entire stay at our New York City hotel with free high-speed Internet access. Book your New York City room reservations now at our Manhattan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing