We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast was Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Ranked #291 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Lovely reception people and the hotel room was just fine for me and my mum. Would recommend and happily go back, only downside was that there were only 2 lifts which sometimes we waited to get up to our room but otherwise all rounder fab stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiseW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear LiseW5,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay and thank you for choosing our location over the numerous others here in NYC. It would be a pleasure to have you both stay with us again and we look forward to your return. Thanks again for being our guests and we wish you the best in your travels and Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

824 - 830 of 2,198 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here for a week with my sister, on the 33rd floor. Although the rooms are a little small they are comfortable and clean. Breakfast is very good with a wide choice of food although it can get busy after 7am so it's best to be early. We've had no problems waiting for the lift. It's only a short walk to Times Square and the nearest subway. Staff are also extremely helpful, especially Alex and Jose.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Amanda G,

Thanks so much for the kind feedback! We truly appreciate you choosing our hotel for your accommodation needs. We are delighted to see you enjoyed yourselves and that you found our location convenient for your activities. We would be honored to be your hotel of choice for future visits to New York and look forward to your return. Happy travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed with my boyfriend at the hotel and it was great! The view is fantastic, we could see the Empire state from our room! Room was clean and the breakfast was really good.
Jaime at the Front Desk was great, he recommended a really good argentinian restaurant!
Love the hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauritaTelias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Laurita Telias,

Thanks so much for the great review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and hope you had a great time here in New York! Thank you for mentioning our staff and we’re glad to see you enjoyed the recommendation. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future and look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Location is awesome! Rooms could have been slightly bigger however being on 39th street you can't really complain about that!

Staff is courteous and the property is clean. Only added service I would have liked was storing the luggage for more than a day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pratyush K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Pratyush K,

Thanks so much for the kind review! We really appreciate you choosing our hotel for your accommodation needs. It’s great to see you enjoyed our location and amenities and were able to relax and be yourself. We hope to have you stay with us again next time you’re in New York and look forward to your return. Safe travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Perspective. When you are visiting NYC you need to keep in perspective what is important. This hotel is a block away from the Port Authority, a major transportation hub for the city, buses, subway, taxis you name it. It is also close to major attractions. Plus a hotel in NYC is a place to sleep and shower, your there for the action outside of your hotel. Ok, we were on the 35th floor with a city view and it was great. The rooms are clean and comfortable and perfectly suitable for two, but the rooms are small. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast area was small and we never used it. The staff stored our luggage in a secured room for many hours. I enjoyed our time there, just remember the room is small, but most things in NYC are. Have fun!

Room Tip: Get a high room with the city view. Remember the rooms are small but most in the city are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieE610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear DebbieE610,

Thanks for the great feedback! We truly appreciate you choosing our hotel for your accommodation needs and are happy to see you enjoyed your time here in NYC. We’re happy to see you enjoyed our location and that you were able to find so many positives where others may see negatives. We hope to be your hotel of choice for future visits to New York and look forward to your return. Thanks again for being our guest and we wish you the best in your travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express near Times Square recently on a trip to New York City for my birthday.

The location of the hotel is a couple of streets away from Times Square (5-10 minute walk) and so a good but not great location. We took the air train from Newark airport which takes you into Penn Station NYC, and from there the hotel is a 5-10 minute walk uptown (we printed a map off beforehand and it was easy enough to follow).

The hotel itself was clean and welcoming, but could do with some refurbishment. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was nice and clean but the decor could do with updating a little. Other than that the inclusive breakfast was excellent (good selection and tasty), the wifi was fast, there were complimentary computers and printers in the lobby and hot chocolate provided for guests every afternoon. The hotel also helped my partner to arrange for a cake and chocolates to be delivered to our room on the morning of my birthday, which was a lovely surprise! Our room was on the 35th floor and so we had a fantastic view of the empire state building and New Yorker hotel - well worth the extra money for a 'room with a city view'! The room had a safe, flat screen television, toiletries in the bathroom and plenty of storage. There was plenty of storage in the room for two people and enough room to walk around too (esp for a Manhattan hotel!).

We only waited for a lift once during our stay and they were very quick in taking us from our floor to the lobby. The staff were all friendly and helpful, and were accommodating when we needed information on the subway and booking a taxi back to the train station on our way home.

I would definitely stay with the Holiday Inn Express again, either on return to New York City or an alternative destination.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are worth the extra money! We were on a floor with an ice machine and did not hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Jenny S,

Thank you for staying with us and a happy belated Birthday to you! We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay and had a memorable experience during this special occasion. It’s nice to see you enjoyed our amenities and found our location convenient for your activities as well. We’d be honored to be your hotel of choice for future visits to New York and look forward to your return. Thanks for the generous feedback and we wish you happy travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This hotel is situated in a great postition we were staying on the 18th floor and heard very little noise from outside and inside from the lifts. The room was small but spotlessly clean you really couldnt fault anything - if all you are after is a base to explore. The staff were helpful although the hotel ws always busy with people coming and going. Breakfast was alot better than we expected, yes it is busy but the choice was good from fruit, yogurts, pancakes and omlette and bacon it really did set us up for the day. I woud recommend this hotel great position, clean and great staff.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 18th floor 1806 view was ok but try the other side of the hotel for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaynor gumdrops... l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear gaynor gumdrops,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to share this great feedback! It’s great to see our location was convenient for your activities and that you enjoyed our amenities. We would be delighted to have you stay with us again in the future and look forward to your return. Thanks again for your comments and we wish you safe travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#262 of 470 in New York City
2,078 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#201 of 470 in New York City
1,212 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#190 of 470 in New York City
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#253 of 470 in New York City
2,496 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#237 of 470 in New York City
1,889 reviews
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#309 of 470 in New York City
4,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Address: 343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#202 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £93 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City hotel offers location close to Times Square. Located in the middle of Manhattan, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square offers comfortable accommodations near New York s biggest attractions. With LaGuardia (LGA) and JFK International (JFK) both less than 15 minutes away, you'll find it easy getting to and from your destinations. Within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel, you can find a wealth of attractions. Just a block from our New York City hotel is Times Square and Broadway theatres. Other well known New York attractions such as the Empire State Building, Broadway and Central Park are within a few blocks of our hotel in Manhattan. Located near 42nd Street, our hotel is close to the main subway lines so you can get around the city easily. For the business traveler, there are many major New York business attractions located near our hotel in New York City. Major headquarters including Merrill Lynch, Legg Mason and Ernst & Young are all within walking distance of our New York City accommodations. With our convenient Manhattan location, you can make it on time to all your New York City meetings. Consider starting your day with one of our famous cinnamon rolls from the hot breakfast bar. Additionally, you can stay connected throughout your entire stay at our New York City hotel with free high-speed Internet access. Book your New York City room reservations now at our Manhattan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing