We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location, rooms are smaller than they seem.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Ranked #292 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I was a little disappointed with the size of my room. 2 Queen beds, but there is not much space in the room. A little expensive I find. But the location is great! Times square is less than a 5 min walk away and so is the Subway. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was the same every morning, so I got fed up with it seeing how we stayed there a whole week. They don't actually have a gym, laundry or pool in that same hotel like it says in the description. You have to use the one of the hotel next door. So I'm giving this hotel a rating of average. They can do better :)

Room Tip: Don't stay on the floors with the ice and vending machines, I did. People of other floors consta...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTravelYogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Mandy D,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to New York City! I’m pleased to hear that you took advantage of our great location and that you found The Holiday Inn Express Time Square to be an overall great stay. However, I’m disappointed to hear that you were dissatisfied with the room size. I apologize for the inconvenience. In an increasingly competitive industry, we do realize that there are many choices. Thus we continuously strive to deliver exceptional service while maintaining a great product that the Holiday Inn Express Brand is so well renowned for.

Thank you for you staying with us and we certainly do look forward to your next visit!

Best Regards,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,150)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

777 - 783 of 2,150 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

Having made our reservation with points from the Priority Club, I must say that I would not have paid the regular price for a king size room in this hotel. The rooms were tiny, but clean, the breakfast was adequate, we did not eat the fake omelets but the cinnamon buns were delicious. We did appreciate the location which was excellent, we were near every attraction and the personnel was attentive. We could recommend this hotel, if you do not plan to spend a lot of time in your room, but the breakfast is a real miss; the entrance and amenities could be refreshed.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Toogreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Toogreat,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the breakfast during your recent stay with us. Based upon your feedback, I would like to have the opportunity to further discuss in detail how the hotel can enhance the breakfast selection with new items.

Please contact me directly (warren.herrera@hhmlp.com) the next time your travel needs brings you back to the New York City. This will enable me to personally ensure your next stay with us, is nothing short of spectacular.

Best Regards,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The staff was really amazing. They really try to help you with anything and answer the questions. The hotel is very close to times squares and broadway, for the price it is really good. Breakfast wS crowded but very good. The rooms are small but clean. As i said for the price you are paying comperassing to other hotel around it is a great place stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristina t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Kristina t,

I want to thank you for writing such a charming review of our staff and our property. We take great pride in what we do here and it's great to see that you had such a lovely time staying with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Just spent a fabulous four nights at this hotel. Would recommend to all. Staff were excellent, rooms are not that small as I have read in previous posts, adequate for all your needs whilst staying in New York. Ideal location just a few blocks away from all the hustle and bustle of Times Square.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Jackie G,

Wow, what a fantastic review of our hotel! We greatly appreciate your kind words regarding the "Excellent Service" received. Please feel to contact me directly at warren.herrera@hhmlp.com to further discuss any associates you felt exemplified superior service. Thank you and we hope to welcome you back the next time you are in the New York City Area!

Best Regards,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights at the beginning if December. I was in New York for Christmas shopping & sightseeing having never been before.
The hotel is in an excellent location for Times Square & the bus station & apart from a couple of subway rides we walked everywhere.
The breakfast was free & although it could get busy in the dining room we always managed to get a seat. There was a good choice available. Our room was comfortable & always kept spotlessly clean with clean towels each day. Free tea & coffee was available at all times in the lobby.
All the staff were friendly & helpful. I would recommend this hotel & when I go back to NYC I would look to stay here again.
Reviews I had read before I went complained about the elevators, there were times you had to wait, it was a busy hotel but please don't let this small thing put you off.
Overall I had an amazing trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KARENTkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear KARENTkent,

Thank your review of our hotel and the kind words of our facilities and staff members. We genuinely appreciate you sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor Community and hope to welcome you back our hotel soon!

Best Regards

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Excellent location, very good price with wireless and breakfast included, friendly staff , clean .

This hotel has everything you want and more in NYC, do not doubt to book in this hotel is the best option you can get.

Room Tip: Very good size of the room for a new Yorker hotel. Lots of restaurants near and just few blocks from...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoMarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear JoMarre,

Thank you for your great review of our hotel and team members! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit & hope to welcome you back soon!

Best Regards,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

My family and I have just spent 3 nights at this hotel. It was great! Breakfast was amazing with lots of variety! There was coffee, tea and hot chocolate with cookies available all the time! We had 4 adults in one room which was fantastic. The rooms were a good size.
The location of the hotel was excellent. Times Square right on your doorstep.
I would recommend this hotel to you all!

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank HEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear HEagle,

We truly appreciate you choosing our hotel for your accommodation needs and for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback with us! We are so happy to see you and your family enjoyed your stay and time here in New York. It would be our pleasure to have you as our guests again and look forward to your return. Thanks again for the great review and we wish you safe travels and Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#189 of 468 in New York City
644 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#230 of 468 in New York City
1,864 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#192 of 468 in New York City
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#248 of 468 in New York City
2,430 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#261 of 468 in New York City
2,025 reviews
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#295 of 468 in New York City
4,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Address: 343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#202 Business Hotel in New York City
#228 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £148 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City hotel offers location close to Times Square. Located in the middle of Manhattan, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square offers comfortable accommodations near New York s biggest attractions. With LaGuardia (LGA) and JFK International (JFK) both less than 15 minutes away, you'll find it easy getting to and from your destinations. Within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel, you can find a wealth of attractions. Just a block from our New York City hotel is Times Square and Broadway theatres. Other well known New York attractions such as the Empire State Building, Broadway and Central Park are within a few blocks of our hotel in Manhattan. Located near 42nd Street, our hotel is close to the main subway lines so you can get around the city easily. For the business traveler, there are many major New York business attractions located near our hotel in New York City. Major headquarters including Merrill Lynch, Legg Mason and Ernst & Young are all within walking distance of our New York City accommodations. With our convenient Manhattan location, you can make it on time to all your New York City meetings. Consider starting your day with one of our famous cinnamon rolls from the hot breakfast bar. Additionally, you can stay connected throughout your entire stay at our New York City hotel with free high-speed Internet access. Book your New York City room reservations now at our Manhattan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing