We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but almost perfectly formed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Ranked #292 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed just for one night at the end of a recent business trip to USA.
Paid USD 20 extra for a city view and wow it was well worth it to be 36 floors up - what a view.
Slightly strange as there just a handful of rooms on each floor, but all was OK.
Room not the biggest but had all I needed. Might be a squash for two of you, especially if you were staying for a longer time.
Concierge VERY helpful - French guy I think - sorry name forgotten :(
Perfect central location - just a stone's throw from Times Square - but quiet too.
Breakfast typical Express style - not outstanding but tasty enough and plenty of choice.
Pretty sure that I will be back!

Room Tip: Go for the extra for the city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillers54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share some of your thoughts about your stay with us. If you are ever back in the area we look forward to serving you again in the future!

Frank Cortese,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 738 of 2,174 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

My friend and I were in NYC for a half marathon in Central Park. We have done destination trips like this before and used HIE hotels in the past. We got a great rate for NYC and the overall stay gave us not one thing to complain about. Compared to some rooms I saw in pictures of other hotels in the city, I was very pleased with size. Our bed was comfy, the bathroom was clean, it was quiet at the location - yet a short walk from Hell's Kitchen & Times Square. Great proximity to Penn Station. I thought the breakfast offered so much - I'm not sure why anyone would complain about "free" there! The staff was very friendly. Loved the check-in clerk's name - Juicy! We were lucky and never had to wait for the elevator, and I can see that if a large group was going to meet downstairs at a certain time, a wait could occur, but that is just timing. I would certainly stay here again, and will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorijp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Good Day lorijp11,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from The Holiday Inn Express Times Square on Trip Advisor, I am sure other travelers will appreciate it as well. I am pleased to know that the location of the hotel and the service you received from our colleagues met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Frank Cortese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Thank you for a fantastic stay. Breakfast was great, rooms were spacious and tidy. Hotel staff were extremely helpful and courteous always with a smile on their face.
Great location on 8th and 39th, ideal for Port Authority terminal and a stone throw from Times Square etc.
Would highly recommend. Great place to stay in The Big Apple

Room Tip: High gets better view but every building in NYC is huge!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Good Day Snixx,

I want to thank you for writing such a charming review of our staff and our property. We take great pride in what we do here and it's great to see that you had such a lovely time staying with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Frank Cortese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Very comfortable hotel just two blocks from Times Square. Rooms very clean and staff friendly. We had a room with two double beds and it was big enough for us. However, if four of you stayed there is limited space for luggage etc. Breakfast was great with plenty of choice, but limited seating, although we did not have a problem any morning finding somewhere to sit, even if we had to wait a minute or two. Would certainly have no problem in booking to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jendan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Good Day Jendan2013,

Thanks so much for the great review! We truly appreciate you choosing our location over the numerous others here in NYC and hope you had a memorable experience. We are humbled by your recommendation and hope to have you stay with us again soon. Thanks again for the generous feedback and we wish you Safe Travels.

Frank Cortese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

It's New York so we expected small rooms. The hotel was clean and the staff was courteous. The location was good for accessing all the things we wanted to see. Our only complaint was that the breakfast area is too small and it was often elbow to elbow and a lot of "pardon me" trying to get to a table but again, it's New York, there's only so much you can do with limited space.
A word of caution though.
When leaving we were offered to take car that was on hand or have a taxi called. Staff said the taxi would cost $46 plus tolls and tip or the car that was already there would be a flat $54 with tolls and tip included. We agreed to the the car as it seemed like a better deal and it was there ready to go. The taxi ride from LaGuardia to the hotel was $46 including toll and generous tip. The car we took was pulled over for speeding through a tunnel and the driver went 30 min. out of the way to avoid the toll. What should have been a 15 min trip wound up being 45 min and more expensive than a taxi.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Good Day Lynn H,

We truly appreciate you choosing our hotel for your accommodation needs. Thank you for sharing your feedback with other travelers. It was a delight having you stay with us. I have communicated with the car service company in regards to the matter of the driver and we will investigate the matter further to avoid this from reoccurring. Please come back and visit us again next time you’re in New York as we’d love to have you as our guest again.

Yours in Hospitality,

Frank Cortese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night and it was just perfect for one night in the city. The hotel is perfectly located midtown, minutes away from Times Square and Port Authority is right across the road. The rooms are spacious enough and the King size bed huge and very comfortable. Great place to stay while in the Big Apple!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Good Day Steve R,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for writing such a great review of our hotel! We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay and your time here in NYC! It’s great to see that our location was convenient for all of your activities too. Thank you for recommending us to other travelers and we sincerely hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Yours in Hospitality,

Frank Cortese
General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

we've been visiting NY for the first time and we choosed this hotel in april 2014.the locatin was perfect,breakfast and hospitality was great.the staff were friendly and helpfull.the lady in front desk explain everything about how visiting NY.We used hop on-hop off which start tow blocks rom hotel.the room was good,we had six suitcase that with no problem itted in the room.clean bed and bathroom.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shabnamdaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear Shabnamdaria,

Wow! Thank you for this fantastic review. I am happy to know that you enjoyed the Breakfast, atmosphere, view from your room and the warm and engaging service from our colleagues. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Holiday Inn Express Time Square.

Best Regards,

Frank Cortese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#199 of 469 in New York City
673 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#231 of 469 in New York City
1,875 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#201 of 469 in New York City
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#260 of 469 in New York City
2,045 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#251 of 469 in New York City
2,455 reviews
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#301 of 469 in New York City
4,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Address: 343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#202 Business Hotel in New York City
#228 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £108 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City hotel offers location close to Times Square. Located in the middle of Manhattan, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square offers comfortable accommodations near New York s biggest attractions. With LaGuardia (LGA) and JFK International (JFK) both less than 15 minutes away, you'll find it easy getting to and from your destinations. Within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel, you can find a wealth of attractions. Just a block from our New York City hotel is Times Square and Broadway theatres. Other well known New York attractions such as the Empire State Building, Broadway and Central Park are within a few blocks of our hotel in Manhattan. Located near 42nd Street, our hotel is close to the main subway lines so you can get around the city easily. For the business traveler, there are many major New York business attractions located near our hotel in New York City. Major headquarters including Merrill Lynch, Legg Mason and Ernst & Young are all within walking distance of our New York City accommodations. With our convenient Manhattan location, you can make it on time to all your New York City meetings. Consider starting your day with one of our famous cinnamon rolls from the hot breakfast bar. Additionally, you can stay connected throughout your entire stay at our New York City hotel with free high-speed Internet access. Book your New York City room reservations now at our Manhattan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing