We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant time at Holiday Inn Express Times Square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Ranked #286 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant time at Holiday Inn Express Times Square”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Had a brilliant stay, location ideal for seeing sights. Hotel and room very clean and tidy, kept clean every day and all consumables replaced every day. The breakfast selection was also very good and enjoyable. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definately stay their again.

Room Tip: We requested a room near the ground floor and were allocated a room on floor 2 which was brilliant a...
See more room tips
Green Features: The notices regarding using less towels etc and the provision of a number of recycling bins in the rooms is very good. Also the use of plastic recyclable plates cups and cutlery is also very good.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Graham N,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. On behalf of the entire Holiday Inn Express team we appreciate your business and loyalty, for we know there are many competitive hotels in NYC. I am glad to hear that my staff did a great job in making your stay pleasant. We are most definitely looking forward in welcoming you back, for your next visit to NYC.

Warm regards,

Frank Cortese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    904
    344
    80
    60
See reviews for
687
577
98
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed there for three nights. The rooms were stuffy. My room's bathroom appeared very smelly through out the stay, as looked like house keeping did not do their job. The air conditioning system was also not working well. After complaining to the Supervisor, she apologized and expressed her concerns. The nice part of the hotel stay was complimentary breakfast both hot and cold. The location was fabulous, as walking distance to the Times Square and main theatre district. Overall I would not recommend this hotel since there are lot other hotels are in the same area with better options.

Room Tip: If you notice any of the above complaint please contact the front desk immediately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jafferany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Jafferany,

Thank you for your sincere feedback in your most recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Times Square. I lament to hear that you did not find our rooms to your expectations. I have brought this to the attention of the housekeeping department so they are aware how our room’s cleanliness can leave a negative impact. I also informed engineering about your deficiencies with our ac unit. I am glad to know that our supervisor on duty was aware and offered our sincere apologies. We hope you can give a second opportunity in the future.

Best regards,

Frank Cortese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights during September. The room was very small, it was rather tight with 3 of us, two double beds and 3 suitcases. But hey your only in the room to sleep right?! The location was PERFECT right around the corner from Times square but far away enough to not be kept awake at night. Breakfast was included in the price of our room which saved us a lot of time in the morning, the only down side to this was the room you get your breakfast was so tiny, it has around 20 tables in and the hotel holds around 200 guests so you either get there very early for breakfast or eat in your room. The wifi was supposed to be free but we couldn't get it to work in our room for some reason. Overall it was a good stay, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Mia D,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. I am glad to hear that our location was perfect for your visit to NYC. I am sorry to hear you experienced some difficulties with the WI-FI. We had a technician restart our routuer so this will not occur to other guests. I am glad you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and that you will stay with us again in the future.

Warm regards,

Frank Cortese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Got this hotel for my recent travel to NY as there was no other hotel in the area available. Rooms are small but have comfortable beds and pillows. Staff are friendly at reception.
During the peak time too much crowd at reception and there is hardly any space to stand, lift is a bit too slow and wait is too long at times and is noisy.
Breakfast is included in the tariff and is very basic like some cereals, milk, coffee etc and there is no other room service available. There are hardly any other good eating place in the area so best is to either eat and come to room or bring your take away with you if you do not want to step out for meals
Within walking distance from Times Square so location is the only advantage of this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank langleykap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Langleykap,

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to know that you found our hotel in a great location and our bed to be comfortable. I do apologize you found our reception to be crowded at times. We do have large groups staying with us from time to time, therefore that can delay the elevator services. I am glad that our reception staff were friendly. We hope to welcome you back should you visit Time Square again.

Best regards,

Frank Cortese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

No idea what the hotel is like as they cancelled our booking while we were in the air from the UK. Staff were rude, manager was non existent. Go to THE STAYBRIDGE around the corner instead, their staff are polite, helpful and classy and the hotel is amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shona908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Shona908,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your reservation was canceled. Our hotel policy is to guarantee payment prior to arrival. I have brought this to our front office staff to contact our guest via email or telephone before canceling a reservation. I am glad that you found The Stay Bridge to your likings. I hope you can give us a second opportunity in the future and please free to contact me directly should you reconsider. Once again I offer my sincere apologies for your booking cancelation.

Sincerely yours,

Frank Cortese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed NYC during the cold month of January.

The AC was quite noisy whereas in the bathroom it was very cold. The room is clean though.

The location is convenient with few restaurants and convenient stores very near.

I would expect more for the breakfast as it was difficult to get a seat and the food was average. We ended up having breakfast outside.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niniiiiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Niniiiiiii,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share some of your thoughts about your stay with us. However, I’m disappointed to hear that they were issues experienced with your room. I apologize for the inconvenience. In an increasingly competitive industry, we do realize that there are many choices. Thus we continuously strive to deliver exceptional service while maintaining a great product that the Holiday Inn Express Brand is so well renowned for. I will share your review with our executive committee to find solutions to the problems reported. The next time your travel needs brings you back to the New York City, please reach out to us, this will enable us to personally ensure your next stay with us, is nothing short of spectacular.

Yours in Hospitality,

Frank Cortese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed for 5 nights at the end of April. The hotel was a short walk from the Port Authority Bus Station; we used the bus service to and from Newark. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially in the breakfast room where nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed peaceful and uninterrupted sleep.
The breakfast area is quite small and is busy at peak times. Try to be down before 8 am.
The concierge desk was available to book trips, taxis, etc.
Free WiFi in the room is a big plus.
A perfect base for exploring NYC. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ice machines on some floors (8, 17, etc), could be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
Green Features: Standard Holiday Inns policy. Towels and bed linen are changed when requested.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theCrossens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear theCrossens,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel. I am very pleased that you liked our location! It is very simple to get around all of New York from the Times Square area. Our delicious complimentary breakfast is popular therefore I agree being there a little earlier will help. Thank you again for taking the time to write this review, and I hope that when you return to New York, that you will choose to stay with us!

Sincerely,

Frank Cortese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#200 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#176 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#212 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#237 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,326 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#129 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,502 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Address: 343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#168 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#206 Business Hotel in New York City
#233 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City hotel offers location close to Times Square. Located in the middle of Manhattan, the Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square offers comfortable accommodations near New York s biggest attractions. With LaGuardia (LGA) and JFK International (JFK) both less than 15 minutes away, you'll find it easy getting to and from your destinations. Within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel, you can find a wealth of attractions. Just a block from our New York City hotel is Times Square and Broadway theatres. Other well known New York attractions such as the Empire State Building, Broadway and Central Park are within a few blocks of our hotel in Manhattan. Located near 42nd Street, our hotel is close to the main subway lines so you can get around the city easily. For the business traveler, there are many major New York business attractions located near our hotel in New York City. Major headquarters including Merrill Lynch, Legg Mason and Ernst & Young are all within walking distance of our New York City accommodations. With our convenient Manhattan location, you can make it on time to all your New York City meetings. Consider starting your day with one of our famous cinnamon rolls from the hot breakfast bar. Additionally, you can stay connected throughout your entire stay at our New York City hotel with free high-speed Internet access. Book your New York City room reservations now at our Manhattan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, IHG, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing