We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Switched hotels after the first night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Ranked #276 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Woodbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Switched hotels after the first night”
Reviewed 4 October 2010

When they say it's located IN times square, this is a LIE. It is a few blocks from "the" times square and is extremely small. The front desk is rude, we called for a travel kit (as the sign in the bathroom said if we needed it to call) and they did not give it to us. We waited about 45 minutes after calling about 6 times and still didn't receive it. The "lobby" is literally the size of my bedroom and the rooms aren't any better. They are very very small, can barely fit your luggage. We ended up taking the stairs most times cause the elevator was always full or taking way too long. After the first night we immediately changed to the Renaissance actually located IN times square, and had a VERY enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniella95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locazlocaz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
Dear Guest,

I am very dissapointed that you did not enjoy your stay with and departed after only one night. I would like to apologize that you felt that our staff did not deliver excellent guest service. We normally pride ourselves on our excellent guest service.

You mentioned that Holiday Inn named us the Holiday Inn Express Times Square. It's certainly true that we are not in the heart of Times Square. We were named that because we are in the Times Square area. I apologize our location didn't meet your expectation.

I am sorry that the physical structure of the hotel was not what you were looking for; we can not compare with the 4 star luxury Marriott Renaissance, but I am glad you enjoyed your stay there.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    894
    335
    78
    57
See reviews for
677
569
98
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cross Plains, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Rooms were typical NYC (smaller rooms than other cities), but were clean, comfortable and safe. Breakfast was included and typical of any Holiday Inn Express. Staff was accommodating and efficient. Enjoyed our time in NYC and location provided easy access to Time Square, the subway and many other landmarks. The elevator was a bit of nuisance, but reading the reviews prior to my trip I knew what to expect. Would not deter me from staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FanMan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Competent staff, very clean rooms, comfortable bed, reasonably priced and good, complimentary breakfast selection. Property is convenient to Times Square, subway and the "Hell's Kitchen Market," weekends, is just down the street.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 18thStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locazlocaz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 27 September 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tells us about your stay at our hotel. I am very glad that you liked our location and that you found it reasonably priced and very clean! Thank you. I am also pleased that you enjoyed our newly expanded Breakfast Bar.

i hope that you choose to stay with us when you return to New York.

Sincerely,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2010

The hotel is in a great location, only a few blocks from Time Square. It was very convenient. Going to Times Square and able to go back to the Hotel and drop of things or rest was very helpful. The hotel is surrounded by high end restaurants and some hidden local restaurants that serve delicious food. Wonderful Hot Breakfast and service. Service provided by the staff was great as well. The only downfall was the elevators. The elevators were slow at times.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fun26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locazlocaz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 14 September 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very pleased that you liked our newly improved Breakfast Bar. The new larger size, location, and additional items is making the breakfast experience much more enjoyable.

I am very glad that you like our location, and I hope that the next time that you are in New York that you will choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We stayed four nights in this hotel and overall was a very good experience.
Impressed with the cleanliness, the breakfast was better than expected - good choices for a healthy breakfast. Close to Times Square, a bit of a walk. Helpful front desk staff. We experienced no waits or problems with the elevators and we were on the 35th floor. The positives far outweighed the negatives for us. The ice machines were only on certain floors, ours being one so it was noisy in the middle of the night when people came to get ice at 3 in the morning. Rooms were a bit small but if you're just sleeping there, which we were, it was good. Air conditioner worked extremely well, the amenities in the bathroom were fine. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HB21212121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locazlocaz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 14 September 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I am very glad that you liked our newly expanded Breakfast Bar. We have added a second hot station so we can offer more choices as well as eliminate lines. I am very pleased that you enjoyed it.

I am also pleased that you had no wait times on our elevators. I know there are many negative comments on Trip Advisor in the past, but we hired a company that has been able to greatly increase the speed and efficiency of our elevators, and I am glad that their efforts have paid off.

Thank you again for reviewing us and I hope you choose to stay with us when you are back in New York City.

Sincerely,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Well... I liked the location, the hotel was walking distance from Times Square, Macy's, and most places around there. It was a 5 minute walk to most places. The rooms were small but did not care about that because I was out most of the time. Overall if your are in the city for shopping and sightseeing this hotel is fine given the location and value of rooms.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadeel-AM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locazlocaz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 30 August 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very pleased that you liked our location and found it easy to get to New York's major attractions. I look forward to meeting you during your next stay.

Sincerely,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Clean hotel, great service, and the breakfast was good. The only real negative was the super slow elevators and the fact that this hotel (and many others) abuse the Times Square monicker.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddyponix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locazlocaz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 30 August 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel. I am very pleased that you liked our Guest Service. Great service is extremely important to me. I am also pleased that you liked our new upgraded Breakfast Bar. Now with the new much larger Breakfast Bar, we are able to add twice as many selections. I am very pleased you enjoyed it.

I hope that the next time you are in New York you will choose to stay with us.

Sincerely,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#194 of 467 in New York City
512 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#172 of 467 in New York City
1,096 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#215 of 467 in New York City
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#235 of 467 in New York City
2,294 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#131 of 467 in New York City
5,451 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#275 of 467 in New York City
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Address: 343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#168 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#206 Business Hotel in New York City
#233 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City hotel offers location close to Times Square. Located in the middle of Manhattan, the Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square offers comfortable accommodations near New York s biggest attractions. With LaGuardia (LGA) and JFK International (JFK) both less than 15 minutes away, you'll find it easy getting to and from your destinations. Within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel, you can find a wealth of attractions. Just a block from our New York City hotel is Times Square and Broadway theatres. Other well known New York attractions such as the Empire State Building, Broadway and Central Park are within a few blocks of our hotel in Manhattan. Located near 42nd Street, our hotel is close to the main subway lines so you can get around the city easily. For the business traveler, there are many major New York business attractions located near our hotel in New York City. Major headquarters including Merrill Lynch, Legg Mason and Ernst & Young are all within walking distance of our New York City accommodations. With our convenient Manhattan location, you can make it on time to all your New York City meetings. Consider starting your day with one of our famous cinnamon rolls from the hot breakfast bar. Additionally, you can stay connected throughout your entire stay at our New York City hotel with free high-speed Internet access. Book your New York City room reservations now at our Manhattan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing