We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice!!”

Da Gennaro Restaurant
Ranked #753 of 13,548 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Little Italy
Ciudad Victoria, Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great choice!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We went for dinner, the place was almost full and I thought they wouldn't accomodate us cause he had a baby in a stroller, but they were so helpfull!! And the food was delicious and the restaurant is very pretty

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank denissegLz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    342
    132
    71
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabuloso”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The food is great.the women who greets u is the sweetest.nothing like good people.she talked with me for a half hour like I was her fsmily.the food was good old fashioned Italian food.went 3 times this week.august 20q4...will go back tomorrow again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank boxingbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nothing Compares”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Da Gennaro Restaurant was a random pick after walking down the street in Little Italy. Oh what a great choice it was. The cheese ravioli was to die for. The food melted in my mouth and the wonderful tastes stayed with me! I don't think I can ever eat at another Italian restaurant anywhere. In addition to the wonderful food, the service was outstanding! Our water glasses were refilled constantly, extra napkins appeared without asking and empty dishes were whisked away quickly. There were many people waiting not only on our table but every table around us. It was a wonderfully, quiet relaxing dinner. If in New York get to Da Gennaro's and enjoy the best meal you'll ever experience!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rose1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vineland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of the best in Little Italy”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Being an Italian American, I can tell you that most of the restaurants on Mulberry Street in Little Italy are authentic and it is hard to go wrong with a choice. But one thing that is difficult to do is to hold out for your best choice, especially on a weekend because as soon as you hit Canal St. and Mulberry St., you are greeted (almost accosted) by hosts and maitre d's enticing you to look at their menu or try their restaurant. It takes a lot of discipline to hold out and find just the right place. Da Gennaro's is reasonably priced (for NYC), the service is attentive, sidewalk tables are not crowded in, and best of all, the food is terrific. The topper is the friendliness of the staff. We were not too thrilled that the local street hosts have been getting more brazen, but our maitre d', David, was a hoot--entertaining, affable and funny.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Thanks to Tripadvisor”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I was in NYC this weekend. My mother, niece and I decided we wanted to eat in Little Italy, except I didn't know which restaurant we should choose. Based on Tripadvisor, we went to Da Gennaro's because of the positive reviews. The food and service did not disappoint. I had the lobster ravioli - delicious! Recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Da Gennaro Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Da Gennaro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing