We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New York in winter” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Ranked #323 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“New York in winter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Double tree suites by Hilton time square New York .This hotel is right in time square the security men at the entrance were fantastic,unfortuneatleythe reception on the third floor was too small and understaffed for the amount of guests .the rooms although a little dated were really nice.the staff were all very friendly and helpful would recommend this hotel particularly for families and it's central location.just arrived back after 5nights

Room Tip: For spectacular views of time square ask for upgrade to front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam S, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Ken P,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate for your feedback. Please visit us again on your next trip to New York City!

Warmly,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    598
    296
    139
    102
See reviews for
463
427
83
444
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I good property, satisfactory location. A little bit expensive. Our room was small with inadequate wardrobe and draw space. At times, elevation system (2) is very, very slow. Staff were very friendly and responsive.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank DPN_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam S, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Hello,

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you had with our elevators. Our Engineering team is constantly monitoring and conducting maintenance work on elevators to facilitate the overall flow of our guests during busy times at the hotel. We really hope to see you soon again on your next trip! Thank you very much!

Warmest Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

beds were excellent
a new elevator system would help
all employees were very friendly
we were satisfied on all fronts and would definitely use this
hotel or another location on our next trip
cookies are a nice touch

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam S, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Robert,

Thank you so much for the nice feedback on your stay with us! All departments at the hotel work as a team and make constant efforts to create welcoming and comfortable atmosphere to accommodate our guests in quality service. We hope to see you again in the future when you visit the city!

Warm Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Sorry to stay my visit to this Hilton property was not what I am used to at Hilton properties. The room was in need of a face lift. The bar was uninviting (except for the wonderful bartender).
The room service menu did not match the menu provided in the room so the staff was nice enough to check my order each morning.
Must say that the bed was comfortable!!
No lobby space to meet business folks.
The staff was fabulous and very attentive, they get major kudos for their professionalism while working in such a drab hotel surrounding.
Sorry, will not be recommending this Hilton property.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, ask fora room up high and in a corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1RigbyHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam S, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear RidbyHolly,

We really appreciate your honest feedback and apologize that our room quality did not meet your expectations. Hotel will continuously make efforts to renovate furniture and amenities in our guest rooms. We are indeed glad that you are happy with our staff members and hope to see you in the future when you visit NYC again! Have a wonderful week!

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Reception desk was very helpful and cordial. Breakfast staff was very friendly. Did not care for the location because neighborhood seemed to close down early. Room size for the price seemed high. Would not stay at this location because of the location and neighborhood.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Casandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam S, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Cassandra W,

Thank you so much for reviewing our property. Thank you for the great comment in regards to our staff. We do pride ourselves in the exceptional service we give to our guest. We are located just south of Times Square which is just 5-7 minutes walking. ...and it never closes! If you do find yourselves back in NYC, please give us a ring and we will make your stay a memorable one.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

The hotel is nice but small rooms and thin walls make it noisy. The staff was very nice. The hotel does not have parking so that is an issue. The lot across the street does not offer any deals for hotel guests. I paid $110 to park for 27 hours.....they did not disclose the higher rate until I went to pick up the car.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank David F G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam S, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
David,

Thank you so much for your review about our property. We are so delighted to hear that our staff made your stay outstanding. We do have special rates with parking garage and there may have been some breakdown in communication in regards to this. Please let us know in advance if you happened to stay with us again so that we can take a good care of you. Have a wonderful holiday and happy New Year!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a stay other than because is closer to Times Square and other attractions in NYC. The rooms at least the one that was given to us was very tiny with no space for anything without a closet for the suitcases nor a drawer for the clothes. In spite we booked this, 5 months or more in advance, we were given anything else but the room we asked for and I think the price paid for it was too much for what we got. If you're willing to cope with a reduced space in the room where you will feel confined or trapped that may be ok for you otherwise I would recommend try and get another hotel or a more spacious room and make sure when you arrive you get what you paid for the very first time and sold-out excuses shouldn't be allowed if you paid way in advance, and exchanging rooms after you are given a room, are pretty much difficult either because you're out all the time or because the time window they give you is too short for it. Besides of that, the staff was nice and friendly so no complains with them. It's just the room and the circumstances.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Marco Antonio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam S, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Marco,

We absolutely understand your frustration with our room sizes. Being located in New York City, the room sizes are the biggest concern at our property. However, we do have a great staff members trying the best to accommodate our guests with quality service. Please let us know in advance if you happened to stay with us again so that we can take a good care of you. Have a wonderful holiday and happy New Year!

Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Doubletree by Hilton New York Times Square West
Doubletree by Hilton New York Ti...
#391 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#169 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,594 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#319 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#355 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,239 reviews
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#315 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,869 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South

Property: Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Address: 341 West 36th Street, New York City, NY 10018-6401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#197 Family Hotel in New York City
#199 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#224 Business Hotel in New York City
#228 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New York City
Wyndham Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing