We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Ranked #364 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had breakfast there and my husbands waffles were sour, the batter was bad. My eggs-benedict were over cooked. Would not eat there again. The staff for the rest of the hotel were very helpful and friendly. I would probably stay there again but it is a walk to Time Square from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank PatriciaPryor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam S, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear PatriciaPryor,

Thank you so much for your review about our property. We're saddened to hear you did not have a satisfactory breakfast experience and will definitely strive to improve the quality. We definitely will share your great comments about our staff as they always strive to deliver exceptional service.

We hope that you will try us in the future again. Contact us directly so we may provide you with the best rate available and complimentary upgrade to our city view rooms!

Regards,
William Landicho
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,043)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,334 - 1,340 of 2,043 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We got in earlier than the check in time and were pleasantly greeted and able to get into our room right away, with warm cookies in hand! Small room, but very clean and sufficient. Housekeeping came daily and did a great job!
We hit the tourist attractions all 5 days we were there and the staff was so helpful with maps and directions. They greeted us at the end of our long days always with bottled water and warm cookies!
Sal was very helpful in grabbing us a cab a couple of times when we needed one, and made sure there was a car service waiting for us early the morning we needed to get to the airport.
Carmenza took care of us at the bar area, as we ate several meals right at the hotel. The food was very good, and the restaurant & bar staff were so accommodating.
The hotel wasn't in the 'heart' of the Times Square, but definitely within walking distance of anything we wanted...even for a 9 year old. We would definitely stay here again if we ever go back to NYC.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lmblink67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam S, Front Office Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Lmblink67,

Thank you so much for your 5-star review of our property! We're so excited that we were able to get you into your room early and greet you with our signature Doubletree by Hilton Cookie! Housekeeping always ensures that all our guest rooms are clean and comfortable daily. Sal and Carmenza will be delighted to hear that they were able to provide you with outstanding service. I will definitely be sharing the comments with them as well as the team. We love our location because it's central to all the local attractions and just a short walk to Times Square!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future!

Regards,
William Landicho
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Second time at this property. As a HHonors Diamond DO NOT EXPECT ANY UPGRADES. At least this time I didn't get a room next to the elevator even though it's clearly marked in my preferences. Their Queen rooms are tiny, but the first time I got a queen it was a joke. The one at the rear of the property is nicer and away from the elevator. IT's a bit dark and dingey but was very comfortable. The shower was nice, although the heater element was rusted out. Allowed a 3pm checkout nxt day which was nice.

For a doubletree, it's the ONLY doubletree i've been to- out of about 20 which do not have any free weights in the gym. I can understand this at a Hampton Inn or a Hilton Garden Inn, but not a Doubletree property - which is one of the key reasons I choose a property - so i'll think twice about staying here again.

The checkin was quick and efficient, but the biggest let down was waiting 30 minutes for an egg white omelette to be made, i nearly missed my meeting and had to throw it down. Other than that it's a fine property and definitely one of the best value in Manhattan.

If they can fix these issues, and I will try to stay again I will leave a 5, if they ignore it, they will most definitely be getting a one on my next stay.

Room Tip: If you get a queen room, ask for one that is not next to the elevator!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kawoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam S, Front Office Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear kawoh,

We would like to thank you for giving our property a second chance and are saddened that this particular visiting was less than stellar. Please rest assure that we have taken your review and used it as an opportunity to grow. Due to lack of space in our fitness center free weights was something we needed to eliminate, but would be more than happy to give you a free pass to any of our local New York City Sports Clubs in the area. We're happy to hear that the check-in was quick and efficient, but again do apologize for the wait at breakfast. This has been brought to our attention and is something we will immediately improve.

We would love for you to try us for a third time to see how we have improved in our service. Please contact me directly so that I may provide you with exceptional service and reinforce your loyalty to the Doubletree by Hilton Brand.

Regards,
William Landicho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

You need to be very careful when choosing this hotel as it has the same name as another property which is wonderful but that is Double Tree Suites at Times Square while this is Times Square south.

Getting a Taxi is a nightmare here these days as there is some work going on motorway connecting New Jersey and that chokes the traffic completely at the square next to hotel. The lane in front of hotel is oneway and hence very limited taxis come this side. If you are pressed by time; you can really be forced to cough up huge amounts.

The neighbourhood is even worse with lots of wastematerial lying around out of garbage bins. It has some meat shop nearby and a big warehouse that deals with clothes and that makes its surrounding really dirty.

Rooms are very small, cramped. Lifts are small too and have to wait a long time to get a free lift. Bar is limited.

This is certainly not for honeymooners; holidaying family and travellers looking to relax after a hectic year of work.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PravalUpadhyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian A, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Dear PravalUpadhyay,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay at. We greatly appreciate your feedback. I would love to invite you back to show you how we do things. Don't hesitate to reach out to me the next time you are visiting us here in the big apple.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

What a horrible room for usd. 350. Arrived 10.00 pm, and asked for something to drink, since they did not even have a complimentary bottle of water, and heard the roomservice closed at 10.00 pm?? In New York!? Called frontdesk and asked if i was able to drink the tabwater. Answer was: I can, but don't know about you... Thanks pfff! Expected at least a minibar, but nope.. I called at 10.10 pm. People that arrive after a long trip simply have bad luck.. Is it so difficult to take care of your guests arriving later than 10.00 pm? Opened the curtain and stared at a blind wall. The carpet and curtains were old and old fashioned. The room very small. I am very disappointed. For this money i expected more.. No need to say i will never go back to this hotel. Now i understand all hotels were full, and in this one there were enough rooms available.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Karin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian A, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Dear Karin N,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay at. We greatly appreciate your feedback. I would love to invite you back to show you how we do things. Don't hesitate to reach out to me the next time you are visiting us here in the big apple.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Had a really enjoyable stay here with my daughter, we were on a tight budget. Location is not Times Sq which suited us as it's in a quieter area than Times Sq. Walked back from the subway - 5mins away, latest time was 23:00, felt safe. Room VERY clean, good shower, elevator was slow 1 morning only and staff did apologise. Outstanding customer attention from all staff and in particular the housekeeping lady! We didn't eat in as we wanted a diner breakfast. Overall we were pleasantly surprised with value and friendliness in Manhattan in summer. Well done Hilton group.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank fclanOnTheStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam S, Front Office Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Teresa F,

Thank you so much for your outstanding 5-start review about our property! We're so happy that we were such a great value and location for your New York City visit. We want to apologize again about the elevator and want to assure you that it has been fixed. Our staff will be so delighted to hear that they were able to provide excellent service for you especially your housekeeper. Here at the Doubletree by Hilton Times Square South we're always striving to exceed guest expectations. We do hope in your future visit to NYC you come and stay with us again!!

Regards,
William Landicho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

elevators in bad repair, have to wait for breakfast, extremely small rooms with no storage area in the room. the hotel staff was very friendly especially Sal. that guy is a gem. it is sad that on such a busy weekend, only one elevator seemed to work and could never hardly make it up to the 25th floor. they just were not prepared for a busy few days I think

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank LCK1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam S, Front Office Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear LCK1108,

Thank you for your review about our property. We would like to sincerely apologize that your stay was not satisfactory. The elevator issue was something that was unforseen and we have made sure measure were taken to ensure that this does not happen again. On a busy weekend we can imagine the frustration you must have felt and are happy that our staff still provided you with great service. We will send your regards directly to Sal as he will be happy to hear that he did a great job.

We would love for the opportunity to have you try us again in the future. Please contact us directly on your next visit.

Regards,
William Landicho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Doubletree by Hilton New York Times Square West
Doubletree by Hilton New York Ti...
#360 of 471 in New York City
831 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York Times Square South
Hilton Garden Inn New York Times...
#299 of 471 in New York City
65 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 471 in New York City
11,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
TRYP HOTEL NYC - Times Square South by Wyndham
TRYP HOTEL NYC - Times Square So...
#176 of 471 in New York City
3,968 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#183 of 471 in New York City
8,344 reviews
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#365 of 471 in New York City
2,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South

Address: 341 West 36th Street, New York City, NY 10018-6401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#218 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
#223 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £75 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New York City
Wyndham Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing