We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service but small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Ranked #332 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Lake Forest, United States
2 reviews
“Great service but small rooms”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The people that work here are great. Everyone is super friendly and aimed to make your stay enjoyable. However, the room was not clean on 2 evenings that we returned to the room. We had to call the front desk and leave the room for an hour each evening. Other than that, it was great. The rooms were very small and definitely not cheap but this is what you get in NYC. But that being said, the rooms could have been slightly bigger for the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I am very sorry that you did not find the size of our guest rooms accommodating to your travel needs. I am also very sorry about the report that you made regarding the Housekeeping Services for your room during your stay with us. This matter as been addressed and rectified with our Guest Services Management as well as our Housekeeping Management Teams. I hope that you found our resolution satisfactory. I would like to thank you for your kind words towards our staff. I look forward to sharing this positive feedback with the rest of the DoubleTree Times Square South Guest Services Team. Thank you for all of your feedback, your patience, understanding, and loyalty to DoubleTree Times Square South. Have a fantastic day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    620
    318
    146
    113
See reviews for
481
443
87
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Great location if you want to catch Broadway shows, do some big-store shopping, and have an unlimited Metro Pass to visit many other parts of NYC -- this hotel is just blocks away from it all...yet far enough for some peace and quiet when you want to sleep. (However, I'm originally from New York so walking a few blocks is not a big deal to me. Some people who want the hub-bub of Times Square right outside your door may prefer another hotel.)

We had a king room with a great shower (no tub), a small desk to get some work done, and a small amount of floor space. It's great for a couple, but you'd probably need more room for a family. While the in-room coffee is iffy, the free cookies are a big plus. Overall, it's a great place to stay if you simply want a clean room to rest your head, and basic amenities to clean up from your day's adventures.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Ms. Rodriguez,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations and services of the hotel. I am glad you found our location accommodating to your travel needs and quite enough for a restful night's sleep. I am also glad that you enjoyed our cookies. We enjoy offering them to you! Please, make DoubleTree Times Square South your hotel of choice whenever visiting the New York City area. We appreciate your business and loyalty. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Sorely disappointed - for the price and based on photos, I expected a normal size room. Imagine a small room with 2 double beds squeezed in, hardly any walking space nowhere to put luggage, it was very very disappointing. The beds were a bit too soft for comfort. Breakfast was not included, and cost more than $83 for 4 people. Location was convenient to Penn Station but otherwise not pretty. The famous chocolate chip cookies that are baked fresh in other Doubletree hotels are here kept in a warming oven, making them hard and dry rather than fresh and chewy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Florina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Florina,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I am very sorry to hear that you did not find the accommodations of our hotel satisfactory to your travel needs. I am also very sorry to hear that the DoubleTree cookie that we extended to you was not warm and chewy. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be brought to the attention of our Guest Services Management Team, so that we may work to improve these issues to better serve you in the future. I am glad to hear that you found the location of our hotel accommodating and I hope that you make DoubleTree Times Square South your hotel of choice whenever visiting the New York City area! Your loyalty is most appreciated. Thank you for choosing DoubleTree Times Square South and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel not too long ago. The bathroom shower has large ceramic tiles which were probably about 2' x 1' in size. After taking a shower, I started stepping out and two of these large tiles came falling down and crashing to the floor, nearly lacerating me in the process.

This was 2 am. We called the front desk hoping to switch rooms because we planned to shower in the morning and we didn't want to deal with the cleanup. The desk did not sound very apologetic, and at first they said they did not have any other rooms available. 10 minutes later, they called back and said they did actually have a room.

We packed everything up, headed down and the desk informed us that the room actually was a double twin and not the king that we initially had. Aside from that, nothing was offered in terms of an apology or anything to make up for almost getting lacerated by falling ceramic tiles. A breakfast would have been nice.

Company ended up offering up a discount of the rate but this did not make up for the frustration and inconvenience, of this happening at 2 am, and not really feeling like the hotel felt sorry or concerned about the safety of their guests. I will avoid Doubletree hotels from now on.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HibikiRush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear HibikiRush,


Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for the incident that you have reported regarding the emergency bathroom tile maintenance services that were required during your stay with us, requiring you to transfer to a room type, different from the one that you had reserved. Your safety and comfort are our highest priorities, and I am sorry for the concern and inconvenience that this had caused you. I assure you that this matter has been addressed and resolved by our Engineering Team. If you have any further concern regarding this or any other matters, or if I may be of any service to you, please, do not hesitate to contact me (joshua.daly@hilton.com; 212-542-8990x3206), and I will do everything in my power to help. I greatly appreciate your feedback as well as your loyalty to DoubleTree Times Square South. Thank you for choosing us and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great location, it is 6 blocks away from Times Square, but it is near to Penn Station, Macys & The Maddison Square garden. Sal (staff member) makes you feel at home (should manage the hotel), also William, the cleaning staff, the door men & the concierge lady.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Manuel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Manuelo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response. I am so glad to hear that you found the services and accommodations of the hotel satisfactory to your travel needs. I would like to thank you for your extremely kind and thoughtful words towards Sal and William, as well as our Housekeeping and Concierge staff. This feedback will be shared with the entire DoubleTree Times Square South Guest Services Team so that this report of outstanding service can be praised and recognized. Please, make us your hotel of choice whenever visiting the New York City area. Your loyalty to DoubleTree Times Square South is greatly appreciated. Thank you for your feedback and have a wonderful day! Thank you for your feedback and have a wonderful day!

-Joshua Daly – Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Pro's - good location for the activities we had planned. We came into the city via train and it was an easy walk ( with 5 kids ) to the hotel. Rooms were clean, comfortable. A good place to get a good nights sleep at the end of a long day. The gentleman at the front desk was helpful and friendly

Cons - concierge was less than helpful.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response. I am very sorry to hear that you did not find our Concierge Services accommodating to your needs. Feel free to contact me (Joshua.daly@hilton.com; 212-542-8900 ext. 3206) if you would like to comment further on this matter, and I will be sure to rectify the issue. I am happy to hear that you found the accommodations and services of the hotel to be satisfactory for you and your five little ones. Please, make us your hotel of choice whenever visiting the New York City area. Your loyalty to DoubleTree Financial District is greatly appreciated. Thank you for your feedback and have a wonderful day! Thank you for your feedback and have a wonderful day!

-Joshua Daly – Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesquite, TX, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Friendly, welcoming staff! Clean well appointed rooms, comfy beds. Rooms are small but very typical of NYC. Good location near Times Square. Excellent food and great service in the restaurant. Every staff member I encountered was a pleasure to deal with.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Makayla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Makayla,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the accommodations and amenities of the hotel. I am very pleased to receive your praises towards our staff. I can’t wait to share your review with the rest of the DoubleTree Times Square Guest Services Team! Thank you so much for your feedback as well as your loyalty to DoubleTree Times Square South. Have a wonderful day!

-Joshua Daly – Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Doubletree by Hilton New York Times Square West
Doubletree by Hilton New York Ti...
#394 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,746 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#327 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#356 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,311 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#316 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South

Property: Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Address: 341 West 36th Street, New York City, NY 10018-6401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#196 Family Hotel in New York City
#205 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#223 Business Hotel in New York City
#227 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New York City
Wyndham Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing