We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cost/benefit”
Review of Royal Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Park Hotel
Ranked #384 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The hotel is very well located, near the subway station 96. Nearby there are pharmacy, mini market, cafes, restaurants.
It is possible to walk to Central Park.
The facilities aren't top of the line, but you get this "vintage feeling".

If you want a hotel just to sleep while you visit the city, this is an option. They have a kitchen area downstairs, where you can warm your meals, and the heat/AC system works fine in the room.

I would stay there again in a short trip.

Room Tip: I'd alwas go for a suite, you pay more for that, but it does make a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Vanessa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

To whom it may concern,
I would like to express my appreciation for and gratitude to the great team at Royal Park Hotel on 258 West 97th Street, NY.
Especially, I want to mention Denise and Frank who did a marvellous job concerning competence and friendliness at the same time.
On Tuesday, 29th of July 2014 we arrived at the hotel around 10. I was able to observe how Denise handled a particular difficult situation with effictiveness and calm. A lady from France who did not speak English was responsible for 26 french young people. She had made the mistake of ordering the shuttle to Newark airport for the 30th, one day later than their flight. She was in tears when she didcovered her mistake, because their flight (for 27 people) was due on the 29th; and they had only four hours left. Denise, with the assistance of Frank, managed to rebook a shuttle and the French party made it in time to catch their flight.
Denise and Frank were particularly helpful and made our stay worthwhile; our satisfaction was complete.
We will certainly book Royal Park Hotel again.
Sincerely
Hilda Fanta. Johanna Fanta, Phillipp Jende

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HildaMM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Despinal258, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hello,

Myself and the entire staff here at the Royal Park Hotel want to thank you for your review. We make every effort to put our guest first and make this hotel a home away from home atmosphere. We appreciate all the nice things you said and can't wait until we see you again. I would like to offer you special manager rates next time you are in New York City. Just give me a call ahead of time and i will ensure you receive our special rates along with our most renovated rooms. I hope everything is well and my greetings go out to you and your family.


Best Regards,
Denise Espinal
General Manager
Royal Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

2 min walk from 96th station (subway 1,2,3)
10 min away in subway from times square
10 min walk from Central Park
Clean big room, really nice staff. Stayed here for 6 nights...Wish I could have stayed more!!!
Next time in NYC, I'll definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EmilieB1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Despinal258, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Hello,

Myself and the entire staff here at the Royal Park Hotel want to thank you for your review. We make every effort to put our guest first and make this hotel a home away from home atmosphere. I would like to offer you special manager rates next time you are in New York City. Just give me a call ahead of time and i will ensure you receive our special rates.


Best Regards,
Denise Espinal
General Manager
Royal Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was our second stay at The Royal Park Hotel on the Upper West Side in Manhattan - there is a reason we keep coming back! Where else can you find such a spacious, clean room in such a lovely - and quiet - neighborhood for this price (around $215/night total cost)? Our room had 2 full size beds and a chaise lounge, so could sleep 5 easily. Staff were always friendly and kind. As another review says, if you are going to be out all day anyway, you just need a great home base to sleep & shower. No frills, but none needed is what I say!

Our AC was loud, but that makes for better sleep/white noise - very comfortable temperature and beds.

Only 1 block from the 1,2 & 3 subway line or crosstown bus - easy to get around town from here too.

Room Tip: Make sure to choose en suite bathroom or you will have shared bathroom/hostel style room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Despinal258, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Hello,

Myself and the entire staff here at the Royal Park Hotel want to thank you for your review. We make every effort to put our guest first and make this hotel a home away from home atmosphere. I would like to offer you special manager rates next time you are in New York City. Just give me a call ahead of time and i will ensure you receive our special rates.


Best Regards,
Denise Espinal
General Manager
Royal Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Great place to stay, Had two beds, kitchen, private bathroom and a bay window. Room was great, comfortable bed and just a great location close to the subway, eateries and grocery stores. Neighborhood is a little loud so don't count on sleeping late but hey it's New York.
Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Despinal258, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hello,

Myself and the entire staff here at the Royal Park Hotel want to thank you for your review. We make every effort to put our guest first and make this hotel a home away from home atmosphere. I would like to offer you special manager rates next time you are in New York City. Just give me a call ahead of time and i will ensure you receive our special rates.


Best Regards,
Denise Espinal
General Manager
Royal Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Rooms were okay, bathrooms were small and water pressure/temperature was very unreliable.
Air con was incredibly noisy and the room got very hot.
Quite a few roaches in the room, had to get some bug spray from the front desk.
Location was good though!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateyJ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Despinal258, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Client,

I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of that room. It is our main priority to provide the best customer service possible for our guest. If you please give us another chance, I would like to invite you to see our newly renovated rooms with more space and walk in bathrooms next time you are in NYC. I would also like to offer you special manager rates next time you are in New York City. Just give me a call ahead of time and i will ensure you receive our special rates.

Best regards,

Regards,

Denise Espinal
General Manager
Royal Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

If you are going to spend most of your time out and about then this is the place to stay!! 10 min walk to central park and 10 min walk to huge river on other side of hotel.

Very basic hotel, more like a room but your bed gets made daily & new towels.
Staff are the best thing about this place!! so easy to approach and very informative and happy to help.
Yeah you have to share a bathroom, but who cares ur in NY!!!! There are so many great food places around here and easy close to catch train stations.!!!

TV channels very limited, but when you have been walking around all day you just crash.
The rooms are a lot larger than what i expected and tall ceillings!!

great for young travellors who arent too fussed about all the fancy stuff!! Once again i repeat your in NEW YORK city who cares about the fancy stuff go explore!!
Would love to thank Carlos & Maggie for making our stay so welcome and informing ur about true NY life you guys were great, much Love Monika & Adam

Room Tip: ask for one with a good window view, and maybe level 2-3 as the lift takes ages lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monriqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Despinal258, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hello,

Myself and the entire staff here at the Royal Park Hotel want to thank you for your review especially the part about our staff. We make every effort to put our guest first and make this hotel a home away from home atmosphere. If you ever find yourself in New York again please give me a call and I will give you a special managers rate along with our newly renovated rooms.

Best Regards,
Denise Espinal
General Manager
Royal Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#444 of 470 in New York City
869 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#414 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#396 of 470 in New York City
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#397 of 470 in New York City
1,542 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#322 of 470 in New York City
1,586 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#436 of 470 in New York City
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel

Address: 258 West 97th Street, New York City, NY 10025-6218
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £51 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Park Hotel is situated on the trendy Upper West Side of Manhattan. We offer clean, comfortable, and affordable New York City discount hotel rooms with flat screen TVs and Air conditioning. A 10-minute train ride from Times Square and 10 min walk to Columbia University! Designed to satisfy even the smallest travel budgets, our chic yet inexpensive hotel provides wonderful value and convenience. We are conveniently located a block from 1/2/3 (red line) trains, coffee shops, restaurants, bars, theaters, museums and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing