We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overbooked - No room & No notice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Ink48 Hotel
Ranked #87 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overbooked - No room & No notice”
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We booked (and payed) one month in advance only to realize that there was no room available for us. The lady at the reception was not helpful at all and only as the manager arrived the staff started to look for an alternate stay. We already arrived late (midnight, due to an overbooked intercontinental-flight with Continental) and were quite astonished by this level of service quality.

We consider this behaviour as very frutrating as we had an important business meeting the next morning and therefor selected this special hotel in this special area. Another party of our group arrived 2 days in advance: They were not informed about the situation nor were we contacted in advance (they had our phone number, fax, e-mail, you name it).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank polzinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ink48, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
Dear Polzinho,

I am sorry for the less than pleasant experience you had upon arrival to my property and the subsequent relocation to another hotel. Our standard practice is to contact every guest prior to arrival if we have any unforeseen same day emergency.

Thank you for your feedback, and I will be definitively ensure my team makes every effort to meet our guests' expectations.

Sincerely,

Victor Muoghalu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,936
    769
    204
    81
    60
See reviews for
380
1,276
176
677
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (920)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2011

I was in NYC celebrating my 30th birthday and stayed at Ink48.

I called to add my friend onto the reservation when he booked his ticket and spoke with Olga who was incredibly sweet and helpful. I called back a month later to inquire about an early check-in (my friend had a redeye from LA) and Olga picked up again and remembered me! They were able to get us into our room by noon, which was greatly appreciated. After catching an afternoon show, we returned to champagne and candy accompanied by a hand-written note from Olga wishing me a happy birthday. While there were many memorable things about the hotel, such as the roof view and fun decor, the personal attention by your staff is what stands out.

I will be back and I will recommend this hotel to anyone coming to NYC

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TashaBam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We were looking for a great little place close by, knowing the neighborhood is a challenge. Walking distance, too. Jeffrey suggested a fantastic place called Taboon on 52nd and 10th Ave. One of the best meals I've had in NYC. Great bar, too. Every bite was delicious. A perfect little corner resto about 5 minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toddlemmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Just wanted to write a quick note about my experience at Ink48! It was absolutely fabulous. There was a group of us who stayed there for my mother's 60th birthday celebration, and the staff went above an beyond my expectations...with everything from birthday greetings for her when we checked in to accommodating us for a birthday celebration. The city view room was spectacular, and the rooftop lounge was just as perfect. I have stayed in several boutique hotels in New York, but this may be my new favorite. I loved every moment we were there! The beds were super comfortable and the rooms pretty large by NY standards. Thanks so much to the staff for making my mother's birthday one of the best ever! We will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: City view rooms are fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heyjude78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We booked 6 nights online using Priceline, I didn't use "name your own price", just booked what was there. Upon checking in at night we were given a room on the second floor. We totally hated it, the view was a car garage or something and we asked to be moved the same evening. They were kind enough to accommodate us and move our stuff into a new room the next day while we were touring.

We were able to walk to Broadway easily from this hotel. The walk gave us a good idea of where the awesome restaurants were. We were able to walk to the theatre to watch Wicked. We loved how quiet it was and how comfortable our room was. We ended up sleeping in a lot towards the end of the trip and cabbing around. Surprisingly, taking a cab was really affordable and I found it way easier than spending our time trying to navigate NYC by transit.

Overall a great stay. Really friendly doormen. Don't miss going up to the rooftop to party.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Formiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairhope, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We were staying in New York for one night before leaving on our cruise to Bermuda. This trip was scheduled for my husband's birthday and came at a perfect time since he was recovering from a broken arm. When we arrived they asked about his arm and wished him a Happy Birthday. Immediately upgraded our room- spacious, comfortable, clean, and great decor. Shortly, we had a knock at the door and they were delivering champagne and a happy birthday tray of goodies. We enjoyed the complimentary wine tasting that they have each night and the coffee service the next morning. By joining the Kimpton In-touch program you get comp Internet and can splurge at the mini-bar. Conv location to the cruise terminal.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bamagirl_12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2011
We're so happy you had an INKcredible time staying with us and that we were able to make your husband's birthday a memorable experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

My wife and I took a quick weekend getaway in NYC. I chose Ink48 because of the positive reviews and because it was supposed to have great views of the New York skyline. The great reviews and claims of great views were right on the money. We had a city view room that provided a wonderful view -- especially at night -- of the Big Apple. The room itself was stylish and modern, and the bathroom was huge, providing both a tub w/shower and a separate rain shower, as well as double sinks. The platform bed was comfortable and the furnishings were modern.

The folks at the front desk, and doormen were also very nice. The internet costs $10, unless you're already a Kimpton Hotels rewards member, or want to join.

We visited the rooftop lounge on Saturday night and the views of the city and Hudson River were fantastic. It was Fleet Week while we were there and plenty of sailors took the chance to visit with family and friends. The crowd enjoyed the open air roof and the indoor lounge area. We didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment on the food.

The hotel is a block from the Hudson River and in the midst of several car dealerships, but that wasn't a problem. If you walk a couple of blocks to 10th or 9th Avenue, you'll have a variety of restaurants and bars to choose from. Taxis are easy to catch as well, which is how we rolled the entire weekend. If you want to be in the middle of Times Square, this isn't the hotel for you. But if you want a great hotel that's a short taxi ride to Times Square and elsewhere, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#39 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,329 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#51 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,135 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#81 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Holiday Inn Express New York - M...
#213 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Ink48 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Ink48 Hotel

Property: Kimpton Ink48 Hotel
Address: 653 11th Avenue at 48th, New York City, NY 10036-2004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Ink48 Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Ink48 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing