We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Spectacular Location ~ Spectacular Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Ink48 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton Ink48 Hotel
Ranked #90 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Spectacular Location ~ Spectacular Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

I have stayed at Ink 48 several times for business. The hotel, it's location and staff are nothing short of amazing. The roof deck on the 16th floor is a destination in itself.

This past weekend I was visiting for pleasure. The Riverview Terrace Room has it's own patio ~ on the 17th floor with sweeping views of the Hudson. The entire staff, and Olga (concierge) in particular made the weekend even more special, with genuine enthusiam for making our stay perfect.

From the minute you enter the hotel, you are greeted warmly and welcomed openly.
The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, with sweeping city view or great views of the river.

The spa is bliss......

I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boston0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
I'm so happy you found our spa to be a purely blissful experience! We look forward to creating another memorable stay for you upon your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,853
    746
    198
    75
    57
See reviews for
355
1,240
169
642
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (888)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

Stayed at Ink48 for Memorial weekend. Excellent hotel, great restaurant and awesome roof lounge. No real complaints or drawbacks however it is a few blocks from things but in a very safe area and we had no problems walking anywhere.

It was our first Kimpton Hotel too, as well as our first trip to NYC. Will do it all again as soon as we can.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LazyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
167 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

I saw this hotel on SniqueAway.com -- I'm a huge fan of Kimpton hotels, so when my sister suggested a trip to NYC, I had to book Ink48.

Overall, the hotel met my expectations. Our room was HUGE! We upgraded a bit to a larger room, so I don't know what the lower class rooms felt like for space, but ours was definitely the biggest NYC hotel I've ever stayed in. Our room had a great view of the city from the 7th floor.

The bathroom was similarly huge, though the space was used very strangely. The shower was sooo small even though there was enough room to have a dance party in the bathroom. We also had a soaking tub -- and there were free bath salts as a nice perk!

The bed was low to the ground but very comfy; we had a huge flat screen TV which was handy between exploring the city.

As usual at Kimpton hotels, the staff was extremely friendly.

My one little complaint is that this hotel is a bit off the beaten path. On one hand, I actually liked walking through the neighborhood to get to the nearest subway stop. It was kind of fun exploring a part of the city I've never seen. On the other hand, it did take at least 15-minutes just to get to the subway every time we left our room.

But if you're looking for space in the big city, this is a great hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fuzzypinkbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

I have stayed at Kimpton Hotels and have always had excellent service, but the staff at Ink48 went above and beyond. I had my dog Lucy with me and everyone was great with her and made us both feel welcome and special. They even bought her new dog toys! The rooms are huge and both the spa and rooftop lounge are well worth the visit. Thanks for a great exeience!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jawil94118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

We recently relocated from Colorado to NYC and we needed a hotel for two nights before our apartment was ready. Thus the reason why our cats were traveling with us. After several days of driving across the country, we were so pleased to check-in to the peaceful Ink48!

The room was large and bright. The service was excellent. Dinner at the restaurant was lovely. The wine welcome reception was just what
we needed and a pleasant surprise. And did I mention that they let us bring our two cats without any extra charges?! Perfect all the way around!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diamond00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

My partner and i stayed here for 5 nights at the end of May for her birthday, i am very picky when it comes to hotels and i can tell you this one did impress. We stayed in the Hudson river suite which was amazing the views were great!! In fact i couldn't really fault the room which is unusual for me because as a builder i always find something! If i was being silly i would say that the blinds could have done with being electric because there were about 6 blinds to manually put down each night oh and they didnt really block enough light out. Now you do need to consider the distance it is approx 15mins walk to Times Square and any decent eateries but the views made up for that!! If you don't get the views then i would look closer to the action but on the other hand it seemed quiet!! The rooftop bar is a must now that was amazing although as it is open to anyone we did feel a little out of place in out shorts and t-shirts sat next to the suited and booted but we didn't care some might!! Overall fantastic, service was good although you sometimes feel rushed and they get snotty if you don't leave a tip but i think thats New Yorkers in general! I hope you find this review helpful and the only reason i didn't give it 5 stars was the distance, they even gave us a bottle of champagne and chocolates free of charge as it was my partners birthday which was a nice touch. Also the room wasnt ready when we got there even though we were later than we said but they gave us a drink at the bar and we only waited 10mins so that was forgiven. A quick tip is watch your bill they charged something like 100 a day for incidentals which is given back when you check out but just watch out for it. Thanks INK48 for a memorable birthday treat.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank afinchysparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsbury, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

ink48 is luxury and comfort in nyc without a lot of the pomp and pretense that usually come with that. my room was super clean, cozy, large and had wonderful views of the hudson and toward downtown. being out on 11th, the area is quiet but also so close to the vibrance of chelsea and midtown, and the west village is a healthy and entertaining walk away. (they have some cabs in nyc too). and press, the rooftop bar, is imPRESSive. can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smearley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#36 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,200 reviews
Midtown
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
#47 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,036 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#55 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#14 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Ink48 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Ink48 Hotel

Property: Kimpton Ink48 Hotel
Address: 653 11th Avenue at 48th, New York City, NY 10036-2004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Ink48 Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Kimpton Ink48 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing