We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Ink48 Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Soho Grand Hotel(New York City)
US$381
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$364
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$310
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Archer Hotel New York(New York City)
US$331
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$299
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,348)
Filter reviews
3,348 results
Traveller rating
2,159
822
217
86
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,159
822
217
86
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshell's kitchenpress loungerooftop barhudson riverhudson suitestephen fieldwine hourtimes squarewest sidenew yorkintrepid museumwine receptioncity viewnyc skylinejavits centersoaking tubfloor to ceiling windows
Filter
Updating list...
2,657 - 2,662 of 3,348 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2011

It was just a short business stay and I can't even describe how above and beyond the staff went to make my stay one of my best trips to NY! Even going to the extent of helping my girlfriend set up an amazing night on broadway for me from Los Angeles!!

Special thanks to the concierge Ralhan Patel for running that extra mile!! I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtBoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

This hotel is very well located, just a medium walk or short cab ride from Times Square, or Columbus Circle, and central enough that it is never too far from SoHo, Flatiron, or the Museum of Natural History.
The design is great, with great decor, and very comfortable furniture, especially the bed. The rooms are huge for NYC standards, with giant bathrooms, great views, and decent amenities. However, the shades are far from "blackout" so if you're a light sleeper, you may want to bring an eye mask. Didn't bother us though.
The rooftop lounge has great views and a neat design aesthetic as well, though there was a fair share of cheesballs hanging out there. The drinks and oysters were great, though a bit pricy, especially considering how inexpensive the hotel is. It was also a bit odd to need to take the elevator down to the lobby from our room in order to go up to the lounge. No direct access from hotel floors.
As with all Kimpton properties, the wine hour is always nice, and they are very pet friendly. However, there were quite a few service missteps...
First, when we pulled up, no one helped us with our luggage or out of the car. Eventually, after a few minutes the valet came over to park our car (hint: there is a much less expensive self park lot a block before the hotel).
Second, we were assigned to a room that was already occupied. This was very awkward... to try to walk into someone else's room! The front desk gave us the correct room and keys, with an apology, but didn't seem to think it was a big deal.
Third, we called down to have our car brought around 30 minutes before leaving, and were told it would take only 15. After 25 minutes of standing in 90 degree heat, with our dogs, I asked the doorman how long it would take... turns out guest services never relayed the request to the valet. So another 15 minutes of waiting. As compensation the hotel waived one day of parking charges.
So, overall a good hotel, but three pretty serious (and un-kimpton-like) gaffes in the service department. Still, given the size of the rooms, and the very low price, I would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pretzellogix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

If like me, you only read the first few lines of a review, I will provide a summary first. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. With so much choice available to first time visitors to this great city, it can be somewhat daunting deciding on where to spend your hard earned holiday fund. Look no further and booked this right now.

We always prefer to book smaller, boutique hotels rather than those part of a larger group or chain and always prefer to book directly. Ink48 cetainly did not disappoint on any level and I would highly recommend this hotel to any couple looking for a 'independent' style hotel on an NYC city break. Contemporary, chic, comfortable, professional & welcoming are all done really well here without it being over the top, in your face or unnecessary.

In the Midtown West district (on 48th St & 11th Ave) the hotel is just 4 blocks (10 min walk) from Time Sq / Broadway and a similar distance to the nearest subway. There are nice bars and restaurants just 2-3 blocks away in Hell's Kitchen (try out Traffic bar/restaurant on 48th & 9th).

First and foremost, the service we received from the hotel was oustanding. From the attentive doormen, to the welcoming and accommodating Concierge, to the waiters in the restaurant, the housekeeping staff & the responses when we called Guest Services -all were highly personable and could not do enough to help.

Nandi Barker (front of house concierge) was especially welcoming on arrival and served us with the upmost professionalism and friendliness throughout our stay. She was kind enough to go above and beyond our expectations when she accommodated our request for a late check out on our last day.

Our City View Studio room was spacious & bright with 3/4 length windows letting in lots of light yet the black out blinds ensured for a good lie in! The room was cleaned to a high standard throughout our stay with fresh towels and bedding always available on request. It had all of the amenities that you would expect (safe, mini bar, iron, etc) but facilities to make hot drinks would have been an additional benefit.

The roof top Press Lounge bar served a range of delicious cocktails and drinks till 1am and provided stunning, uninterupted views of the Manhattan skyline and 180 views around to the Hudson river. Access to the roof top was well managed (with priority given to hotel guests) although at times the doormen were somewhat over zealous!

We ate in the Print Restaurant in our first night. We had pre booked ahead of our arrival but they were more than accommodating to amend our booking after our delayed journey from JFK to the hotel (on that note, make sure you pre book your transfer from the airport to the hotel particularly if your arriving during rush hour as we did on a Friday evening, you could end up with a huge yellow cab fare whereas a pre booked car will offer you a fixed rate!).

The food and service in the Print Restaurant was excellent.

So if you are still reseraching and looking for the perfect place to spend your bucks, look no further, you won't be disappointmed with Ink48.

Room Tip: City View room provided uninterupted views of the Manhattan skyline day and night.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Our anniversary is on the 4th of July and we wanted to do something special this year because it was our 10th, so we decided to stay in a hotel with a view of the fireworks. I am so glad we chose Ink48 because it is a beautiful hotel and we had a wonderful time. It is a very popular 4th of July destination because of the amazing views, but Lubna, the Director of Guest Services, and the rest of the staff made us feel very welcome and very special, even though it was our first time staying there.

We stayed in a Hudson River Suite which looks exactly the way it looked on the website -- gorgeous! Floor to ceiling windows with incredible views and the bathroom was huge with a very large tub and separate shower and filled with wonderful products.

We had dinner at Print restaurant which was delicious and the service was excellent even though they were fully booked. When we returned to our room there was a bottle of Champagne and dessert waiting for us. And the dessert plate had “Happy 10th Anniversary!” written in chocolate.

Whenever we’d meet hotel staff in a hallway or on the elevator, they were very friendly and went out of their way to greet us and wish us a happy 4th of July. This hotel really has small town charm -- very different from most New York City hotels.

The location is terrific because it’s walking distance to all the activities of Times Square and Broadway, but it’s far enough away that you can leave the craziness behind at the end of the day and return to a beautifully decorated room with an amazing view.

We are already talking about making plans to stay at Ink48 again for our next anniversary (if not sooner). And we’ll look for other Kimpton hotels when we travel.

Room Tip: Request a high floor -- amazing views!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityGal48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Let me start by saying that we have generally been "Mariott People" for many years. We do often try other hotels, but usually rely on a Marriot when unsure of which way to go. This has prevented many unwanted surprises when staying over in different cities. Recently we stayed at Ink 48. It was our second Kimpton Hotel stay. (We also stayed at the Argonaut in San Francisco and loved it!) NYC hotel prices can be very steep, but I got what I thought was a very good deal for our 2 night stay through Snique Away. I booked a city view king, but was thrilled to find that we had been upgraded to a Hudson Suite. I had arrived early, but the room was not ready until closer to 3 PM. Because of the upgrade I was more than happy to wait. Floor to ceiling windows in this 15th floor corner room gave us spectacular views of the Hudson River, many boats, and the Intrepid Aircraft Carrier Museum. It was beautiful in the evenings as well. Two big rooms with stylish furnishings, two large closets, (of course there were the animal print robes!) Big bathroom with large soaking tub and a separate shower (with top and side sprayers).
The hotel is elgant and stylish without being stuffy. Great places to hang out near the lobby for the wine reception. The roof top lounge is AMAZING. What a great place to bring people that have never been to NYC! The views are incredible and you know that you are some place special.
I joined the hotels In-touch program. They ask several questions about your likes and dislikes...hoping to improve your stay. I really felt like they took into account what I had said. From type of bedding to choice of reading material, they hit the head on the nail in so many areas. We also were able to raid the mini-bar ($15. free) and got a coupon for $30. off the spa. We didn't bring our pets, but loved seeing a few others in the hotel. (They were beautiful and very well behaved.) The hotel even welcomes the dog guests with a sign with their name and a bowl of treats at the front door.
As others have said, the hotel is way over on the west side, but it's a very easy walk to Times Square andthe theatre district.
I love the look of this hotel. We've stayed at 2 Kimpton hotels and they each had their own distinctive style. I have already begun searching out other Kimpton getaways. After looking on line it looks like each hotel has its own unique style...I love that.
If we can get a decent deal....it looks like Kimptom will be our new hotel of choice.
They made us feel comfortble, special, and very welcome.
We look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevepcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews