We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Ink48 Hotel
Ranked #71 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Great Hotel! The room was great nice view comfortable bed. Good Service too. It was quite due to the location. Love the Kimpton free wine hour. Can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeyFUZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,010
    784
    207
    81
    60
See reviews for
400
1,298
182
696
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (955)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2011

GREAT hotel. Great staff. The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. The wine hour is always a fave at any Kimpton. I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Down by the USS Intrepid, this Kimpton hotel has a very friendly staff, clean room, very quiet location and good value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattkc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I stayed in ink48 about a month ago while visiting New York for a few days. We decided to "splurge" a bit and get a room here rather than stay in other parts of the city or with relatives the next state over, really thankful we did! We had a great view of the river, the room was clean and nicely decorated, really comfortable bed and pillows, lots of towels, everything we needed! The front desk staff was very helpful, booked us dinner and helped organize our trip, and the attached restaurant had a nice selection of good food (definitely not fast / cheap food, the dining area was quite nice, great service from waiters, etc., more an independent restaurant feel rather than just tacking it onto the hotel). The rooftop bar was a nice touch, with great night views of the city, although apparently it isn't attached to the hotel chain.

All in all, we thought it was a great decision to stay here; it just had a much different feel than that boring generic hotel atmosphere, always nice extras that they'd thought of, (especially being very pet friendly!) and was definitely worth the cost!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJerseyTransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Dear NJerseyTransplant,

Thank you for sharing your experiences at Ink48 with us. I'm glad you got to enjoy one of our city view rooms and all of the amenities we have to offer! Hopefully you will stay with us again if you ever return to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

During our recent stay in New York, we were recommended a hotel we had not heard of .. INK48. We were told that this was a modern hotel with a 4 star rating and reviews were good. We weren't disappointed. We loved this hotel and if INK48 is an example of Kimpton Hotels, we are now "Kimpton Hotel" converts. The hotel itself was beautifully appointed, the accommodation was fantastic! Bed was super comfortable, small touches, such as bathrobes, umbrellas etc were very nice. Can't say enough about the staff and management - some of the best from our travels. All were very helpful and friendly and nothing was a problem. Rooftop Bar also amazing and views from the hotel equal to anything in new york. Thankyou INK48, you made our holiday.
The Powells from Perth, Australia.

Room Tip: If you get the opportunity or can afford it - a Hudson Suite/Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Room size - excellent, bigger than most.

Quality - excellent newer finishes. Not beat up like so many other hotels.

View - it has one of the river or skyline; not the brick wall next door.

Service - equal to many resorts. The staff, top to bottom, is quite friendly and helpful.

Roof-top bar!

Location is great because you can zip up and down 11th quite easily before cutting across town.

Price - beats the heck out of other so-called leaders, and you get so much more for your dollar. I had been staying at places like the Waldorf or Affinia and this place blows them away.

Room Tip: Sign up for the free InTouch plan and then sign up for a last minute upgrade to a high floor with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We have just stayed at this hotel for our 4th visit in 2 years. We have stayed in a variety of rooms; King room, King room Deluxe and Hudson room. Obviously you get more space the more you pay, but even the ordinary king room is very comfortable, clean and well decorated. If you join the Kimpton In-Touch program, which is free, you get free of charge Wi-Fi. This means you can use Skype for international phone calls at minimal cost and can stay in touch with your emails. It is a chique boutique hotel that does not do New York City brusqueness. The staff are extremely friendly and well trained. Everyone seems to take a pride in the hotel. They have a guy who touches up any chips on the paint work. We have stayed there with friends and recommended it to friends who were equally impressed. There is complimentary coffee in the morning, in the foyer, which we take back to the room while we wake up properly. There is complimentary wine is the late afternoon form I think 4:30 - 6 pm. This is Australian Oxford Landing Pinot Noir and Chardonnay. It is worth taking the continental breakfast package (coffee/tea, scone or muffin, fruit salad, orange/ grapefruit juice). For evening dining, their Print Restaurant is not the cheapest, but the food and service are quality.
The reception staff are always happy to help with theatre and restaurant reservations.
Cocktail on the roof terrace give you stunning views over New York.
I will stay there again.
If you need flights, it is worth looking at some of the consolidators, e.g. Expedia, Netflights, Continental Airlines etc. who do feature this hotel as an inclusive option along with flights.

Room Tip: If you are going for a city view room, go higher,. It reduces the street noise. Not a real problem t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Dear Nick G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at our hotel with future travelers. I'm so happy our staff was so helpful to you and that you enjoyed our amenities. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#39 of 467 in New York City
3,398 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#62 of 467 in New York City
3,194 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#77 of 467 in New York City
1,830 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#76 of 467 in New York City
5,173 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#74 of 467 in New York City
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Ink48 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Ink48 Hotel

Property: Kimpton Ink48 Hotel
Address: 653 11th Avenue at 48th, New York City, NY 10036-2004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Ink48 Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Ink48 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing