We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Ink48 Hotel
Ranked #58 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Great location , at 48th , just a short walk to theatre district.

We had a room booked for 3 nights , we had booked through the Magellan site which promises a room upgrade.

We arrived at 10am and asked if we could leave luggage as checkin was 3 pm . At check in the receptionist did say , we are very busy so your room won't be ready till 3 , I suggested that we would back at 4 so all good , and confirmed we were entitled to an upgrade.

We returned at 415 , the room was not ready , we were asked to take a seat , at 5.00 , we were offered a complimentary drink by the duty manager , we refused , shortly after , we were given access to the room we had booked not an upgraded room.

The duty manager , offered a bottle or red wine and a 75$ voucher to spend on dining in the hotel
Not what I would consider adequate compensation for over an hour delay at reception for a 2nd check in ( they took the credit card and confirmed booking at 10am . He also said we could change rooms on day 2 but after the first debacle we stayed with this room for 3 night

The other bad part of our stay was when we checked out the hotel staff member had No Note of the 75$ credit .

The Hotel itself is great in kimpton style they have a wine hour for guests at 5 each night

The staff are really knowledgeable about the local area , and the airline check in is a great service
But we were seriously let down by check in and checkout , we also did not get early wake up call at 450 am on the day of departure , which could have been a disaster but was not .

After 3 Kimpton stays in the past , I was very surprised as this was from my past experiences

Room Tip: Try to ensure you stay on floor ten or above Be careful when using the roof top terrace as it is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Howard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,446 - 1,452 of 3,282 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

The following claims were made in the copy used to tout the room I purchased via expedia:

1) "Pillowtop mattress" - false, it was a standard mattress
2) "premium cable channels" - false, Bravo and Food channels were black screens
3) "complimentary wired and wireless internet access" - false, this is not provided with compliments, rather in exchange for your subscription to the hotel's marketing list (which requires personal details like address). Otherwise it's $14.99. When I called the front desk, the associate was prepared with a script, but yielded and agreed to remove the charge from my folio.

Nothing is more frustrating than when hotels make false claims in their marketing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We're big fans of Kimpton boutique hotels, which all offer excellent friendly service and unique accomodations, but surprisingly, Ink48 exceeded all of our expectations. Most importantly, our modern, well-appointed room was huge by NYC standards, bigger than any we've ever occupied in our many visits to the city. The location is outstanding -- away from the Times Square hubbub but only a 15 minute walk to theater. Then there are the skyline views, which quite simply are fabulous. Nice little lobby bar & cafe, too. And as always, we were treated great by the staff, even getting a terrific recommendation from Andre at the front desk for a local sports bar where we could have an inexpensive light post-theater bite and watch late night out of town sporting events. You definitely cannot go wrong staying here -- it's a hidden treasure, the best NYC hotel we've ever had the pleasure of experiencing!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

A return stay in NYC for a very big birthday required a special choice. The room on the 14th floor was outstanding with spectacular views of the Manhattan Skyline which changed throughout the day and night. We had the biggest bath we had ever seen (in the bedroom) plus a separate toilet and large rain shower. Unlike other hotel rooms the additional space was excellent with plenty of room to move about with an additional sitting area. The six foot bed was very comfortable.
The staff were welcoming and extremely helpful as well as knowledgeable and the room maid stopped us to ask if there was anything further we needed in the room.
The reviews suggested the hotel was out of the way and yes, the subway was a good ten minute walk, but Times Square was only a fifteen minute walk and the Intrepid Museum was a few minutes walk around the corner.
Food was quite expensive in the hotel, much like other NYC hotels, but 100 yards away was the Pom Pom diner (the old fashioned American type) where a full breakfast cost $17 for two. Then for diner was McQuaid's Irish Pub only 150 yards away provided a great selection of value for money diners ($50 for two).
All in all a great stay.

Room Tip: The city view was awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed at Ink48 for 6 nights on a fine dining/Opera/Broadway trip, and as unique and memorable as all Kimpton properties are, this one was a real find! On 48Av & 10St in Hell's Kitchen, lower Manhattan offers a great away-from-Times-Square escape while still keeping the best of Broadway and other NYC treats within walking distance. 20 mins to "Cabaret" at Studio54; 30 mins to Lincoln Center, the Met, Jean-Georges at The Trump; 20 mins to Times Square; 30 mins to the "Highline," an incredible above-ground stretch of old-railroad tuned into an incredible walking path above the streets with amazing sights!

Crisp, cool room with a smallish bathroom (however, a massive shower), a wonderful Hudson River/Downtown view, friendly staff, an amazing restaurant (French Toast, croissants, braised rabbit all excellent!), and of course the incredible rooftop lounge with breathtaking Manhattan/Jersey views. Funky, cool, younger/vibier crowd (legendary NYC nightclub Pacha is a few blocks away, as are the ports to take a great River Cruise over to Brooklyn, Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island, etc).

Loved this place, the walk-ability to all the sights while still feeling removed from all "the crazy" in the streets above, it gives a great respite from the hustle and bustle, and nightly I walked around Lower Manhattan safely; plenty of convenience stores surround you, and the Market Diner on 46th and 10th is a classic and tasty 24-hr diner if you need a late-night coffee or bite.

Room Tip: High room w/a river/city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJSHOWBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Hello DJSHOWBOY,

Thank you so much for your kind words about the hotel. We take feeback very seriously and it's people like you that re-assure us that we're doing our jobs in terms of making the guest experience a special one. Hope to see you here again soon!

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

After very pleasant stays in Kimpton hotels in DC and Denver and one previous stay at the Ink 48, I looked forward to taking older son to visit younger son for birthday celebration. I booked two rooms: a king deluxe for me and a junior suite for sons. My room was tiny but fine. From 1418, I enjoyed a 14th floor west-facing view of the USS Intrepid and the Hudson River and the New Jersey shore. The big window included a comfortable window seat, so I could watch the sun set over the river.
This room was very small, and I wish that Kimpton would rethink storage. If you book a basic room, you will have only the closet (~a dozen hangars) in which to store clothing. There are no chests. The desk offers a lap drawer and a funny 3" x 3" square drawer to the left of the chair. Not sure what the Kimpton folk imagine guests will store there. Of course, you can use the generous window seat as a suitcase platform, but I had other ideas for that space. To add insult to...you know, the nightstands are light cubes. No drawers or nooks or crannies for a book or glasses or meds or any of the other stuff many of us would like to store out of sight next to the bed. Sadly, this Kimpton offers no coffee service until 6:30. Can you believe that? They will happily deliver a Keurig machine to your room at any time, day or night, but you can't stumble downstairs at 6 for fresh joe at this Kimpton. That's all the bad news.
The sleeping area and bathroom were immaculate. The bed was very comfortable.
I booked a junior suite for my sons and wished I'd given them the deluxe king. Their room was a vast, sprawling area, and their bathroom (tub and shower) was as big as my sleeping area. They had enough room to invite friends over for after-birthday-party drinks. They also enjoyed a great view of the river at sunset. Next time, I get the suite.
The hotel staff were so professional, competent and...human. They printed show tickets and reserved (hard to get) tables at wonderful restaurants. They offered sound advice about travel time to the airport, to the 9/11 Memorial. They enriched my stay.
Print is the hotel restaurant. In some ways, it looks like a "hotel restaurant," but the food is fresh and fun and the service (especially at breakfast) is old world courteous. My sons (hungry 24/7) enjoyed poached eggs and prosciutto at Print as much as they enjoyed any meal that weekend. Well, they might also have enjoyed the rooftop bar, the Press Lounge, almost as much as breakfast. Incredible views and expensive but tasty mixology.
I needed to leave very early in the morning. The front desk was ready with an accurate bill and a friendly send-off.
The 5-6 p.m. complimentary wine hour, a ritual at all of the Kimptons I know, is an especially good reason to stay here. Good, free wine in a relaxing space at the end of a day in the city.

Room Tip: West facing rooms offer river views. East facing rooms look out over 11th Ave. Surrounding structure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Hello Mel427,

Thank you very much for the constructive feedback and the kind words. It's reviews from people like you that help us do our job better. What makes me most happy is hearing about our great staff. We take pride in creating a wonderful work environment for our employees and I truly believe that this is reflected in their service which is second to none.

As far as your concerns about storage in the room, just know that you've been heard, and we will discuss any possibilities to make the most of the space.

Thank you again, and hope to see you back here again soon!

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Fabulously stylish rooms, excellent and friendly staff, but best of all, excellent views, and a fantastic but slightly expensive rooftop bar, only a few minutes walk from times square, a fantastic location

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaunm_robson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Hello shaunm_robson,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback about your experience with us. Yes, we have some awesome views of NYC to offer and so glad you got to take advantage of that. What makes me most happy though is hearing about our awesome staff. We take pride in creating a great work environment and this is reflected in the service they provide to our guests.

Thank you again, and hope to see you back at Ink48 again soon...

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#48 of 471 in New York City
3,518 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#81 of 471 in New York City
3,316 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#64 of 471 in New York City
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#7 of 471 in New York City
649 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 471 in New York City
453 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Ink48 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Ink48 Hotel

Address: 653 11th Avenue at 48th, New York City, NY 10036-2004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £134 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Ink48 Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Ink48 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing