We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slipping in quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Ink48 Hotel
Ranked #70 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Slipping in quality”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I'm a frequent client of Kimpton Hotels and have always been very impressed with them, but I must admit my last stay at Ink48 was not up to par. We were first given a room on the 2nd floor, right next to a busy street, with windows that had poor sound insulation. In terms of noise, it was like sleeping in a bus shelter. The next night we were moved to a higher floor - much better for street noise, but the A/C fan was as loud as a Mack truck. Service was fine, but not the "VIP" feeling I usually get from Kimpton. Might be looking for another hotel next time I'm in NYC.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldXplorator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hello WorldXplorator,

I'm very sorry to hear that your last stay wasn't what you've come to expect from Ink48 and Kimpton in general. There is no doubt that being on the 2nd floor can be noisy due to street noise, but I am glad we were able to get you up a little higher at the very least. What I usually recommend is booking a King Deluxe Room (next step up from our standard King). It's only marginally more expensive and your guaranteed to be on the 7th floor or higher.

In terms of our AC unit, our engineers are excellent and can usually fix technical issue in the room.

I sincerly hope your most recent stay isn't your last. If you do choose to stay here again, feel free to give us a call prior to check-in, maybe mention a few of the issues you had, and we'll be sure to take care of you.

Thank you though for the candid feedback. The only way we can improve is by hearing from our customers, so I appreciate you taking the time and rest assured all that you mentioned will be addressed.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,011
    785
    207
    81
    60
See reviews for
400
1,299
182
697
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (956)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was definitively the worst hotel experience I ever had. And I almost never write negative reviews, but this has to be brought out. From the front desk to restaurant service to room service, it was terrible!
At the front desk they were incredible rude at our arrival, so after my colleague complained they gave her a better room, but left me on a very low floor. How rude can you be to not consider the second guest as well? I was standing right next to her, but not complaining. Lesson learned.
At the breakfast the main host was arrogant and you constantly get the feeling that he does not like the clientele he’s treating. I asked if on a Continental breakfast (simple combo for 17$ !!) I would have a croissant instead of the scone or muffin. Not possible. Seriously?
And for asking an additional ONE slice of toast I got 4$ upcharge. Seriously? In a hotel where I pay almost 400$ already you can’t spare a slice of bread? I think the most important of all is friendliness, then come these little services, treats. Not the newspaper in the morning or the yoga mat.
Also my TV wasn’t working, I couldn’t turn it off, so I called guest services. After 40 minutes still no “technician” as they call him, after 1 hour finally someone shows up.
I think this hotel is TERRIBLE. And it was definitively my LAST Kimpton stay!
Oh, I didn’t mention (and not so be all about to price, I just hate to be screwed).. Obviously I checked the breakfast bill (because of the slices of bread). And yes, they didn’t just add those, but also a 9$ gratuity UNDER the actual 18% (which was 3$).
Can you believe that? I asked and he barely excused himself and said it was a typo.
Sure.
Well. To save the day Jeff and Jess the technicians (and they are real good ones!!) just came in, while I’m writing this review. And they are STUNNING! Great great guys, very helpful, fast, they apologized for the inconvenience. Just GREAT! Give them a raise, put them to the front desk, the bar, the restaurant. You need people like them! Amazing.
For the rest, still the same. First and last time at INK48.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kerstin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hey Kerstin B,

I'm so sorry to hear about the multiple issues you discussed in your review. It sounds like your colleague was able to get upgraded because she mentioned it to the front desk. So just an FYI, if you have any issue with your room and would prefer to be moved, feel free to let the front desk know and I can assure you that they will do everything in their power to find you something that is to your liking.

As far as the restaurant is concerned, I again apologize. This certainly isn't an excuse, but keep in mind they are a separately run entity from the hotel. Given that, we obviously have a relationship with them and we do our best to make sure those good Kimpton vibes are felt throughout, and we've clearly come up short in regards to that.

On the bright side, I'm glad you got to meet Jeffrey and Jesse! They are two of our best and glad they were able to fix your TV issues smoothly.

I do hope this isn't your last stay at Ink48. If you do chose to come back, I can assure you we will do everything possible to improve upon your last experience. Furthermore, if you do make a booking, feel free to call us prior to your arrival, ask for the manager on duty, and they will be willing to assist as well.

Also, rest assured that all of the issues you brought up will be addressed with the front office team.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is not kid friendly. Had horrible, incompetent service at the hotel restaurant which even for NY was WAY overpriced for only just " acceptable" food. They didn't even want to separate check for a group of 6 people (2 moms and 2 kids each). I think they wanted the tip even though service was not great. Hotel room was clean and doable for a night. Will not stay here again. If you have kids or are cruising, I would NOT recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank B N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hello Ask B N,

So sorry to hear about your experience. I know this doesn't help what happened to you, but just an FYI, the restaurant is separately owned from the hotel and has a separate manager. Regardless, we obviously have a close relationship with them and I'm so sorry that you didn't get to enjoy the usual kid-friendly experience that Kimpton is known to provide.

What does help though is your honest feeback and just know that I will follow-up with regards to this matter to see how we can improve. Seems like the overall experience in the hotel was pretty solid, so I do hope you chose to come back again and give us another shot!

All my best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congers, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

First I would like to say that the hotel itself was awesome! Too cool, lots of musicians were in and out as we toured the lobby. Just my husband and I style. We just got married and came for a little getaway directly from our reception. (We both walked in still wearing our wedding clothes) I loved the atmosphere and everything was within walking distance! Justin at concierge was a darling and attempted several times to make our stay a memorable one. Although I must say no one else really did. Justin even asked if we told anyone that we were newly weds and I responded that I walked in wearing my gown we all laughed. But the trouble we went through trying to book this room as we were originally opting to stay at the muse until they wouldn't honor a price that was quoted to us and stayed on hold for over 20 mins this including several transfers to see if it could be rectified you would think knowing that we JUST got married they would have acknowledged it. No biggie. If this review was based on staffers/booking reservations going out of their way it would be less than average. Cant depend on only Justin to make the experience a bit better. He wasn't there 24hrs had he been I know he would've went above and beyond! Thanks Justin!!!! Nonetheless, that didn't stop us from having a GREAT time! We also had some trouble with the drain in our soaking spa tub as the water would drain on its own if the water wasn't running which was annoying but again we made the best of it. When we called about it they said they would send someone to see why this was happening but no one showed. We just let the water run the entire time while in the tub.
Honestly we would love to come back hopefully second time around would be better. We are pretty easy going.

Room Tip: 15th floor Great View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hey Cathy S.,

Seems like you had a pretty solid stay with us! First off, congrats on your honeymoon. Secondly, yes, Justin is the man. His service is second to none and we're lucky to have him. I do apologize that the other staff didn't seem to match his excellence, but it seems like overall, it was a good stay. Hope to see you here again soon! And again, congrats...

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is our first review of a hotel and this hotel is fabulous. We were in New York for our 51
wedding anniversary. The hotel and staff made it very special for us. Our room was absolutely wonderful with an incredible view. The location is a nice walk to Times Square. The entire staff
was very helpful and friendly especially Stephen at the front desk. We have been to New York many times and love the city and the theater. The ink48 will be our choice of hotels in New York in the future. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting NYC. We hope to see them again soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hey DonD63,

So glad you had such a great experience with us! It's feeback from peole like you that reassures us that we are doing our jobs well, and motivates us to continue on. Stephen is indeed one of our best and so glad you got to meet him.

Looking forward to seeing you here soon!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last week and although it's not in the heart of Times Square it is only a short 15 minute walk. This hotel far exceeded my expectations and the customer service is well above what I have experienced in my time. Andres at reception is incredibly knowledgable with NYC, and gave some awesome recommendations for places to eat! I honestly believe customer service in a place can make or break your holiday, and these guys were superb! The rooftop bar gives an amazing view of the NYC backdrop. The hotel itself is very well kept, spacious and super friendly. Definitely recommend this place for a stop in NYC!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Browns82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hello Browns82,

So glad you had a great time with us! Seems to me like you got to enjoy all the perks of staying at Ink48 in addition to all that the neighborhood has to offer. We always appreciate feedback and it's positive experiences from people like you (who also generously take time out to write a review) that reassures us that we are providing the excellent service we strive for.

Hope to see you here again sometime soon!

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is the first time I've written a review of a hotel. Our experience was so great that I felt we needed to share. My wife and I spent two nights at Ink48. We've stayed at several Kimpton hotels in Chicago and Washington D.C. over the last 10 years, but this tops the list by far. Amazing place -- and the staff was fabulous. The rooms are huge (by NYC standars) and everyone was very polite and obviously concerned about our stay -- even as we were leaving a member of the cleaning staff stopped us and asked if everything was satisfactory. The rooftop bar is must see for anyone coming to NYC. The rooftop is open to the public, and when we went to go to the rooftop we discovered a long line. We thought we were going to have to wait in the line, and so we started to make other plans. My wife was very disappointed. By chance, I asked the elevator operator if hotel guests needed to wait in line. "You're guests of the hotel?" he asked, and then before I could even confirm his question, he ushered us into the elevator. Wow. They take care of their own at Ink48. Some have noted that the location is a bit out of the way, but that's not a bad thing. In fact, it's why the rooftop view is so amazing. You're close enough to the skyline, but not too close -- you can really take it all in. It's also within easy walking distance of all the Subway stations we needed. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChanonRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#38 of 466 in New York City
3,400 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#61 of 466 in New York City
3,195 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 466 in New York City
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#77 of 466 in New York City
1,834 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#76 of 466 in New York City
5,185 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#73 of 466 in New York City
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Ink48 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Ink48 Hotel

Property: Kimpton Ink48 Hotel
Address: 653 11th Avenue at 48th, New York City, NY 10036-2004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Ink48 Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Ink48 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing