We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional! Blew away expectations.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Ink48 Hotel
Ranked #72 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional! Blew away expectations.”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I've never written a hotel review before, but am inspired by this hotel!

HUGE rooms by any standard, especially Manhattan standards.
Really attentive and friendly staff.

Do yourself a favor get a massage at the spa and then go hang on the roof. The spa service is amazing, request Sophia if you can.

No coffeemakers in the room, but they will provide one if you ask. There is great coffee in the lobby each morning.
The location is not Times Square craziness, but you can walk there in a blink if that's your jam.

We will be back next week for our return trip~

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be triple the size of standard NYC hotels. Ask to be away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Hey Brynne H,

Thanks for the kind words! We LOVE candid feedback, especially when it is so positive. It reassures us that we are doing our jobs well and motivates us to continue on the path we're on.

Hope to see you here again sometime soon!

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,012
    785
    207
    81
    60
See reviews for
400
1,300
182
697
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (956)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Love this hotel! The lobby is lush and beautifully decorated. It just draws you in. Rooms are small but modern and well appointed. Rooftop lounge is a must with outdoor access and unbelievable views of the city. All of the staff are professional and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKMeehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Hey KKMeehan,

Thanks so much for the kind words! Love to hear that we hit all the marks and especially love hearing about our great staff.

Hope to see you here again sometime soon...

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband, daughter (13) and myself spent a night at this hotel in late May 2014. We were in the city to see a broadway show. When we arrived, the doorman was quick to get our bags and the front desk attendent was extremely friendly. We asked for a lunch restaurant and he gave us a few in the neighborhood and was very satisfied with his suggestions. The room was nice, modern and the beds seemed comfy. The hotel is in a weird area - car dealers on all sides - very close to the Hudson River and boat docks. The area seemed to be a bit rundown, but appeared to be quiet....WRONG! When we returned to our room around midnight, we were shocked at how clearly we could hear the noise from the nightclub next door. I believe the club is called Rooftop 48 and the rooftop bar was RIGHT accross from on room on the 5th floor. I could hear girls laughing and screaming, glasses clinking and thump, thump of music. On top of it, there was a line of people trying to get into the club lined up on the street that was so noisy, the three of us didn't sleep at all! Then to add insult to injury, there was a trash compactor area/truck under the hotel that went on around 5:00AM and screeched for at least 20 minutes. Insane! I would never stay in this hotel unless I was on the opposite side of 48th street - however, when I complained to the front desk, they said the only rooms with double beds are on the 48th street side. So....if you need a room with 2 beds - do not stay in the hotel, unless you like nightclub noise without actually being in a nightclub. I'm a Kimpton member and really enjoy their hotels, however, this one was a big thumbs down. In fact, when I complained to the front desk, the guy sounded like he heard that complaint a million times before. He actually said "Yeah, I know....it's loud". I felt like I was tricked! Oh well..live and learn.

Room Tip: Do not book a room on the 48th street side if you want any sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank donnakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Hey Donnakat,

Thank you for your candid feedback. I sincerely apologize for the noise issues you had during your stay. It is true that all the rooms that have 2 double beds face north (where the club is) and that on weekends, it can be quite noisy. Rest assured though, we are doing everything in our power to reduce this problem for guests.

Still, it seems like you enjoyed the room itself and got to interact with some of our awesome staff.

I hope you chose to stay with us again and if you do make a booking, please be sure to call the hotel, mention the noise issues you've had in the past, and I can assure you we will do everything in our power place you away from the club and therefore give you a quieter, more relazing experience.

Thanks again for your candid feedback. It certainly wasn't the best review we've had, but it was just as important b/c it shows us where we need improvement, and we're always striving to do better.

All my best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at Ink 48 in late May and in my humble opinion it's a great hotel. The staff were very friendly, the room was nice a clean, the restaurant was very good and the roof top lounge was literally spectacular. If I was forced to comment on anything I'd say that the walk to TS or points East was a little long but the upside to that are the health benefits of walking (10,000 steps).

Room Tip: Higher floor with any view
See more room tips
Green Features: Kimpton Hotels seems to be very in-tune with an Eco-friendly business model.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonM1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Hey GordonM1957,

Thanks so much for the kind words! Hope you stay with us again sometime soon...

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Astronomical price. But don't forget, this is Manhattan where a 400 sqft nothing apartment rents for $2500.00 per mo. Hell's Kitchen has been revitalized so the area is pretty good. In back is the Intrepid Museum.

Room Tip: Parking (no in and out service) is $55. The service at the restaurant is iffy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I made a reservation for the night of June 7, since it was close to pier 88 for my cruise.
We arrived at 3 pm, which is check in time. I ordered two double beds, for my 14-year-old grandson and myself (grandmother)

Upon arrival, the girl said she was sorry, apologized politely, and told me that my room would be ready at 3:30. Okay, only 30 minutes. At 3:45, I inquired at the desk again to be told, that they were waiting for the carpet to dry, it had to be washed. It should only be an hour or so. I needed the pharmacy, so decided to do some shopping. At 5 pm I returned expecting a room. My room still wasn't ready, but they would upgrade to suite. We went to the room expecting two beds. What we found was a king size bed, and roll away bed. My grandson (almost 6 foot tall) was not a good fit. I asked why wasn't I told that the upgrade wouldn't have two beds, I received sorry again.

I can only say, I will take a taxi to pier next time, and stay at the Hilton where I can expect two beds when ordered.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We've just got back from a stay at Ink 48. We really could not fault the service given. Every member of staff was polite and friendly. I especially wish to thank Justin at reception, who checked us in. He gave us good information about where to go to see the sights and also rapidly changed our room after we noticed some serious noise in our first room, noting we had travelled many hours and knew we would need sleep. We used the restaurant for breakfast and a couple of evening meals. The food and service was excellent. We stayed in Room 808 and this gave us a good view of the city, but was quiet enough that traffic noise was at a minimum. You could see the lights of a Times Square from one of our windows. To access the city was easy, either by foot or taxi. Times Square was only a few blocks away. We had a lovely time, and nothing was too much trouble. We were even able to borrow an adaptor from reception when mine stopped working. We were truly grateful for our stay and had we had the chance, would have liked to thank the staff personally. I'm sure to return to New York again and would not hesitate to stay at Ink 48 again.

Room Tip: Room 808 is at the front corner of the hotel and gives good views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#39 of 466 in New York City
3,400 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#61 of 466 in New York City
3,195 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 466 in New York City
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#78 of 466 in New York City
1,835 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#75 of 466 in New York City
5,187 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#73 of 466 in New York City
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Ink48 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Ink48 Hotel

Property: Kimpton Ink48 Hotel
Address: 653 11th Avenue at 48th, New York City, NY 10036-2004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Ink48 Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Ink48 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing