We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Ranked #161 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Due to an AM flight, we arrived early and were allowed to check in early. That was a real plus!! The rooms are small but clean and comfy. The hot breakfast is a good deal especially in NYC. The Herald Square location is great. We love Hampton Inns !!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Annette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

850 - 856 of 2,212 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Rooms were clean and reasonably sized (for New York). Beds were very comfortable and the staff helpful and pleasant. Only complaint is that the a/c was through window right by bed, which made for one side of the bed being pretty frigid! Location was great - close to Macy's and Empire State Building.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank OTTontheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Very friendly and helpful front desk staff. Good location, near subways and Penn Station. Tiny rooms, lots of group tourists, and noisy street/hotel but otherwise good. Free breakfast was popular. A very cheerful place I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

First off, I'll start by saying that I am a big fan of Hampton Inn when it comes to work travel, so why not use them for a NYC weekend? Big mistake. I stayed in a room with a king size bed on the 20th (top) floor.

What the hotel has going for it is the location. Right around the corner from the Empire State building, Macy's and Fifth Ave, easy walking to Times Square, etc. And the staff was very pleasant and the hotel and room very clean and modern. However, there are some major flaws.

First is space, the rooms are depressingly small. So if you're sharing the space with your kids like I did, you'll be stepping over each other. This also poses an issue with the air-conditioning which it a below the window unit vs.your typical forced air vents. Because the room is so compact, the AC blows right on the bed making for some a frigid night sleep.

Secondly the rooms are very close to each other and can be noisy if your neighbors are. The room next to us kept opening and closing their door early in the morning and it was so loud I thought it was our door.

Thirdly, the included breakfast is sparse compared to other Hampton Inn offerings. Processed egg omelets with cheese wiz was the only hot item besides the waffle makers.

The final issue we had was with the elevators. There are only two for the entire 20 story building. So there is always a wait.

Again, the prime location and friendly staff might make this a perfect place if you're traveling solo. But if there's more than two of you and you want some space, I suggest looking at other hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This Hotel offered excellent service in general but the rate per night($) should be improved. I paid around $2,000.00 for 6 days/5 night, which I consider a little bit expensive. The breakfast service was of good quality. The cleanliness of the room was superb. I definitely recommend this hotel for other people to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Jorge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel was located in an excellent location in New York close to times Square and Broadway theaters.Staff was friendly,efficient and helpful. Will definitely stay at this location on our next vacation to New York.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 169russells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

very well located hotel with great staff of people ,. clean ,comfortable rooms and very nice breakfast . noise from busy N.Y. street typical so ask for high room . in the midst of many very nice Irish pubs .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank thetravelerSCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#192 of 469 in New York City
1,207 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#147 of 469 in New York City
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#152 of 469 in New York City
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg

Address: 59 W. 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in New York City
#136 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#187 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £101 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our prime hotel location puts you in walking distance to the Empire State Building, Times Square, Broadway, Madison Square Garden, Herald Square, Penn Station, and many other top NYC attractions. Enjoy amenities including free hot breakfast daily during your stay, free WiFi access throughout the hotel including guest rooms, and free access to our fitness center and business center. Our guest rooms offer coffeemakers, flat-screen televisions with premium movie channels, and a work desk. We are a pet friendly hotel (non-refundable deposit required; please review our policies for more details). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn 35th St. Empire State Building Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn New York City
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing