We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to it all and a good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Ranked #173 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Close to it all and a good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

My daughter and I met my sister for a long weekend in NYC and she had booked this hotel through an Expedia deal. She paid $855 for 6 nights and a flight from Detroit, not a bad deal. The hotel is very close to the subway and Times Square was only a few minutes walk away. The breakfast varied each day so it didn't get to boring. There were cheese "omelettes" and ham, eggs and sausage, french toast sticks and sausage. Other items included the usual - oatmeal (from a pouch), yogurt, fruit, muffins, donuts, etc. The hotel was very clean but small as I hear most NYC hotel rooms are. It was a good home base for a weekend visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    878
    803
    230
    58
    42
See reviews for
776
544
97
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

This is a very nice hotel. I got a great deal through hotwire and, because of the price and the fact that it is in Manhattan, I was not expecting much but only to sleep and do some shopping and sightseeing. Boy was a surprised! Everything is pretty much walking distance from this hotel. There is even a subway steps away. I almost never get a free breakfast (95%) when I stay at hotels, no matter the stat rating. Thus, I was surprised to not only get breakfast with my stay, but get smorgasbord. The only problem I had was that my room was taken due to the fact that I did not call in a late check-in (a day later, ops!), but they quickly accommodated my needs even though this was my fault. If I was on a budget to NYC, I would stay here again, although I would want to explore another hotel next time in town, but that is just personal choice. Also, if you do want to stay in this area, there is a Hilton Gardens hotel right next door. After keeping the prices, don’t waste your time or money! Pick the Hampton.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank car200408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puget Sound, Washington
Level Contributor
192 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

We lucked into a great rate of $139 for this hotel, and were very pleased with the property and its location. The hotel is at Herald Square with a subway station on the next corner. Times Square is easily within walking distance; just follow Broadway diagonally and you are there in minutes. Rooms were clean and furnishings very nice. High speed internet worked great, and there was also a free business center downstairs if you wanted to print anything. Breakfast was way more than I expected in an NYC hotel. Friendly staff. A/C was great and very welcome as Manhattan was having a series of its typical steamy summer days.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azzure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

I stayed at this hotel for one night in July and one night in August. This hotel was clean and in an adequate location. However, if you plan on walking (not using subways, taxis or buses) to get around, you are better off moving up towards Times Square area...the attractions are more accessible by foot there. The rooms in this hotel are very small, like most NYC hotels. I did not use the free breakfast. The bellman was helpful with luggage and getting taxis etc. There are only 2 elevators for 20 floors and they are INCREDIBLY slow. We had a room with a view of the building next door. We had some problems with check-in at this hotel. We arrived early, around 11:00am. The person at the front desk informed me my room was not ready and would not be ready until 3:00pm. He suggested we check our luggage with the bellman and come back at that time. So we gave our luggage to the bellman (who was very sweet) but our luggage was left in open view and unattended for about 20 mins in a very crowded, cramped lobby. We waited in the lobby until our baggage was safely stored away. Then we walked around NYC for few hours and came back to the hotel around 2:00pm, at which time he once again informed me that my room was stiil not ready. I was not impressed, so we sat and waited in the lobby. About 5 minutes after we sat down, a room was magically ready. The same thing happened when we returned to this hotel in August, only this time we were prepared for it and planned accordingly. Throughout the summer I have stayed at 5 different hotel chains and all of them either had our room ready when we checked in or shortly thereafter. I am generally impressed with Hampton Inns...but not this one. Overall, this hotel is ok, but it isn't as good as the Hampton Inn Times Square North which is in a better location and has MUCH larger rooms, more staff and better service.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharpay10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNetherland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

We ended our holiday with a five day stay in New York. With two teenagers this location is great. The coffee, tea and juice were always there on the way back into the room, even at night. Very clean rooms, a little small, but if you are in New York you should spend as less time as possible in your room. The shower (massage) was terrific with enough hot water. Staff was very helpful in arranging for cab/limo to take us to airport on departure.
There is a subway stop just steps from the front door. It is VERY walkable to Times Square and Broadway plays.
Breakfast was good: fresh fruits, breads, doughnuts, cereals, eggs, juices, oatmeal. Always kept stocked full.
We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, especially if you can get a great rate (Travelzoo.com)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannibalNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

This hotel had everything we needed, except for 2 extra nights we wanted to add at the last minute. The staff was very kind and helpful. The breakfast choices made one want to stay and fill up on everything. Fresh fruits, breads, doughnuts, cereals, eggs, juices, oatmeal. (You name it). Always kept stocked full. The business center was a plus and the workout room was sufficient. Bedding and rooms were clean and nice. Elevators were fast. Subway was close by. Only confusion was the park and go rate. They failed to mention that I had to pay the parking and return with the receipt to have the charges removed from my hotel bill.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

On the whole, I'd have to say I liked this hotel a lot. You certainly should stay for the view (we were on the 2nd floor) or room size (you can hardly walk around without having to move your suitcases), but you should certainly stay for the location and the value. The beds are great and the staff is sufficient. We mostly used the stairs as the elevators are very slow.

The subway is steps away and you're only about eight blocks from Times Square. It's also very safe.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caseyfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#174 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#168 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#150 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Address: 59 W. 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Family Hotel in New York City
#138 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#191 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our prime hotel location puts you in walking distance to the Empire State Building, Times Square, Broadway, Madison Square Garden, Herald Square, Penn Station, and many other top NYC attractions. Enjoy amenities including free hot breakfast daily during your stay, free WiFi access throughout the hotel including guest rooms, and free access to our fitness center and business center. Our guest rooms offer coffeemakers, flat-screen televisions with premium movie channels, and a work desk. We are a pet friendly hotel (non-refundable deposit required; please review our policies for more details). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn 35th St. Empire State Building Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn New York City
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing