We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent rooms, but terrible breakfast and a bit over crowded”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Ranked #155 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2011

The rooms were small but big enough for a weekend and there were comfortable beds. The bathroom was nice. The cleaners could do a more thorough job, but it was pretty much decent.

Great location - easy to get to Greenwich Village on the metro and nice to be so close to the Empire State Building.

The hotel itself is a bit overcrowded with only two lifts for 20 floors of people. The breakfast is awful. You'd be better off going to one of the delis down the street.

Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoebrigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,337 - 1,343 of 2,208 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2011

We chose to stay in this hotel based on reviews and I would agree that this hotel is in a very convenient location. The subway entrance is very close and there are many stores nearby, although you do need to travel a bit further for decent restaurants and other food outlets.

Unfortunately, the negative aspects outweighed the positives.... The most disappointing aspect of the hotel was the breakfast. There is not enough room in the breakfast area considering the number of people the hotel can accommodate, meaning many people were forced to stand. Additionally, there was not enough food available to feed the volume of people passing through. We ate there 2 of the 8 days we were there (because it was such a terrible experience) and on both occasions they had no fruit, yogurt or hot food and there was a huge queue of people waiting for the toaster. We were also unimpressed by the disposable paper plates and plastic cutlery! I understand that it was a busy period accounting for the limited seating, but there is no excuse for not having enough food for the number of people who checked in.

We also became frustrated at having to wait long periods for the elevators (often over 5 minutes). The air conditioning/ heating unit is very noisy and goes on and off during the night which woke us up. The rooms were small (as expected in Manhattan) but comfortable. However, the shower flooded the rest of the bathroom every time we showered due to its poor design. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful but there were not enough staff at the front desk meaning we had to wait a long time for someone to help us on a few occasions.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

I stayed with my daughter for her 21st birthday. We had a great time, the staff were helpful, the room was satisfactory but small. the worst feature was the heating/air conditioning which was very noisy and the room went cold very quickly. when the heating came on it was a very loud fan that woke us up and blew the curtains excessively.
The breakfast was good - but there was always a crowd around the toaster and the waffle iron and pastries.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Stayed at this Hampton Inn for the first time in October 2010 for a business trip with colleagues. It's located right next door to a Hilton Garden Inn and is close to walk to many sites. Clean room, quiet stay. The room was small, but that's to expected in NYC. The usual Hampton Inn free breakfast available in the morning. Starbucks is just up the block to the corner. It was a pleasant stay and I'd book this property again for either business or leisure.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SavedByZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We stayed at the hotel in July 2009 for four nights.
Grate location 5 min from the Emire State Building.
The room was little for us 2 adults 2 teenagers and 1 child, but it was our choise.
The fassilities in the room\bath room were eassy to opperate.
The room was clean every time we got back.
There is a nice intenet room, but it is best to bring a Laptop\Tablet.
The breakfeast area was a little small and somtiems we had to wait for a table, I'm not so keen on American breakfeast anyway.
Last but not least the crew was wery worm and frendly and the BellBoy even stood up for us when we had an arument with a Shattle driver.
We wish we had the money to come back there.
Rigger,
Israel

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YarivModiinIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Me and my wife enjoyed a two-night stay here during one of the busiest tourism weeks in NYC, between Christmas and New Year's.

We found the hotel pretty easily using the GPS, and parked our car in the garage directly across the street. The garage is not owned by the hotel, however you get a discounted rate if staying there (just be sure to have your parking ticket validated before you leave); total cost to park was $70 over the 2 days. Check in was a breeze and we made our way up to our room on the 18th floor, where we found a standard size hotel room for NYC (small). Best part of the room was the fantastic view of the Empire State Building, which is only a block away.

As is standard with Hampton Inns, there is a complimentary breakfast available, which includes both hot and cold breakfast items. Unfortunately, this was not a great experience here. Extremely crowded and busy, which lead to a very chaotic scene and few available options (seemed like the staff was not ready and replenishing). Fortunately though, this was really the only negative experience about our stay (that, and the fact that traffic outside was a bit noisy at times, but that is expected given it is NYC).

I have stayed at many Hampton Inns, and have generally enjoyed them because they tend to be modern hotels with no overkill, and good value. Value is of course subjective and the hotel is certainly pricey, but that is to be expected given it's excellent location right in the heart of midtown Manhattan. We were able to walk around and see a lot of the city from the location though, and there is a metro train stop right outside of the hotel.

Overall, it's a good hotel and I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmcmanus41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

This hotel is very well located on Herald Square (next to the Empire State Building), it's very clean, the beds are very comfy, the breakfast is convenient, the staff is OK but the biggest problem is the air-conditioning. It is very very noisy, believe me, I mean it. The rooms are very bad insulated from the cold, so you can't turn the AC off, you've got to bear the noise...
It's also true elevators are very busy when it's breakfast time so you'd better be patient (or take the stairs) this can be a real problem if you are a disabled person.
That's why I'm saying the hotel is far from being bad but it's not good eithe, it's just OK.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#146 of 469 in New York City
2,008 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#196 of 469 in New York City
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#148 of 469 in New York City
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg

Address: 59 W. 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in New York City
#136 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#187 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £103 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our prime hotel location puts you in walking distance to the Empire State Building, Times Square, Broadway, Madison Square Garden, Herald Square, Penn Station, and many other top NYC attractions. Enjoy amenities including free hot breakfast daily during your stay, free WiFi access throughout the hotel including guest rooms, and free access to our fitness center and business center. Our guest rooms offer coffeemakers, flat-screen televisions with premium movie channels, and a work desk. We are a pet friendly hotel (non-refundable deposit required; please review our policies for more details). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn 35th St. Empire State Building Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn New York City
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing