We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super, yet again ...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Ranked #177 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super, yet again ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

Thank you for yet another enjoyable stay at the Hampton Inn. I arrived at around 11.00 prepared to drop of my bag prior to hitting the streets of NYC, but the very nice girl on reception said if I would like to wait 10 minutes my room would be ready, and it was. Great, comfortable rooms with ample space. The room was spotlessly clean and the beds are very comfortable after all the walking entailed in a day in New York. I love the location of this hotel - just across the road from Macy's and close to the subway and good bars and restaurants. The breakfast also really sets you up for the day!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Posh1Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    788
    227
    58
    40
See reviews for
750
536
97
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
College Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

I stayed near Times Square once before at a terrible dirty hotel so decided to go with a big chain this time for some more quality assurance. I was relieved to find this place as a clean Manhattan hotel. While $200 is more than I'm used to spending for 1 night, the location was really worth it and this hotel was the cheapest I could find while feeling confident the rooms would be OK. Walked to/from Penn Station, Broadway theatre, great restaurants, and Times Square (none of the walks were over 20 minutes). The room was small with a nice bathroom. Breakfast buffet included in price was a bonus. A typical standard hotel room.

Cons: The curtains didn't close all the way so the light woke me up early in the morning. Also, the breakfast wasn't well-run. Most items were empty/missing for most of the time I was there, trying to jump up to get what I wanted when it was finally refilled before everyone else.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sprager86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

If you need a base from which to explore NYC, then this hotel is perfect. It's ideally located minutes away from the 'fashion district' if shopping is your thing, and there are also two subway stations close by that allow you to connect to the main lines heading downtown (Soho, Greenwich, etc) and uptown (towards Central Park). It's also walking distance from Madison Square Gardens and Times Square.

The rooms are stylish, spacious, comfortable and very well equipped - the beds are huge. Although its located in a busy part of town, it's not overly noisy and we got an excellent nights sleep. The staff are friendly and helpful and provide luggage storage if you want to squeeze in a little more exploration of the city before you head back to the airport on your last day.

Breakfast was fine, although I would recommend getting down there as early as possible, as it got pretty busy and stuff ran out faster than it could be replenished!

Overall, a highly recommended hotel in an excellent location.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

any hotel that does early check-in is great for one...love the staff love the people, this is one of the smaller hamptons though when they say 4 people this time they mean it...very cheap Great Breakfast!...Peter is awesome (Front desk check-in) We didnt get to see him last time we stayed. Oh and "angry breakfast refill dude" He's awesome!!! Hate Business in New york but Love this Place!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheflace08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

- expensive for a small room (350$ per night)
-right downtown
- good experience - its a Hamptons
-got a free coupon so thats why I went there, otherwise sleep in New jersey its more affortable

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnycalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

I stayed on in New York for a few days after a work trip, and the Hampton was perfect for me. It was one of the cheaper places in Manhatten, and being close to times square, 5th avenue etc, the location and price were great. Breakfast was basic, but more than good enough for me. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and very quiet. It's a big thumbs-up from me!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollyolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

Clean, nice rooms, friendly and helpful staff. Nice view over Empire state building. Location is excellent for tourists. Really enjoyed my three-night-stay in January. Much better than the other hotels in the same price-range I have stayed at in NY. Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raggis_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#168 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#97 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#150 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Address: 59 W. 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 Family Hotel in New York City
#139 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#192 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our prime hotel location puts you in walking distance to the Empire State Building, Times Square, Broadway, Madison Square Garden, Herald Square, Penn Station, and many other top NYC attractions. Enjoy amenities including free hot breakfast daily during your stay, free WiFi access throughout the hotel including guest rooms, and free access to our fitness center and business center. Our guest rooms offer coffeemakers, flat-screen televisions with premium movie channels, and a work desk. We are a pet friendly hotel (non-refundable deposit required; please review our policies for more details). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn 35th St. Empire State Building Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn New York City
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing