We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and easy to get to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Ranked #157 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2011

This is a perfect, budget hotel in NYC. The rooms are small but adequate. The staff was friendly and professional. The breakfast was included and pretty good.

My wife and I stayed here for one night on a layover back from Europe. I wanted something that was not expensive, easily accessable to/from JFK and centrally located. This Hampton Inn was perfect. The plan was to take the Long Island Rail Road to Penn Station and walk to the hotel. We were tired so we took a cab, but we took the LIRR back and it was easy and convinient for this hotel. It's about 7-8 blocks south of Time Square and 25 blocks south of Central Park.

Overall, highly recommend and will probably stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,379 - 1,385 of 2,278 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2011

first off, don't be taken in by any upgrades for a "empire view" as the hotel is too short to ever get past the building across the street to take in any view from your room.

corner room was spacious but others are definitely more cramped.

fitness room is adequate

breakfast is available and is a nice perk with decent complimentary hot offerings. they extend it to i believe 10am which is nice as well.

the business center has an internet censor on it called "net nanny" so you cant even surf your facebook page without it making you feel like a pervert. when you agree to let it monitor your use, it just locks up and never connects you. quite annoying.
wifi is in the room but can be spotty and slow

had to request their heavenly system which is supposed to be standard and what was brought up was a lumpy down comforter - seriously, look at the photos -- it looks like someone was smuggling tennis balls

an annoying heater in the room that had a mispaced sensor hat didnt accurately read the temperature in the room. i had to constantly adjust it because it would be either too cold or too hot. made for an uncomfortable nights sleep.

staff is very helpful and friendly though.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Retrorich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Thank you for yet another enjoyable stay at the Hampton Inn. I arrived at around 11.00 prepared to drop of my bag prior to hitting the streets of NYC, but the very nice girl on reception said if I would like to wait 10 minutes my room would be ready, and it was. Great, comfortable rooms with ample space. The room was spotlessly clean and the beds are very comfortable after all the walking entailed in a day in New York. I love the location of this hotel - just across the road from Macy's and close to the subway and good bars and restaurants. The breakfast also really sets you up for the day!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Posh1Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

I stayed near Times Square once before at a terrible dirty hotel so decided to go with a big chain this time for some more quality assurance. I was relieved to find this place as a clean Manhattan hotel. While $200 is more than I'm used to spending for 1 night, the location was really worth it and this hotel was the cheapest I could find while feeling confident the rooms would be OK. Walked to/from Penn Station, Broadway theatre, great restaurants, and Times Square (none of the walks were over 20 minutes). The room was small with a nice bathroom. Breakfast buffet included in price was a bonus. A typical standard hotel room.

Cons: The curtains didn't close all the way so the light woke me up early in the morning. Also, the breakfast wasn't well-run. Most items were empty/missing for most of the time I was there, trying to jump up to get what I wanted when it was finally refilled before everyone else.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sprager86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

If you need a base from which to explore NYC, then this hotel is perfect. It's ideally located minutes away from the 'fashion district' if shopping is your thing, and there are also two subway stations close by that allow you to connect to the main lines heading downtown (Soho, Greenwich, etc) and uptown (towards Central Park). It's also walking distance from Madison Square Gardens and Times Square.

The rooms are stylish, spacious, comfortable and very well equipped - the beds are huge. Although its located in a busy part of town, it's not overly noisy and we got an excellent nights sleep. The staff are friendly and helpful and provide luggage storage if you want to squeeze in a little more exploration of the city before you head back to the airport on your last day.

Breakfast was fine, although I would recommend getting down there as early as possible, as it got pretty busy and stuff ran out faster than it could be replenished!

Overall, a highly recommended hotel in an excellent location.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

any hotel that does early check-in is great for one...love the staff love the people, this is one of the smaller hamptons though when they say 4 people this time they mean it...very cheap Great Breakfast!...Peter is awesome (Front desk check-in) We didnt get to see him last time we stayed. Oh and "angry breakfast refill dude" He's awesome!!! Hate Business in New york but Love this Place!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheflace08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

- expensive for a small room (350$ per night)
-right downtown
- good experience - its a Hamptons
-got a free coupon so thats why I went there, otherwise sleep in New jersey its more affortable

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnycalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#203 of 473 in New York City
1,229 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#247 of 473 in New York City
2,548 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#144 of 473 in New York City
2,055 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg

Address: 59 W. 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#135 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#186 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £89 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our prime hotel location puts you in walking distance to the Empire State Building, Times Square, Broadway, Madison Square Garden, Herald Square, Penn Station, and many other top NYC attractions. Enjoy amenities including free hot breakfast daily during your stay, free WiFi access throughout the hotel including guest rooms, and free access to our fitness center and business center. Our guest rooms offer coffeemakers, flat-screen televisions with premium movie channels, and a work desk. We are a pet friendly hotel (non-refundable deposit required; please review our policies for more details). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn 35th St. Empire State Building Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn New York City
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing