We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 21:00
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience New York Public Library
from US$35.00
More Info
from US$25.00
More Info
from US$109.00
More Info
from US$74.00
More Info
Reviews (12,789)
Filter reviews
6,749 results
Traveller rating
4,560
1,796
342
34
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,560
1,796
342
34
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful building reading room bryant park winnie the pooh map room gutenberg bible children's section children's books book lovers free tour new york stuffed animals gift shop amazing architecture worth a visit on display fifth avenue
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 6,749 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

What a stunningly beautiful building inside and out. The staff who work there, be it on security or in the gift shop are downright rude. Actually ruined our experience.

Thank Sarah-JaneSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We went on a Saturday, the same weekend as the NY marathon. It was really busy. We took the FREE tour offered by the library (walk in the main entrance and head left to the information desk). It's a gorgeous library and great tour but a little hard to hear the guides because it is really loud in there (not the quiet areas) and also easy to lose your guide. When our tour was over I'm pretty sure we were missing half our group. Still, it's an interesting tour and a gorgeous library. I would highly recommend it. The tour lasts about an hour and a half.

Thank Bookish_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago

an oasis of books, calm, where time slows down and you can work in peace; such a great library, better in the mornings

Thank NorthStar48837784832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago

Located in one of the trendiest areas of the city, the library is rich in architectural beauty and history.

Thank DipuKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago

Just go and soak in the atmosphere, the fine craftsmanship, and architecture. A great visit, a well used public library, well worthy of your time.

Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago

This is what all other libraries strive to be. As grand as the avenue it proudly sits - - and don't worry you are protected by spectacular lion sculptures Patience and Fortitude

Thank 384deano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago

….WHICH MAKES MY RATING 5 OUT OF 10

Plenty of reviews down-page mention the great architecture, extensive facilities and good service available here. But my major interest was in finding a PC I could access – something I often do at public libraries when traveling. Here I was disappointed – NY PUBLIC LIBRARY does have a public access computer room (somewhat out of the way at the end of a long hall at basement level) with about 100 PCs, but all but 4 needed membership of the library. And one was out of service leaving only 3 available to outsiders (crikey, even my small town library has 10) resulting in a line of people waiting for access (dunno how long this line would have been in the era before many people carry personal devices with internet access).
So I marked the joint down on this feature.

Balancing this on my personal ledger seeing lunch time was imminent was the amount of sit-down areas in the region immediately surrounding the library building. For a start the spacious steps were being used by many people to down a sandwich while checking the passing parade on busy 5th Ave. The library augmented this with a number of outdoor chairs distributed around this area. To the left was a section with chairs and tables plus a few food carts, even more popular with lunchers. More seats and tables were available to the right.
Around the back of the library is busy BRYANT PARK – a good deal of this spacious 200mx200m area is given over to similar chairs and tables or park benches – some shaded by umbrellas, others under the trees. Quite crowded when I passed by. There were quite a few cafes and other food retailers in this area.
On the lookout for somewhere to buy and enjoy a hot dog, I marked the joint up on this point.

CONCLUSION – if you want free access to a PC be prepared to wait. If you are in central midtown and looking for somewhere to sit down, relax, perhaps grab a bite and check the scene, the outside surrounds do the job nicely. BTW – people often complain of difficulty in finding a rest room when exploring MANHATTAN. The library interior has a few.

Thank blackeldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

What an hidden gem! Spectacular building, helpful staff and hours of history enjoyed by everyone

Was enjoyed by grandparents and our teens!

1  Thank RoguesMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago

Art exhibits, history, architectural design..great space.. lots of visitors, meander thru reading rooms..well maintained.

Thank mariaaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago

The New York Public Library is an active library, but is also effectively a brilliant museum. Admission is free to all of the public. First off, the building itself is grand, historic, and replete with fine architecture and design elements. That alone would make the building a must-see for Midtown. However, there also are many opportunities for visitors to view some of its collections, ranging from old newspapers and magazines, to city land records, to the history of the New York Public Library system itself. Countless movies have been filmed in here, and be sure to go to the top floor to view the famous reading room and murals. Note - many parts of the library are restricted for research only, and closed to sightseers.

Thank TYPSUKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews