We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel & Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
Ranked #296 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The GEM Hotel in New York's Chelsa neighbourhood is a wonderful boutique hotel. It's located in a safe and clean neighbourhood with beautiful homes and businesses, upon entry you are always greeted politely by Jeffery - a wonderful and informative guest services representative. Take the smooth riding elevator upstairs to a spotless, well designed guest room with superior furnishings, hardware, and electronicsI I stayed for three days and it was perfect spot to enjoy all that NY City has to offer. You can book this property via Choice Hotels International.
Fitness centre, business centre - with computers and printer - perfect for printing maps, tickets and discount promotions for site seeing adventures. You will not be dissapointed!

Room Tip: Spotless brand new rooms with state of the art furnishings and electronics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEMChelseaFOM, Front Office Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Greetings Robert H, thank you so much for your positive review. Chelsea is our favorite neighborhood and we are happy to hear you enjoyed our boutique hotel! I agree with you our location does have nice homes and business with many restaurants and unqiue shops nearby. Jeffrey is so motivated to hear that you have mentioned him by name and I will share your comments with the rest of our team. We would be honored to have you stay with us and look forward to your return to New York and our hotel!


Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

922 - 928 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

First, let me say I would definitely stay here again. The location is superb for me: I love the scale of Chelsea and all the greenery and the access to wonderful restaurants. While I was at the GEM, I walked the High Line and it was wonderful.

The hotel is on a beautiful residential block and easily accessible to the subway (23rd St. station). There's a roof deck that is very pleasant, too. The room was clean and crisp, with a nice modern bathroom and because it was an interior room with a queen bed, very quiet. I had asked for a quiet room. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and they provide good extras: free Internet, free bottled water and the in-room coffee service.

The only possible drawback was the room size: quite small. It wasn't oppressive, just tight--fine for me alone, but small. Because the furniture is white and the walls light, it was OK and not too dark. Next time, I will ask for a room on 22nd Street--more light and more room and a nice view. . .but it will be more noisy too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Good Day, JanieD, thank you for sharing your experience with us. I agree you with that we are in a great location with many restaurants and evening entertainment nearby. Indeed, our hotel is very close to the subway station for those who would like to see other areas of the city. I apologize for the size of the room you were in and I would like to recommend reserving our Penthouse Suite the next time you visit Chelsea. The penthouse suite is our most spacious room and has a terrace with beautiful scenery of the Big Apple. Our team will be motivated to know that you were pleased with the services they provide. We would be honored to have you stay with us and we all hope see you again soon!


Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My company used to use this hotel for employee business travel so I stayed her many, many times. The hotel has a lot going for it, but its best asset is the staff (Shout outs to Deborah, Jeff, Marcello, Jenny, Dimitri & Rudy). Everyone was always willing to go out of their way to help in any way.

Yes, the rooms are small. But they are just right for someone who is not going to be spending much time in their room.

The location is great. One block to the E train. And within walking distance of many restauraunts, shopping, etc.

I really wish my company and the Gem could have reached an agreement so we could continue using this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WifeyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Greetings WifeyG, what we can we say, WOW, we are so happy that we exceeded your expectations of our hotel. I will share your thoughts and comments about your review to the team and know they will be excited to now that you have mentioned some of them by name. All of us are constantly motivated to deliver the finest quality of service to all of our guests. I started with at the hotel not too long ago and agree with you our location is very nice with great restaurants to enjoy delicious cuisines. We are sorry, that your company does not use our hotel currently, but we always welcome you back with open arms. Thank you again for your great review!!!


Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I was only there one night, but I will be back. Good location. Nice restaurants around them. A roof top sitting area with tables and chairs to relax in.

Room Tip: Great views from the roof top!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sexinthecityNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Hello sexinthecityNC, we all thank you for your review about our hotel. I agree with you the views of the city at the rooftop are really amazing. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we can't wait to see you again!


Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

If you want a clean, affordable, modern hotel located in a nice neighborhood with plenty of restaurants and just a few subway stops from all of the attractions, this is the place for you. If you want to throw a party in your room for more than 2 people, don't stay here.

The Gem Hotel is 1 block for the ACE 23rd street subway station (8th avenue lines). It located nice neighborhood with plenty of restaurants (next to the hotel that was both small grocery, bar and restaurant). A few blocks down 8th ave was a number of restaurants like the Rocking horse Cafe - great, unusual Mexican food and Margaritas). The High Line is a short walk on 20th and 10th ave, We were 1 stop from Penn Station and 5 stops from the WTC memorial.

The staff was very nice. Our room was clean. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was modern. The AC worked great (it was over 100 during the day). There was free WIFI. There was a nice rooftop patio with umbrella-ed tables. It had a nice view. On Sunday morning we grabbed coffee and fruit from next door and a newspaper and sat up there for an hour.

Check in was at 3pm and checkout was at 11am (pretty standard). However, we arrived at 11am and left our bags, had a late check-out (1pm) and again left our bags.

What more do you need? You are in NYC and presumably, there to go out on the town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doogerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Greetings Doogerdog, thank you for such a thorough review of our hotel and the area. You provided much great information for anyone visiting New York City! I will share your comments about your stay with the staff and they will be very happy to know that you liked your room and their hospitality. We all hope you will make our hotel your home away from home in the Big Apple!

Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Skip the loud, crowded, soulless hotels in midtown and enjoy a bit of NYC charm. I am a frequent traveler, have stayed in New York many times for both business and pleasure, and will definitely be staying here again. This hotel is on a quiet residential street, yet is only one short block from food, shops and a subway station. The rooms are small (as you would expect in NYC), but the staff was delightful and being able to relax on the rooftop patio was an unexpected pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Good Afternoon, Karen K, thank you for sharing your review with us. I agree wth you, our hotel is very close to many differnt kinds restaurants and evening enterainment. I will share your thoughts about your review with the staff. We can't wait to see you come back and stay with us. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to be of service.

Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Design hotel in a very nice area, close to the subway station. Staff at the reception is very helpful and kind. Price is generally ok, and compared to the rest of Manhattan is good. Room a bit small, but nice.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matty83pg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric K, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

Greetings matty83pg,

Thank you for your review and we are excited to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us. We always strive to provide our guests with the best that we can do. We also love the fact that we are located centrally in the quiet side of the Chelsea area and glad to hear that you've find it enjoyable as much as we did.

We have improved more ever since your last visit and please don't hesitate to contact us back to experience more of the GEM experience that we have here for you at GEM Chelsea. Should you wish to make a return trip to us, please contact back at chelsea.fom@thegemhotel.com at any time and we will gladly be of your service.

Thank you.

Warm regards,

Eric Kwon
The GEM Hotel at Chelsea
212.675.1911

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#140 of 469 in New York City
664 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#83 of 469 in New York City
647 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#127 of 469 in New York City
3,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#164 of 469 in New York City
1,917 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#58 of 469 in New York City
2,144 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#101 of 469 in New York City
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The GEM Hotel Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The GEM Hotel Chelsea

Address: 300 W 22nd St, 22nd Street & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10011-2602 (Formerly GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Collection hotel )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £130 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The GEM Hotel Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. The GEM Hotel Chelsea is ideally located in "your corner of the world." We provide an intimate, boutique atmosphere and offer our guests elegantly designed rooms with luxurious amenities. This New York City boutique hotel is conveniently located in the neighborhood of Chelsea. This trendy Manhattan neighborhood is filled with chic art galleries, night club hotspots, world-famous restaurants, shopping and more. Guests are within walking distance to Penn Station and world-famous Midtown Manhattan attractions such as Madison Square Garden, Times Square, Macy's/Herald Square, the campus of New York University (NYU) and the Empire State Building. The hotel is one block from New York City's subway system. Surrounding neighborhoods include Greenwich Village, the Flatiron District, Union Square, Midtown and the Meat Packing District.The GEM Hotel Chelsea offers a wide array of amenities and services that add value. All guest rooms are smoke-free and boast LCD televisions with HD channels,iPod docking stations, cordless telephones, paraben-free bath amenities, bath robes, down pillows, plush towels and Wolfgang Puck coffee. Standard room amenities include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The GEM Hotel Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing