We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$175
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$388
US$353
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$232
US$171
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$196
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$449
US$391
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$137
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Row NYC Hotel(New York City)
US$179
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$280
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$193
US$163
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,298)
Filter reviews
1,298 results
Traveller rating
463
517
191
75
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
463
517
191
75
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are smallmurray's bagelsgreat locationrooftop deckthe high linenew yorkthe penthousethe empire state buildingqueen bedhotel roomup to datefront desk staffsubway stopstreet noisefitness centeraround the cornerfew blocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
736 - 741 of 1,298 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

good location. small, but clean rooms. pleasant personnel. surprisingly quiet. Good value for the price.................................................................................................

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEMChelseaFOM, Front Office Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

We appreciate your comments and hope that you have found a new go to hotel whenever you are in the New York area! We are currently finishing up our new lobby which will feature a coffee bar and also serve beverages later in the day and evening, we hope to see you soon to so that we can share the new atmosphere and experience that you have come to enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I booked one night through Orbitz for March 25, 2014 because I was coming to NYC to see the Allman Brothers at the Beacon. The reservation was cancellable until 4 pm on March 24th. At 5:30 pm on March 24th I received the following email from the Beacon:

Dear The Allman Brothers Band Ticket Holder:

The Allman Brothers Band announced the postponement of the remaining four Beacon Theatre performances on March 25, March 26, March 28 and March 29 as Gregg Allman recovers from bronchitis. As a result of Mr. Allman's illness, the Allman Brothers Band is unable to perform at the level to which they aspire.

All ticketholders should retain their tickets, which will be honored for the soon-to-be-announced rescheduled engagements. Those ticket holders desiring refunds may obtain them from the original point of purchase.

Sincerely,
Madison Square Garden Entertainment

I immediately called the hotel to cancel and they said call Orbitz. I called Orbitz to cancel and request the hotel to provide a refund given these circumstances. The hotel manager said they would not waive the forfeiture of my payment even though it was only a few hours past 4 pm and I had no way of knowing the show would be cancelled before 4 pm.

If this management judgment is indicative of how the hotel is run- beware.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEMChelseaFOM, Front Office Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for letting us know about the issue you encountered when contacting the hotel regarding your past reservation. We would like to have you stay with us whenever you are scheduled to be back in the area to have you experience the hotel and our great staff. It is hotel policy for reservations to be cancelled 48 hours prior to arrival date. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel if you have any questions or would like to discuss.

Marc Ruff
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We have stayed numerous times at the GEM Chelsea for business and pleasure. Great location. Nice neighborhood. The modifications to the entry lounge will be exciting! Can not wait to see the end result. Coffee bar too please.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Saratogatravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEMChelseaFOM, Front Office Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time out to let others know about your stay at our hotel, we love the fact that we are able to enhance the New York experience whether it be while traveling for business or for pleasure. We are nearing the completion of the lobby renovation and hope that you will stay with us again soon to see all the exciting new updates!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

First off decide what you want. You want a fancy hotel? You want to part ways with your money? You can definitely find bigger, fancier, more expensive hotels in NYC. But for a clean room, a comfortable bed and a great location...this is a great choice. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ecards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEMChelseaFOM, Front Office Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your experience with us, we greatly appreciate your comments! We would definitely like to have you with us again soon to create more favorable New York City memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The rooms in this hotel are literally a shoe box. There is not enough room to even sit at the desk, nevermind work at the desk. No bar or restaurant in hotel, and not many decent restaurants nearby either.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Oliver Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEMChelseaFOM, Front Office Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your experience. Though you did not have the best of experiences during your stay with us, we would love to have you back with us. Currently we are changing the look of our lobby which will now include a lobby bar to enjoy beverages throughout the day and evening. With this new addition we think that will enhance your experience and hopefully make The Gem Hotel your go to location when visiting the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews