We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel for the Value and Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The GEM Hotel Chelsea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
Ranked #275 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
swampscott
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for the Value and Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

After years of staying in Midtown, I attended a conference and had the opportunity to stay in the Chelsea neighborhood. The Gem was perfect. I stayed there two nights and it was close to the meatpacking district where I walked to the conference. Convenient to restaurants and shops, I also had the opportunity to take a walk on the newly constructed park/walkway. The hotel was clean, wonderful service and reasonably priced. I would stay there again, even on vacation. Chelsea is a wonderful neighborhood - I spoke with a lot of residents and met a lot of dogs! Great hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doveydovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    474
    172
    64
    44
See reviews for
115
427
149
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2010

This hotel is extremely well situated and is very near (one block) to two different metro stations and several different lines, which makes travelling up or downtown easy. Loads of coffee shops, delis and restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is clean, and linen and towels changed daily if you wish. Front desk staff are courteous. There was some noise from traffic, but I would say this was not intrusive and adds to the NY atmosphere you love in this exciting town! The not-so-good news? The room is compact and the bed is very small - 4' x 6' at the most - ours was also fixed against one wall making it even more of a crush! We had difficulty securing the door to the room, but reported this to the front desk who we trust fixed it in time this for the next guests. That said, I would definitely recommend this hotel as a good one to stay in if you are in town for a short sight-seeing break and you need somewhere clean, safe neighbourhood and well situated.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulea, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

Stayed here with a group of friends and really enjoyed this hotel. The rooms are very small, but it's New York, who's going to spend a lot of time in the room anyway? The entire hotel is clean and nicely furnished. Our room faced the street so it was a bit noisy, but it didn't bother us. The view was great! Our friends had a room facing away from the street with a boring view but it was very quiet.
The location was excellent lots of fun stuff to do within walking distance and just a five minute walk from the subway.
The staff were always helpful and friendly. A special shout out to Ceasar who helped us with our taxis and lent us his own lovely umbrella when it was raining.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyKivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

I had an awesome time. It's always good going back to my home town.

Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RabbiyahH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

I spent 3 days at the hotel with a friend. It is ideally located and the staff is evry lepful. Rooms are small but clean and nice. I recommend staying on the 5th floor in a room that does not overlook the street.

22 street is beautiful. Breakfast at Starbucks is steps away. There are really nice restaurants on 7th avenue between 22 and 21.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

It was our first time in NY and we stayed 6 nights in this hotel. The hotel is located in a nice area with lots of cafés and in walking distance to the meatpacking district. The hotel is nice designed and the room was, though small (but i did expect it), very nice decorated, modern, clean and all white, which made it feel bigger. We slept very well in the bed and had a nice view to the empire state building from our room. The hotel itself was quiet, so we did'nt hear other doors or neighbors. As the hotel is on the corner to a mainroad, we heard the cars (but it did'nt disturb us) We slept very weel, me using earpluggs and my husband slept so well with the background noise, he did'nt need it!
The only thing which coul be better is the service. The staff at reception could be more welcoming, friendlier and more helpful. But we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anschu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

I highly recommend the GEM hotel in Chelsea for your New York City stay. The price was right for my moderate budget, the rooms are neat and stylish, the staff is kind and helpful, and the amenities provided at no extra charge including bottled water, workout room, and wireless internet access made my stay all that much better. The location in the heart of Chelsea is perfect for convenience and fun. There are numerous restaurants, coffee shops and bakeries that I love. The area is home to many Italian, Chinese, and Mexican gourmet restaurants and the popular High Line and the Chelsea Piers waterfront parks and walking/jogging paths. This Chelsea hotel is perfect for all your business and personal visits to Manhattan. It s my choice for all my visits to New York.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larrydeb92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#118 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
#270 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#156 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#98 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The GEM Hotel Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The GEM Hotel Chelsea

Property: The GEM Hotel Chelsea
Address: 300 W 22nd St, 22nd Street & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10011-2602 (Formerly GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Collection hotel )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The GEM Hotel Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. The GEM Hotel Chelsea is ideally located in "your corner of the world." We provide an intimate, boutique atmosphere and offer our guests elegantly designed rooms with luxurious amenities. This New York City boutique hotel is conveniently located in the neighborhood of Chelsea. This trendy Manhattan neighborhood is filled with chic art galleries, night club hotspots, world-famous restaurants, shopping and more. Guests are within walking distance to Penn Station and world-famous Midtown Manhattan attractions such as Madison Square Garden, Times Square, Macy's/Herald Square, the campus of New York University (NYU) and the Empire State Building. The hotel is one block from New York City's subway system. Surrounding neighborhoods include Greenwich Village, the Flatiron District, Union Square, Midtown and the Meat Packing District.The GEM Hotel Chelsea offers a wide array of amenities and services that add value. All guest rooms are smoke-free and boast LCD televisions with HD channels,iPod docking stations, cordless telephones, paraben-free bath amenities, bath robes, down pillows, plush towels and Wolfgang Puck coffee. Standard room amenities include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The GEM Hotel Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing