We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend at the Jane”
Review of The Jane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Jane
Ranked #292 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at the Jane for 3 nights in a bunk bed cabin. Having read the reviews, we knew to expect our room to be small. It was, but we were only there to sleep. Having also looked at many other places online before booking, this was the best value for our money for a weekend in the city. The room was on the 3rd floor and was quiet, clean and the beds were comfy. The individual rooms for toilets and showers made the shared bathrooms very private. The hotel is located on a cute, quiet street but very close to anything you need in the West Village.
The front desk staff and bell hops were extremely friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth_Amy_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,395)
There are newer reviews for The Jane
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

576 - 582 of 1,396 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed in a Captain's cabin, so I can't complain about the space. It was maybe a little overpriced for the amount of room we got but somewhat in line with a regular hotel. But the noise was worse than I've ever experienced in any hotel. There seemed to be a window open all night but we couldn't find where. There is a nightclub downstairs and the loud conversations, drunken screaming and horn honking were all clearly discerable until the place closed down at 4:00. It was like trying to sleep in the middle of a loud party.

I give a poor rating, rather than terrible, because the day staff was very helpful and friendly. After dark the nightclub staff apparently takes over and they are very, very unfriendly, even trying to block us from entering the building.

If you plan to stay up all night, this may be the place to be. If you, like me, expect to the street noises to be at least a little bit muffled, do not stay at the Jane.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnSBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

For a boutique hotel with a good reputation, it's sad to come back to it with eighteen year olds streaming out of its bar for a "VIP" party. Traveled over 40 countries and never been told I could not have a drink at the hotel bar, if staying there, until now. Tragically hip.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Cinerco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

For what you pay it is good value. The room is small but it is a bed for the night. Toilets and showers are clean, there is free wifi. Phone reception for me was poor though. Cafe seems popular, but the bar was very dark and not very inviting. The staff all wear uniforms which look like they work on Disney's Tower of Terror ride.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank darkwingduck82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in. Smaller than a cruise ship cabin. Bunk beds, comfortable enough. There's really nothing else in the rooms - some hooks for clothes and TVs for each bed. I think it would be fine for one person who is up for it. For two it was much harder because there's no room for luggage. Literally. You won't know what to do with suitcases. But if you want to stay at the Jane to say you stayed at the Jane, well I guess there's no stopping you, is there? It really is a glorified hostel for $145 a night. Other hotels can be found.

So the good: friendly staff, fun quirky atmosphere, great lobby, classic elements, clean bathrooms, bathrobes, clean towels each day, a couple bottles of water in the room each day
So the bad: tiniest of tiny rooms, piece of old bacon that we found on the floor, loud, no one enforcing no smoking law in hotels, the bar seems to have a private party every night (so it is loud and it makes the lobby crowded), unable to control the rooms heating and cooling very well, cold showers

I would not say, "don't stay here" but for just a little more you can have a modern hotel room with a private bath. Really, the room was as long as the bed, and about 5 feet across.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank malawimike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed several nights at the Jane. The room is small but perfectly adequate and the shared bathrooms were always clean. An easy walk to the Village, High Line and Subway stops to head uptown. Nice to stay in more of a neighborhood than midtown.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Snube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

My mom & I stayed in a bunk bed room. It was definitely small but cozy and nice. The room & bathrooms were very clean. The shared bathrooms were never a problem. Try to bring bags to hang up. There is not any floor space for suitcases. Check out the bar as well. Very trendy & well decorated.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#399 of 468 in New York City
541 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#221 of 468 in New York City
1,559 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 468 in New York City
4,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#440 of 468 in New York City
847 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#383 of 468 in New York City
642 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#188 of 468 in New York City
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jane

Address: 113 Jane Street, New York City, NY 10014-1700
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#220 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £90 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Jane 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Jane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jane Hotel New York City
Jane New York City
Jane Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing