We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, if you are looking for a place to sleep”
Review of The Jane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Jane
Ranked #294 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The rooms are very small, though clean. We spent minimal time in the room. We borrowed the free bikes from the hotel to take us around Manhattan. The hotel is quite well placed on the west side, close to great running routes along the Hudson River, close to good restaurants and metro.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 34h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,393)
There are newer reviews for The Jane
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

538 - 544 of 1,393 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed over 3 night at the Jane hotel, with the simple objective of a cheap place to sleep. New York being the city it is friends have limited possibility to put visitors up. For this objective the hotel works very well. Rooms are super tiny so you dont want to spend more time in there than for sleep. It is a dynamic and young hotel with a busy bar. I was however never disturbed by late noise but would wake up in the morning around 7-8 am from people in the corridor. Not being loud but the rooms are not very insulated. When I was there it was around 30C in temperatures and the room got really hot in the morning, and one couldnt open the window completely.

On the positive side the room and shared bathrooms were always extremely clean and there was never a need to wait for shower or toilets. So was never bothered by having to share these facilities. The staff was also helpful and kind.

The restaurant/bar/brasseri/cafe Cafe Gitane at the bottom floor has a very nice atmosphere and tasty bites at good price. Lovely staff here on top!

Finally there is a hotel bar at the roof top with terrace that is very nice and well worth a visit if staying there!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mllelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

To be fair, I had the smallest possible... To really put it in perspective of how small the rooms are, a man under 6 ft could touch both walls width wise (easily) at the same time. The room was about half the size of an average walk in closet, maybe 7 feet, by 3.5 feet. Community bathrooms on each floor (with a bit of a line). If you're young, on a budget, and don't care about sharing a bathroom with 60 other people, this is for you!

Room Tip: Ask for a room opposite from a corner with a bathroom, as you'll hear people outside waiting in...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Everyone comments on how small the rooms are ... but the rooms are so beautifully decorated and fitted out to seem like an exotic steamship cabin. Even though I was there during the weekend ... I rarely even saw anyone in the shared bathroom. I wished I had brought a mesh bag for my shower gear though as it would be easier to manage in the stall showers. When I am in NYC, I don't spend much time in my room anyway and here the price is right. Plus a diverse and interesting clientele.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Highlander770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Good value for a west side Manhattan hotel. Stayed in the bunk bed room. Small, but when we spent all day out and about, its worth it. Baths are nice. Hotel is also a 2 minute walk from a parking garage.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank 972BOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

After reading so many great reviews I figured I'd give this place a try. I wanted to write this review to warn people about the potential nightmare they may face if they choose to stay here. The Jane has bed bugs. If I felt that this place actually treated the rooms properly to attempt to remove the problem then I wouldn't be so harsh, but I highly doubt that this place takes the steps necessary to rid its rooms of bed bugs.

I stayed here July 5-8. I cut my stay by a night after finding bed bugs. That's when my nightmare began and my trip took a turn for the worst. I noticed the bites on my arm and a few on my legs. After seeing a bug on my bed I went immediately to the front desk and told them. They seemed to doubt that I had bed bugs even after I showed them my arm and the bug. Anyway, they set me up in a new room, provided me with new linens, had me shower, and “treated” my stuff. After getting into my new room and getting my "treated" clothes back to wear I went to the restroom and found a bed bug on my bra and one seemed to fall from my hair or shoulder. At that point I had to get out. I told the front desk again. They "treated" my clothes again and I showered. I booked myself into the Hilton. It was late so I had to book it for the following night. I ended up spending the remainder of the night hanging out in the Jane lobby. In the middle of the night the doorman brought my “treated” belongings back. They had supposedly been treated with heat, but oddly enough a number of the items were not warm. I didn't sleep wink that night. Early in the morning I headed to the Hilton.

After leaving the Jane I found a bug on me the next day.

Below is a list of the damage. I was charged for all of my nights booked at the Jane even the night I spent in the lobby ($105 to hang out in the lobby). My night at the Hilton was $250. In the next town I visited I had to book extra nights at a hotel rather than staying with a friend ($500). I was afraid of bringing bed bugs to his place. I ended up throwing out many of my belongings ($250+) that I brought on my trip out of fear that there might be bed bugs on them, and that doesn't factor in the items I damaged while trying to clean what I kept. I bought a box (thermalstriker ranger) to heat my belonging in order to kill the bed bugs that might be there ($200+). I lost a lot of sleep and "free" time during my trip. I spent hours on my trip washing my clothes multiple times, cleaning my suitcase, and doing whatever I could to help resolve the problem (packing everything in ziplock bags). The bugs could have been anywhere. I didn't want my boyfriend hugging me. I didn't want to sit on things. I was afraid (still am) of my belongings thinking that they may be contaminated.

The physical, mental, emotional, and financial stress caused by this is not worth staying at the Jane. I am traumatized by this. I'm home now and I'm still freaking out. Washing the clothes I've worn. Heating up/treating my luggage. Afraid to sit on my couch in case there is anything on me.

I understand that you could get bed bugs from any place, but I truly believe that the problem at the Jane is due to the fact that they are not taking care of the problems they have. The place seems to be infested.

Peace of mind worth a lot. Spend a little more and stay somewhere else that's cleaner and more trustworthy. In the end I spent so much on this mess. In case you weren't counting in my above paragraph this has cost me an additional $1200 and counting.

The Hilton was great. It was clean. The staff was awesome. Even after I told them that I came from a place that had bed bugs they couldn’t have been nicer. They even sent the head of house keeping up to look at all my belongings. She inspected all of my clothes and my suitcase. They were just fabulous. Totally wished I would have stayed there from the beginning.

Do yourself a favor and don’t stay at the Jane. It may be cheap and charming, but it isn’t worth it. I think the psychological issues I got from this will last long after my bug bites are gone. Every time I see a speck of dirt or feel the movement of a piece of thread against my skin I think there might be a bug on me.

If my review doesn't convince you to not stay here then google some of the other jane reviews that involve bed bugs.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank thaicurry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

If you make up your mind before for tiny rooms and shared bathroom, you will find it awesome. Because, except these two, everything is excellent from price, location, staff and cleanliness. Perfect for solo visitors.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Arvind K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#396 of 468 in New York City
541 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#219 of 468 in New York City
1,559 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#222 of 468 in New York City
4,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#438 of 468 in New York City
847 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#382 of 468 in New York City
642 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#188 of 468 in New York City
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jane

Address: 113 Jane Street, New York City, NY 10014-1700
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#220 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £89 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Jane 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Jane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jane Hotel New York City
Jane New York City
Jane Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing