We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel site good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Ranked #164 of 473 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Comfortable rooms, although small. Good location within walking distance we can reach broadway, the vivid avenues and NYC library and Bryant park. The view from almost rooms include a perspective from the empire state building, which make it magic at night. The roof top bar must be enjoyed and be prepared for good cocktails. Staff is friendly. Breakfast is good to begin your day although it may take a while to bring back some run out items.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EAMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thank you for commenting on your enjoyable stay with us. We really appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts. The New York Public Library and the Morgan Library are both within walking distance, adding high culture to the mix of shopping and entertainment that surround and that make The Strand’s location so convenient. We hope you’ll return to enjoy our hospitality again soon.

Warm Regards,
John N. Loizos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,572 - 1,578 of 2,367 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

It's my second time at The Strand. I did not use the Restaurant or the Gym. Was there on a business trip and most of the time in meetings or working in the room. Both times I've got a great room, with great natural light and an invaluable silence being in the center of Manhattan.

The space of the room, great. The bed, comfortable. The pillows, perfect. Small bathroom, but will all you need.

One detail to remember: free WiFi. WiFi it is one of the most ridiculous expenses Hotels now charge to their clients, when we all now that's a service that should be given included in the price, like showers, beds or electricity in the rooms. Again, a good marketing detail coming from The Strand.

And the service at the Lobby, really nice. They make an effort to smile all the time and for my surprise, when I got to my room in my second visit, there was a bottle o wine and a personal letter from the GM to me, thanking me for repeating visit and welcoming me.

What else can you ask for when you get to the Big Apple?

I'm not sure if it's a good idea to share all these things... next time in NYC I wouldn't like to find the Hotel full or the prices tripled!

Congratulations for a great service.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PepeRivas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My husband and I have just returned from our first trip to New York having had a brilliant time.

We were so pleased that we picked The Strand - its tucked out of the way but within easy walking distance of most tourist attractions although we cheated once and got a cab to the 911 site.

Unfortunately there is a new hotel being built next door. Work goes on during the week from about 4 in the morning to about 11 at night. We were given an upgrade to a room facing the Empire State Building - obviously we were delighted but unfortunately we were on the corner above the building work so sleep time was limited. They don't work at weekends though so a bit of a bonus.

The room was fabulous. Previous reviews have stated them as small - they are ample and in New York you find you are out and about all the time anyway. The bed and pillows are just so comfortable. The bathroom is small but very modern and contains everything you need. Free wifi too so great to be able to use Skype to contact the kids back home.

Our stay included a free continental breakfast although we were told by the guy on reception that you can actually have anything as long as you pay anything over $18 each. We found this covered most things we wanted, apart from the cooked breakfast that was pitifully small for the money and we wouldn't recommend.

We ate in the hotel twice during our stay and it was the nicest food we had. The organic chicken is mouth-wateringly good.

All in all we had a brilliant stay ... When we return to New York it will be to The Strand BUT it won't be until Spring 2013 when the building work is expected to finish.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grimmer68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write about the many things you enjoyed at The Strand. We were pleased that you mention our unique location, being nestled on a block just off of 5th Avenue, as well as our complimentary WiFi and comfy bedding. Outside noise can be a fact of life in big cities like New York, and we make every effort to shield our guests from these sounds. We hope you will select us again when in New York and can promise that you will continue to enjoy our great views and attentive service.

Sincerely,

John N. Loizos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. They used to provide breakfast. But not this trip. Staff is great. Location is very good. Room was small, but this is NYC. But what MBA suggest they stop providing breakfast? It is about the customer, after all.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gcruik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at the Strand Hotel NYC at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. In response to our guests request' for greater variety, we've enhanced our breakfast service to offer a broader a la carte menu includng traditional hot offerings. Although a la carte, and no longer complimentary, We have found many guests are enjoying the new level of service, quality of items and comfortable ambiance of our bistro.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon and hope you will try Chef Kelvin's weekly additions to the morning menu.
Sincerely,
John N. Loizos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The Strand Hotel is a wonderful small hotel. The rooms are small but very comfortable, great beds. The staff is very courteous and helpful. We loved the view of the Empire State Bldg. from our room. Also, went to rooftop lounge for drinks,very cozy and again amazing view. The hotel is very convenient location to all midtown attractions.
My only complaint was the two and half hour wait after check-out to get our car. Staff was very apologetic and gave us a credit on the parking garage fee, but still missed half-day of nyc sightseeing.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytravels5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments about our accommodations and staff. We appreciate your drawing our attention to the car check-out process, and have immediately taken steps to prevent a future reoccurrence. We look forward to making every minute of your next visit to New York City as enjoyable as possible and look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,
John N. Loizos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We came here for a couples night out. The check in process was smooth, we had our room info in less than 5 minutes if that. We were on the 18th floor with a very nice view. This is truly a boutique hotel and I would love to stay here again.

Room
The room is nice. The bed and pillows are so comfy that I did not want to get out of the bed. The bathroom is nice as well with two minor issues. It could be that the fan was broken in the bathroom but regardless of what we did we could not get it to turn off. Also there is no tub only a shower. The shower has the overhead nozzle as well as one that is handheld. The shower area could use some more lighting as it was pretty dim once you closed the curtain.

Amenities
The minibar was fully stocked and you were charged based on which shelf you lifted. We did not use anything from here. There was also the traditional water for sale, I believe it was Fiji and it was $8. There is no ice machine on the floor, so you will need to contact the front desk if you want them to bring you some. We did this and it only took about 10 minutes for the ice to arrive.

Restaurant
Looks very pretty but we did not eat here.

Rooftop bar
The drinks were really good and unique. The bartenders were sweet and attentive. They were trying out a new menu when we arrived there. It opens at 5pm but I'm not sure what time they close. We went back again around 10:30 or 11 and it was packed. The views are beautiful and the dj was good. We went the same night that Whitney Houston passed away so he was playing alot of her greatest hits.

Overall this was a great stay, I can't really think of anything else to add but feel free to contact me if you think of something. Hope you enjoy your stay if you decide to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coble78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear Guest,

You were kind to write such a thorough review, and we are grateful for your comments. Not only did you give future guests insight on our excellent attributes, you also provided us with some food for thought. We continually look for ways to improve the guest experience and so we thank you for the review and hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
John N. Loizos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Good location, nice room with probably on of the best beds we have slept on, and that includes Sheraton/Westin heavenly beds! My gripe? If you have no access to coffee in your room, then at least be less obvious with gouging when your coffee is $3 in the evening (had to go down to the lobby to get it) and the next morning the same cup, in a disposable cup mind you, was $7! Very poor. Also, both times we have stayed there was a party taking up the dining room, bar and the incredible rooftop bar. It makes it less than a good weekend visit when you can not utilize these common features until very late. The doormen, the staff at the front desk are some of the hardest workers with the best attitude we have met! All in all? Will come back, the rooftop is amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amberdamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#133 of 473 in New York City
1,040 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#15 of 473 in New York City
3,271 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#126 of 473 in New York City
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#168 of 473 in New York City
1,035 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#118 of 473 in New York City
842 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#87 of 473 in New York City
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City

Address: 33 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018-6201 (Formerly The Strand Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £124 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in style when retreating our boutique New York resort located in the heart of New York City's Fashion District on 37th Street between Fifth and Sixth Avenues. The Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City offers well-appointed guestrooms coupled with arrays of unique amenities, including an all-weather rooftop lounge overlooking the iconic Empire State Building and the city beyond. Through our centrally situated location between Penn Station and Grand Central Station, top destinations including Times Square, Broadway theater district, and elegant designer boutiques on Fifth Avenue are in close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing