We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value/Money Ratio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Ranked #167 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Excellent location: Close to Times Sqr.-Bryant Park & City Library-Penn Station-Fith Ave (Steps away). Small rooms but not for NYC standards. Recently remodeled with nice and clean bathrooms (quite Small too). NIce staff always prompt to help. The Rooftop overlooking the Empire State Bldg is a nice option to get a drink at night though too noisy. Quite reasonable price for NYC hotel.
Best : The restaurant. Worst: The construction site aside (Beware of room location)
Stayed with wife for a week in march.

Room Tip: North rooms are quieter and sunnier
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,327)
There are newer reviews for Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,522 - 1,528 of 2,327 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

This hotel really is a gem.
3 of us stayed in a 2 double beds room. The room was spotless when we arrived and remained that way the whole 5 nights we were there with cleaners coming in everyday.
Located between Times Square and Macys, you can get anywhere in minutes! Amazing location!
The staff were ever so helpful... Called them so many times for information and the front desk or concierge were always doing everything they could to help us.
We had an amazing room on the 19th floor with a breathtaking view of the Empire State Building... I'd recomment suggesting this room!
We also ate in the restaurant downstairs... My partner's scallops were to die for, full of flavours and looked great! I ordered a steak which was disappointing. The service was also slightly too slow for me! But great decor and atmosphere!
I will definitely be staying there again!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We were looking for a hotel with two double beds for a girls weekend, tougher to find than you might expect in Manahattan. While the price we paid was quite high, we were very happy with The Strand's location, service, cleanliness, stylish vibe and rooftop bar! Only minus, for what we paid we expected to at least get some free coffee in the a.m. Would deff recommend this place to others.

Room Tip: higher floor = better view, but don't stay on floor 20 (under the roof top bar)
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWTruax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Strand in August 2011, we found it to be an excellent hotel, tucked away but within easy access to the sights and sounds of Times Square. We explored Manhattan by foot and enjoyed every minute.... except being stranded due to Hurricane Irene.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, except the bar staff who were a little ignorant.

The breakfast was a little samey otheriwse this hotel would get 5 stars.

Go and see Billy Elliott.... it was fantastic

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank de1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I booked a 4 star secret hotel on travelocity.com and this was the hotel we were allocated!

Perfect hotel, and at the time it was cheaper to get a secret 4 star hotel than to stay in a 2 star hotel that was named. It is in a perfect location, steps away from Empire state building (which you can see from the rooftop bar). Unfortunately I went with my sister who is under 21 so we couldn't sit upstairs!

Staff are friendly, rooms are spotless, bathrooms are very modern. Flat screen tv in room, satellite TV. Reception can book transfers to/from airport relatively cheaply. Beds are so comfortable, with thick duvets and fluffy pillows.

In a slightly 'seedy' part of town, only in so much as there were lots of adult shops a few 100 metres one way down the road. Very close to times square too which is good in my opinion. Very close to broadway and 5th avenue too.

Considered it's so close to everything, very little noise in the evening.

Perfect hotel in New York!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yelliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Guest,

We are truly grateful and humble by you recent review. The Staff was delighted to read your comments and all appreciate how they may have contributed to your “Perfect” stay with us. You highlight so much of what the Strand Team is committed to consistently providing; exceptionally clean rooms, friendly service, comfortable bedding, wonderful room amenities, tremendous roof top views and a convenient location. Hope to have the privilege of personally meeting you during your next visit.

Warm Regards,

John N. Loizos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed at The Strand for four nights in March during St. Patrick's Day. I really enjoyed the experience here. The Top of The Strand was beautiful. The rooftop was open and the view was spectacular. Rooms were clean, beds comfy, staff very accommodating. They were a little small, but that wasn't an issue for us. Location was excellent! We walked literally everywhere. I read a complaint here that this wasn't a 4 star hotel. Well, for the great nightly rate, I feel that it deserves 4 stars for comfort, decor, cleanliness and helpful staff. Sorry, but you won't get what The Strand has to offer at a 3 star property in NYC. I highly recommend and will return. Only one suggestion...if you are going anytime soon, there is construction going on in the front of the hotel at the property next door. Maybe staying on the back side of the hotel would be quieter.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with view of Empire State Building
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaNurseD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

We sincerely thank you for the time you have taken to write about your “Wonderful Stay” at the Strand. We appreciate your eloquent portrayal of the many attributes you experienced during your stay. Our Location, Style, and Genuine Warmth are all part of what makes the Strand special. On behalf of the Strand Team, thank you for your feedback and look forward to your return.

Many Thanks,

John N. Loizos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Spent 4 nights here with husband on a city break. Chose this hotel due to great price and location. Both were excellent. The hotel is modern and nicely furnished. Roof top bar expensive, but not surprised for view/location. Roof closed at this time of year, but glass ceiling so still get the views.
Breakfast provided was excellent, either fixed or can be swapped for a few extra dollars to a wider selection off the menu.
Room small but bed enormous, nice shower/bathroom.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrogPrincessuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for acknowledging our great value and wonderful location. It was great to read your feedback on our new a la carte breakfast offerings at the Strand Bistro. The change has been a favorite addition among the many Strand services. We are pleased that you had the opportunity of experiencing the amazing view of the Empire State Building from our year round roof top bar. With its retractable roof top bar feature, it allows you to enjoy the spectacular views regardless of the time of year you choose to visit. I hope I will have the opportunity to personally meet you on your next visit and extend a complimentary round of cocktails at the TOP of the Strand! (646) 368-6415

Warm Regards

John N. Loizos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#143 of 468 in New York City
988 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#108 of 468 in New York City
755 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#105 of 468 in New York City
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#235 of 468 in New York City
620 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#61 of 468 in New York City
672 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City

Address: 33 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018-6201 (Formerly The Strand Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £145 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in style when retreating our boutique New York resort located in the heart of New York City's Fashion District on 37th Street between Fifth and Sixth Avenues. The Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City offers well-appointed guestrooms coupled with arrays of unique amenities, including an all-weather rooftop lounge overlooking the iconic Empire State Building and the city beyond. Through our centrally situated location between Penn Station and Grand Central Station, top destinations including Times Square, Broadway theater district, and elegant designer boutiques on Fifth Avenue are in close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing